Campervan trip: diesel nozzles, electrical service, and booking ahead

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 20:52
ThreadID: 84215 Views:3573 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Hello all!

I am about to take a 3 week vacation in Australia (from the US; details in this post); I will be renting a diesel 2WD campervan and doing a bit of driving. I have a few questions about the small practicalities:

1) At the fuel station, are the diesel nozzles on the pumps all the same size, or do I have to look out for the "car sized" ones?

Background: Here, the "normal" diesel nozzle for cars and pickup trucks/utes is about the same size as a petrol nozzle. Stations that cater to big trucks (semis) have pumps with a bigger diesel nozzle and faster flow, so the truck driver doesn't have to wait forever to fill up a few-hundred-liter tank. The diesel fuel is the same, the price and tax are the same, it's just faster.

2) At caravan parks or other places where you can plug in to 240 V, do they all have the same (Australian) socket, or are there different kinds? Should I get an adapter?

Background: There are a couple of different shapes of 120 V plugs for campers and caravans here; the bigger ones let you draw more current. Newer parks provide all the sockets, but older and smaller parks tend to have only one kind of socket; people carry a couple of adapters so they can always plug their camper into what the park has.

I know I will need an adapter to plug a US plug into an Australian outlet; that's not what I'm after. I'm just wondering if I can always reliably plug in the campervan.

3) I have already booked the places for the first few nights, plus one place (Eyre bird observatory) that requires advance booking. But I don't want to book out the entire trip ahead of time as my plans may vary a little. I know this is hard to answer, but is there a general rule about how far ahead to book?

I know that on the weekend, or on the holidays, places will fill up fast, and the place on the beach will probably fill up faster than a place in a small country town. Just wondering if it is generally easy to get a spot, or if I should always plan on booking ahead by at least a few days.

Thanks for your help!

Matt R.

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 21:27

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 21:27
Mate you can't fit diesel pump into a car (unleaded) hole. all the servos i worked at use one size for diesel...

most to nearly all caravan parks either run a 15 amp plug, which has a bigger earth point on it, ten amp is the other size. you can't plug a 15 amp plug into a 10 amp socket. and it is illegal to plug a 10 amp plug into a 15 amp socket ( i think, someone will correct me if wrong please). most likely cable is supplied.

bring a laptop and look and book onlin e as most places you will likely visit will be there and an email or two ( drop a line) will help also.

i hope this helps.

AnswerID: 444698

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 22:46

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 22:46
Where we fill up Chris it has the large truck fillers next to the car size pumps. But Diesel is usually to one side.
FollowupID: 716857

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 21:32

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 21:32
Servos have normal sized pumps
They also have truck stop pumps often in a different place.
Some have hiflow ordinary ones

Dont worry it will be ok

Camps have 240 volt 15amp sockets and the camper should have the same matching cords.
It is illegal here to use adapters from 10 amp to 15 amp or vice versa.

In a hired camper ask them to show you that it has a 15 amp cord with it.

They have a larger earth pin than the 10 amp one.

So a 10 amp one wont attach to the camper.

Depending on when and where you are going it may be better to book a few days in advance.

Especially as lots of roads are covered in water ATM in different parts of the country.
Like north Queensland, inner west QLD, Victoria.

Still lots of places to go.

Perhaps an itinerary would help get a few answers.

Read your post.

Coklebiddy and across the Nullabor probably wont have water on each site but may have power.
Rest will be OK

AnswerID: 444699

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 22:15

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 22:15
At caravan parks or other places where you can plug in to 240 V, do they all have the same (Australian) socket, or are there different kinds? Should I get an adapter?

All Australian caravan parks will have the same 15amp plug so only one cord is necessary and that should come with the van. If not they are available at any large hardware store.

I know that on the weekend, or on the holidays, places will fill up fast, and the place on the beach will probably fill up faster than a place in a small country town. Just wondering if it is generally easy to get a spot, or if I should always plan on booking ahead by at least a few days.

Well it varies a lot. Out of school holidays and away from the "grey nomad' hot spots in the Kimberley, Far North queensland and say the Gold coast, there should rarely be a problem . Usually a non powered spot will be available if there are no powered spots. In very busy places eg Broome they will not accept bookings days ahead anyway. On busy routes with long hauls eg Longreach it pays to get there before about 2PM to ensure a spot.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 444713

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 22:25

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 22:25
Matt,
The truck stops have both larger nozzle with high flow & smaller slower ones in amongst the petrol pumps , normal servos have the smaller nozzle. Both will usually fit but the high flow ones sometimes keep cutting out in the smaller vehicles.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 444716

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 23:11

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 23:11
Matt

These other turkeys have missed the point/s re your queries I think, so I'll have a go and see if I can explain it a tad better.

(1) Diesel pumps - Firstly the different types and grades of fuel sold in the service stations here are delivered by colour coded pump guns. Diesel is BLACK and normally signed/marked as diesel. Some diesel pumps have a safety catch on them marked diesel, that makes you physically have to look at it and release it to get the gun out of the slot to use it. Idea being to stop idiots putting diesel in a petrol vehicle and vice versa.

As you you drive into a fuel/service station you will see separate rows of pumps, no doubt similar to what you have in the States. At the front of each row there is usually a sign that tells you what type of fuel is delivered in each row. Once again these are colour coded with type of fuel denoted within the colour bar. You will see, LPG, ULP (Petrol) other different grades of petrol and Diesel ( in black)

So just locate the row that has diesel and then pick which side matches your filler cap on your vehicle.

The aforementioned diesel pumps in these rows for vehicles other than large trucks, will normally have the smaller slow fill nozzle, however, having said that you do come across both Large fast flow and small slow flow on occasions in smaller service stations and/or country ones.

The nozzle inlet size on the vehicles here other than commercial trucks varies over all vehicles that use diesel. It just depends on where the vehicle was manufactured.

(2) The 240V Electricity thing - All RV's in Australia regardless of type have a common connection method between the RV and the Electric Power Supply. ie an Electric Extension Cord. The RV that you hire should have one of these cords supplied and they are usually 30 meters in length. The Electrical fittings at each end are the usual Female Socket and Male 3 pin plug. In most instances all power supply here in Australia is 230/240V and delivered via a three (3) core) cable that includes an Earth.

Each of the abovementioned electrical fitting on the Extension Cord are what we call 15amp fittings as opposed to 10amp fittings. The Earth pin is a big mother and the authorities in their wisdom design it as such, so that a 10amp delivery system could not be accidentally connected to a 15amp delivery system. Thats a simplistic description of a big story that boils down to a safety thing.

As long as the hire company supplies the subject extension cord and shows you how to use/connect it (very simple) you will have no trouble.

Now once your RV is connected as described above, everything passed the Safety Circuit Breaker inside the RV will be 230/240V with normal 3pin power points.

Australia uses a National 3pin plug and socket profile which is the same everywhere you go. So as long as you have the adapter/converter plug from Nth America to Australia everything will be easy.

(3) Booking accommodation etc - what the others said.

DD
AnswerID: 444726

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 23:25

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 23:25
Some of the other turkeys did realise what he was asking for but felt he had

enough brains to look for a diesel pump as no doubt the American system is the same or was when I was last there.

The American " adapter" unless it is the extra sooper dooper model WONT CHANGE THE VOLTAGE.

You can buy adapters here that change the Aussie plug to USA as well but it

doesn't change the voltage.

I think you mean everything "past" the circuit breaker etc.....

FollowupID: 716864

Follow Up By: Wokwon - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 08:16

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 08:16
Re diesel pumps, here in Victoria a lot of them are yellow, not black. Depends on the servo.
FollowupID: 716874

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 09:14

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 09:14
Never argue with an idiot/s as he/she will only drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

Now you good ole boys have a good day now.

DD
FollowupID: 716883

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 20:21

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 20:21
its called a step-down transformer. Credit where credit is due, but i don't apprieciate being called a turkey. Obviously you don't understand the KISS principal.

Also most laptop power supplies will run either 110volts and 240, by a simple change of the power cords. But LOOK AT YOUR POWER SUPPLY BEFORE CONNECTING IT UP, IT WILL TELL YOU OR BUY A POWER SUPPLY COMPATIBLE WITH AUSTRALIAN POWER SUPPLY.

oh one more thing, didn't i tell in this statement....

"""most to nearly all caravan parks either run a 15 amp plug, which has a bigger earth point on it, ten amp is the other size. you can't plug a 15 amp plug into a 10 amp socket. and it is illegal to plug a 10 amp plug into a 15 amp socket ( i think, someone will correct me if wrong please). most likely cable is supplied."""'

most tour operators will teach and instruct new arrivals, on what to do an what not to do. also there is a booklet supplied with all the tips and tricks.

so before rubbishing other peoples work, think twice before you comment please.

FollowupID: 716946

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 20:27

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 20:27
Another thing i spent 3 years in servos, behind the counter.

8 years in caravan parks as a tennant..
FollowupID: 716949

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 20:43

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 20:43
Hmmm I think I said about 15 amp cords in my first reply also.

The best thing he could do for a laptop is buy a 12 v CONVERTER as most Lappys run on 19 Volt s and these up the voltage from a car ciggy socket to various voltages up to 22V He will then be able to take it home and still use it.

The 3 laptops I work with all have 240 V stepdown transformers.

fI your reply refers to me an adapter which is what was referred to is a thing that changes the pins from one countries type to another. It doesnt change the voltage

Page 393 Jaycar catalogue Travel Adapters

Part no 4019 USA - AU

part 4025 AU - USA

As you say a transformer alters voltage

FollowupID: 716956

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 at 02:29

Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 at 02:29
Im really struggling to work out your point Graham H

why cant he just run a USA/AUS adapter for his laptop??

certainly my laptop transformer has a working range from 100-240v so i cant see the issue??

FollowupID: 717024

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 at 09:40

Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 at 09:40
Yes if it is 110/240 he would be able to. One of mine can and one cant.

FollowupID: 717041

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 10:39

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 10:39
Dust Devil must think the poor yank can't fart and chew gum at the same time, eh.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 444751

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 10:52

Wednesday, Feb 09, 2011 at 10:52
from memory you are crossing the Nullarbour but any way if not this info is relevent

in the city alot of servos have both car and truck diesal fill spots

cars are discoaraged from using the truck fast fill spots and as said usually the flow is too fast making it cut out often

however out of the big smoke often (but not always) the only diesal pumps are the truck pumps which are set up away from the undercover car pumps

these nozzles while a bit bigger should fit your camper

to further complicate things some servos (in the city) have a bio diesal blend diesal as a choice for a few cents less. Unless your hire agreement specifically excludes its use it s a good way to save a bit and doesnt seem to effect performance or economy

I havnt stayed at a powered caravan park for ages but yes there are 2 types of power cords as well covered one with the bigger earth

If your RV has one iof these make sure it comes with a cord as they are not overly cheap too buy

remember Diesal passenger vehicles are alot more common over here than the states so it wont matter where you go you will be catered for in that regard
AnswerID: 444752

Popular Products (11)