Shoo Roo

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 07:37
ThreadID: 8334 Views:12532 Replies:26 FollowUps:4
Has anyone experience with these devices.

Depending on whose report you read, they are great or useless.

Col Tigwell

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 08:08

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 08:08
Hi Col,

Lots of people around here have them. The chap at the Servo swears by them, I think Al had some on his old Ute which he put on after he hit a roo early one morning, he didn't hit another roo, but, he also hasn't put any on his new ute and the Cruiser doesn't have any.

Lynnemo me impune lacessit

AnswerID: 36368

Reply By: Tony - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 08:29

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 08:29
I have two of the small plastic ones either side of the bull bar and have seen plenty on the road, as I live out of town, but not hit one.

In the old 47 Troppy, hit lots but then again I had a solid bar on the front, and it's safer to keep goin than trying to miss them. During the worst part of the drought the sides of the road out of town was littered with dead roo's and broken headlight glass.
AnswerID: 36371

Reply By: Member - Timothy - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 08:48

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 08:48
My experience with them
is don't pay too much!!

I've seen them for around $6-$8 at servos in the bush
at around $15-$18 in auto shops
and mid to high $20's in other places.

I'm sure they're all the same.

So for $8 who cares if they don't work
at least you've tried something.

There's nothing more depressing
than skittling a beautiful swampy
Defender Extreme
AnswerID: 36373

Reply By: nissan - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 09:41

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 09:41
just ring CVT Bullbars in Mt Isa on 0747437821 and Ivan will tell you all about items like that
AnswerID: 36377

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:07

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:07
Col, you confused yet?

Last time I looked, a Shu Roowas about $400. Everyone above is talking about the little plastic thingys that you stick on your bumper that whistle when airflow goes through them. I have the little $8 ones on my car and never hit a roo.
Wazza
----------------------
AnswerID: 36379

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:30

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:30
LMAO was thinking the same. They are talking about those cone whistle things...

Shoo Roo' are like Hiclones.. some swear by them, others think they are a croc of crap.

$400 you would wanna be sure they work.
FollowupID: 26276

Reply By: Matt M - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:42

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:42
Yes I was picturing the electronic, Shu Roo and have heard of trucking companies taking the bull bars off their vehicles after fitting a shuroo. It saved a large amount in fuel and servicing cost (time) when you didnt have to drop the bull bar for any work needed.

They swear by them. I have also read studys on the Shu Roo but the tests were carried out on Domestic (?) roos, ie wildlife park roos, not wild ones and the shu roo had absolutly no effect on these. But that may be attributed to the lifestyle or a park roo, no stress, why run!! lol

I would be inclined to try the cone whistle type, for a few bucks, the theory is sound and not much to lose, if it scares off one in Ten then you are ahead! But I wouldnt trade my Bull bar in for nothing!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 36381

Reply By: Hughesy - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 12:09

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 12:09
Herkman, the best shooroo device is a big heavy duty steel bullbar and a toyota badge on the grill. Live in far western NSW and haven't hit one yet (come very close and kissed a few). Mind you a shooroo might be cheaper than the above....LOL Good luck.

Hughesy
AnswerID: 36386

Reply By: pathfinder - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 12:43

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 12:43
Shu Roos don't work and that has been confirmed by several experiments in recent years - the most comprehensive one being a recent Melbourne Uni one. Get a bullbar and some Lightforce spots. If you want, I guess there's no harm fitting some of the plastic whistlers...at $5, it doesn't really matter if they work or not...as long as they don't lull you into a false sense on security - which is one of the dangerous things about shu roos...had a mate with a Commodore ute who decided not to get a bullbar because he had a shu roo instead - hit a hopper within two weeks and he now has a bullbar...
AnswerID: 36393

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 13:02

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 13:02
Can't say I've witnessed them having an effect on 'roos but they certainly light a match under sheep and small children. While the sheep will do a bolter, the kids (as kids are want to do - look around for the noise). Also cause cattle to lift their gait a little. But as for the 'roos - well................................................
AnswerID: 36395

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 13:04

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 13:04
Can't say I've witnessed them having an effect on 'roos but they certainly light a match under sheep and small children. While the sheep will do a bolter, the kids (as kids are want to do - look around for the noise). Also cause cattle to lift their gait a little. But as for the 'roos - well................................................
AnswerID: 36396

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 13:04

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 13:04
AnswerID: 36397

Reply By: Drifter007 - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 14:44

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 14:44
I've had two of the little cheapies in my shed for 3 years and never seen a roo in my back yard.

Probably don't know how to operate the roller door though!

Colin
AnswerID: 36405

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 15:34

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 15:34
Ive had them on the Patrol for 3 years ( plastic ones that is) Gallahs,Crows, & roos seam to get out of the way but eagles are to slow heads go up but they can't take off quick enough Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 36413

Reply By: harry5 - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 16:20

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 16:20
Have not hit a roo since outlaying $5 however they do not work in rain and you have to be doing 40kh so at the moment i say they work when i hit a roo then ill say they dont.
AnswerID: 36417

Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 16:23

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 16:23
Col
I have the electronic shu roo on the jack, purchased it after hitting a roo.
I haven't hit another yet, I have come very close though.
I just thought that it would cost me half my excess and if it saves me once, it has paid for itself.
Guess you can't prove they do work, just when they don't work.
Tim
AnswerID: 36418

Reply By: Wizzy - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 18:09

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 18:09
I had an electronic version on my car for about four years and didn't hit a roo. But then, while travelling at about 40kph on the gravel road just outside Cedar Creek camping area, Amamoor near Gympie, a bloody wallaby bounced out of the long grass and I hit it full on.

Maybe the ShooRoo's audio output had weakened over the years, I don't know. It certainly affected a lot of humans and dogs who would turn to see what the noise was.

I have now fitted a sturdy bullbar which has already paid for itself ... hit another roo just outside Alpha in central Queensland and there was no damage to the car.

Cheer
Dennis
www.damor.net

AnswerID: 36426

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 18:53

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 18:53
We live in a country area and do a large amount of night driving through kangaroo territory and have had success with the cheaper plastic type, although you have to travel over 80kph for them to work at their best. With them, good lights, and a clear thinking alert mind, they work well. The main thing is to keep them clean so as the air can flow through. Jen
AnswerID: 36434

Reply By: Richard - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 21:36

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 21:36
Had a set of the cheapies but unfortunately hit the second of two Roos that jumped out of a heavy patch of scrub on a trip between Bourke and Nyngan.
AnswerID: 36461

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 21:48

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 21:48
ive tried the plastic $5 ones and the $400 electric one while living in melbourne never hit one roo in all the time they were fitted.so they must work in fact they work that good i never even seen a roo lolback by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 36464

Follow Up By: floyd - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 12:51

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 12:51
Heaps of roos in Melbourne
FollowupID: 26356

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 22:35

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 22:35
I have the electronic Shu-roo
It came with the car
My observation are that Cows get confused but don't react until you are right next to them so they are no good as a Shu-moo.

Sheep run as soon as they hear it but usually straight across the road so you have to stop anyway till they buggeroff..so much for the shu-ewe.

Roos run away usually but the reaction of these and the other animals are unpredictable, so I never assume that I am safe because of the device.
The best reactors to the shu-roo are feral goats but they run away at the sound of a car anyway.

THe difference between a feral goat and a sheep is that goats see cars and man as a threat and sheep see them as food providers, this was how one cocky explained it to me anyway

I reckon the main advantage is that the noise disturbs the animals so that you have a chance of seeing them before a collision can occur.

Dogs love the noise, I have tried it out on dogs passing me when i am parked and they walk right up to it to sniff it out. Its a hoot especially when they are on a lead :)

SO really I can't tell you if they work the way they are intended to but i always turn it on whenever i am driving after dark, just in case.

wayneCheers
waynepd
%
%:-)
%
AnswerID: 36470

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 06:26

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 06:26
Have always said that if a sheep had it's head on the other end, it would still run the wrong way!Cheers,
Wazza
----------------------
FollowupID: 26349

Reply By: RayMc - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 00:08

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 00:08
Had the electronic version on a vehicle for 3.5 years, around 90,000km and have not hit any roos. Approx. 75% of travel is on country roads in WA, some areas having big roo numbers. Roos have moved well before the vehicle gets near them. Worked for us.
RayMc
AnswerID: 36488

Reply By: landie - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 13:43

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 13:43
Just remember, it will always be the deaf ones that get you..................

Landie
AnswerID: 36522

Reply By: phil - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 14:56

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 14:56
I believe that NRMA insurance found no difference in claims for roo strikes between cars fitted wit Shu Roo (genuine type) and thoise without. Seems to indicate that any effect is small if it exists at all.
AnswerID: 36525

Follow Up By: phil - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 15:01

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 15:01
For the full reoprt look at
http://www.bees.unsw.edu.au/staff/academic/ramp/Shu%20Roo%20Final%20Report.pdf
It is very comprehensive.
FollowupID: 26363

Reply By: ToyMotor - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:37

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:37
I have plastic devices on my bull-bar that are guaranteed to repel lions and crocodiles, and in over 300,000 km of outback motoring, I've NEVER hit either one! They work really well. (I'll sell you a set for $200.00)

AnswerID: 36556

Reply By: Prado Boy - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 09:18

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 09:18
My father worked in DPI Bundaberg for a number of years and had to do a lot of travelling for his work. Soon after joining up there he asked for a Shu-Roo to be fitted to his work vehicles but the boss said "$400 - No way!". 6 weeks later the boss came back from a days work with huge damage to the front of one of the work cars after hitting a big roo. The Shu-Roo's went on all the work cars (for that group) the next week with the result that they had no more roo strikes in 4 years while Dad was up there. He swears by the things and reckons the roos just turn and go when they hear it. I've not seen one in action though so would remain skeptical.
Besides - ya can't beat a quality steel bullbar and some good driving lights (which both have other uses too).
Prado Boy
AnswerID: 36598

Reply By: Member - Dave (Pilbara) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 00:43

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2003 at 00:43
My first set of the cheepys is still imbedded in a dead roo someware. I travel alot on roo infested roads and after hitting more than I can care to remember have come to some realisations. First the cheap ones only work when they have an air flow.Then they are doughtful. If they are fitted on a bumper bar the air pocket produced as the car passes through the air will make sure they do not work. So they need a clean air flow to work. Put them on the top of the bull bar.
Other findings. The roos you hit are the ones that get frightened and jump out in front of you. Unfortunatley the speed you need to do to pass them before they hear you comming is way above the limit so that can not be of use to us law abieding drivers. The ones you hit are usually the ones you have not seen. These are the ones behind the bushes etc.you are going to hit them anyway. If you can see them with plenty of time you can miss them(never swerve most prople killed in the country is due to swerving to miss animals) Dave
AnswerID: 36808