Starter Motor Question

Submitted: Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:05
ThreadID: 83483 Views:2372 Replies:7 FollowUps:11

I normally drive my 2000 Dual Cab Hilux Diuesel 3 litre. At the moment I cannot even start the old girl, other than push start in 2nd gear. I have been through the motor (but I am not a mechanic).

The starter motor was dirty, so I took it apart and cleaned it completely, then dried it for a full day in the sun. I have reassembled it, then tested it. The rod is throwing out, but not spinning at all, not even backwards if I reverse the polarity.

Obviously "going to the mechanic" is not an option, when one's mechanic is in Kununurra, 755 km's away, mopre than half of that being corrugated road on which one would not get a chance a push starting solo. I am going to get a new starter motor in on the fortnightly truck next week, but hope that someone may have a thought or suggestion on what may be wrong with the starter motor. Nothing has been burned out, it just will not spin.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Member - allan t (NT) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:33

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:33
the solenoid is stuffed pulling in but not making contact to turn armature
AnswerID: 440949

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:38

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:38
Cheers Allan

Guess I am right then, time for a new starter motor after less than 7 months.

Have a good one
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 712860

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:04

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:04
I agree with Allan.
I think your diesel Hilux will have a reduction gear starter.
If you pull out the starter, lift the cover off the solenoid (5 sided cover from memory) you can take out each solenoid contact and clean up the contact surfaces, and you'll probably get it going fine again. New starter contacts can be bought off Ebay for about $20.
FollowupID: 712863

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:52

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:52
Hi Phil G

Correct, it is a five sided cover. I will do as advised and see how that goes.

FollowupID: 712868

Reply By: B1B2 - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:42

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:42
G'day Marc,
Assuming your rotor turns freely by hand and it's not a bearing problem. How are the brushes? Are they making good contact with the commutator? Are the contacts in good condition?
These would be the most obvious places to check.
I had a muddy starter with a brush hung up (there are 4 on mine), and it took over 500amps to turn it over.

Good luck,

AnswerID: 440951

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:54

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 10:54
Hi Bill

The rotor is freely turning, so the bearings are okay, and the brushes are clean, with nothing out of the ordinary there. I can only assume the brushes are making full contact (maybe my nose could be pointed in the right direction to check the contact being made, not sure how to).

FollowupID: 712862

Reply By: briancc - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:03

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:03
Marc, have you checked the contacts / terminals inside the solenoid? I replaced them in the old 60 series and a friend with another diesel of some sort had to do the same. The solenoid plunger has a copper disc which contacts on two copper plates to complete the circuit into the motor. These surfaces degrade and no electrons get through. You can clean them up to get it going, but it doesn't last too long. Kits should be available at your friendly local auto lekky. Sounds like you'll have one fairly close!!!
AnswerID: 440953

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:50

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:50
Hi BrianCC

The local auto sparky is in Kununurra, almost 9 hours drive away. I am going to order a new starter motor, but won't get that until next week on our fortnightly delivery truck.

FollowupID: 712867

Reply By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:15

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:15
Hi Marc, sounds like the solenoid contacts are dirty or as stated the brushes are stuck in the carriers , if you can get the solenoid to peices just reverse the contact bolts after cleaning them , thats if they are burnt or damaged. If the brushes are worn lift the springs with a small screw driver and put a small piece of flat wood or something like that under the springs on all brushes. This is only to get you out of trouble when stuck, as you are.
AnswerID: 440955

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:48

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 11:48
Hi Matt

I am actually not stuck, I am at home. I would enjoy being able to use my vehicle without continuously push starting the damned thing. I will take itback off, and have a more thorough look, and come back and check here what else I should perhaps be looking at.

Please tell me, why reverse the contact bolts on the solenoid. I understand the validity of lifting the springs a little for a better contact if required.

FollowupID: 712866

Follow Up By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 15:58

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 15:58
Marc the contact plate is round and burns the bolts ,by turning the bolts gives you a clean surface for the plate to work on. You may be able to turn the plate as well, it is a long time ago that i was doing these things . also check your battery and leads . When you do your test make sure you have a fully charged battery.
FollowupID: 712905

Reply By: Danny & June - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 12:00

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 12:00
GDay Mark

If the starter solenoid just goes clik solenoid contacts are either worn out or dirty.
The bent contact if worn [it should all be the same thickness] can be bent uo to correct height to make contact again.
Give the contacts a bit of a scratch to clean them.
If you bend too far towards middle they may hit insulator on moveable contact then still just goes clik .If that happens just file the end of contact.

Phone me if you have a problem.

Danny

AnswerID: 440962

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 12:13

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 12:13
Hi Danny

You've hit the nail oin the head, as the starter motor is just going click. I am currently waiting for the son in law to wake up, as he can take the starter motor off this time.

Have no way of phoning you, as I don't know the number, and pleasxe do not put it on the open forum.

FollowupID: 712873

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 12:18

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 12:18
Marc,

what about Bailey's in Halls Creek. Last time I looked they were a fully fledged mechanic and Repco agent and only two hours up the road. Barry Street. 08 9168 6508. Good Luck.

Mick

AnswerID: 440963

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 16:11

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 16:11
Hi Mick

Thanks, I am aware of Baileys, and those of us who are reasonably local never go near them. He is a good mechanic generally, just his colour perception has a few problems.

Two hours may have me at Billiluna, but not much further with the amount of water around, and with the car not self starting, I would not risk it.

FollowupID: 712911

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 19:25

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 19:25
Thanks everyone for the opinion and advice. I have bitten the bullet and ordered a new starter motor which I will have on the mail plane next week. Two bolts and a couple of cables and I will be mobile again.

AnswerID: 441002

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 21:05

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 21:05
best bet Marc, as we both know it is worth simply fitting a new one and knowing at least you will get a few years out of it ....... get stuck at the bottom of a hill or bogged and the starter carks it you would wish you had the new one ........
Good luck with it ... thank god for the mail planes ...
Joe
FollowupID: 712951

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 21:39

Friday, Jan 07, 2011 at 21:39
Hi Joe

Coming from you guys, who know exactly the way things are for those of us extremely remote, thanks. I know others understand and have good experiences, no doubt they realise what things can be like, but it takes a few decades to really understand.

This site has heaps of people that know the bush and are really great for helping out with advice when called on.

FollowupID: 712955

Popular Products (11)