Jayco Eagle battery

Hi looking at buying a jayco eagle, told I should definitely get the extra battery pack, but if this wont run the fridge, is it worth just for lights? I'm new to caravanning so is there something I'm missing with what I will get from the extra battery pack?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 19:56

Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 19:56
Hey Leedub

When you say "but if this wont run the fridge" what do you mean? Do you mean you wont be running the fridge from the van?. If you are only running lights (and they are reasonably efficient) then one battery should do you for a few nights camping no worries. If you are running a fridge (or 2) then I would definitely invest in a second battery. I would consider 2 x 100 Amp hour batteries as the minimum for extended camping trips.

Look at getting quality AGM (glass matt) type batteries as they are designed to be charged and discharged repeatedly. You will also need to invest in a quality charger and a generator or a solar panel for topping up the batteries if you plan to do extended trips in the bush away from power.

Regards
AnswerID: 442045

Reply By: bluefly - Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 20:30

Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 20:30
The battery pack is offered to do just that....run the lights and other very low usages.

Your right, it’s a waste of time to run a three way fridge on battery power.

Having said that, you do have access to gas, which will be available for a number of days.

I don't think you can pose a question in isolation. I'm sure you'll get a greater response is you explain the intended end use.

Cheers
AnswerID: 442047

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 21:15

Sunday, Jan 16, 2011 at 21:15
I wouldn't buy it yet?

See how often you run out of lights when remote camping.
I initially set mine up in my back yard with the lights on and determined how long the battery powered the lights for.