Are any of the mini notebook computers good for navigation?

The navigator has always relied on paper maps but is showing an interest in moving into the modern world of digital navigation.

In the interests of comfort (a large notebook on the lap in the front seat may be a wee bit cramped) we are thinking that perhaps the mini notebooks would be ideal.

There are a few out there and the prices are quite good, but can they do the job i.e. do they have the computing power to handle the task?

What are others using - hardware and software? All comments and advice appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 13:42
I've been using a 10 inch ASUS for 24 months and a mate an Acer for about 18 months. Both run Ozi Explorer and have done many trips including the CSR, parts of Gunbarrel, Connie Sue and Anne Beadell without missing a beat. We've also used them to down load photos whilst travelling.

You can also use it to play music and watch stored DVDs - very versatile. Others may use them for even more applications than what we do.

Prior to the 10 inch job I had a 15.5 inch lap top and it was cumbersome.

A word of caution though. If you're permanently mounting it make sure of clearance for air bags if you vehicle is fitted with them.

Cheers
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 442336

Reply By: Honky - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 13:51

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 13:51
Going a little bit further, what about the Samsung Galaxy s which is a 3g phone, inbuilt GPS and big enough to read but small enough to fit in a purse?
Heaps of APPS and can check emails.

Honky
AnswerID: 442338

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 14:48

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 14:48
Hi Moose