WATERPROOFING DIESEL ENGINES? What yave you done to yours?

Submitted: Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 12:49
ThreadID: 84272 Views:5046 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
G'day all, what have you done to your diesel engine to make it MORE splashproof/waterproof for those river crossings?... did it work?... how well! Hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 12:58

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 12:58
Hi Dingo. Judging from the lift you already have it raises the question as to how deep you want to go? Not sure you will ever get your feet wet!!
AnswerID: 445044

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 13:07

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 13:07
I my hzj105, nothing except for a snorkel. Deepest water crossing I have been through was about the depth of the top of the outside rearvision mirrors, and I did not have any problems with that.
It is a bit strange looking out through the windscreen underwater though .....

AnswerID: 445046

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 14:45

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 14:45
did it get wet inside?

FollowupID: 717289

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:26

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:26
No fortunately :) !

It was only a short river crossing, Crooked River near talbotville

FollowupID: 717292

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 16:39

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 16:39
That crossing used to be quite shallow, it caught me out after the fires & floods.
I think the dozer driver must have taken a big cut.
Because I had crossed heaps of times, didn't even think to check it, I got shock when the water came over the top of the bonnet.
FollowupID: 717309

Reply By: member - mazcan - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 14:57

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 14:57
hi aussiedingo
a product that i have used over many years and found to be a stand out
is
CRC electra shield spray

comes in a 300g container last can i payed $19.00 for and could be now much dearer but well and truly worth it

it puts a thin protective film on the connections but doesnt interfere with electrical power transmission and sets to form a very long lasting shield components can still be take easily apart when required
i sprayed all electrical connections and components with this when i first bought my mazda bravo in 1997 and have also continued to do like wise on my other vehicles
and trailers with excellent ongoing satisfaction no failures

i went to the trouble of removing light plugs and sockets and switches and relays electrical wiring joints etc etc and the only thing that has failed in all the years of use was the one item that i never sprayed before going on the CSR that being the wiper/washer/motor on the mazda
the mazda got a very good dunking in savory creek when it fell into a deep bog hole while entering from the south side to cross
that water is about 20 times more salty than the ocean
and that was the reason the w/wiper motor failed the salt got in
the last can i bought from coventry's but should be available from CRC stockist
cheers barry
AnswerID: 445057

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:08

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:08
Fit a snorkel & closed the bonnet.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 445062

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:55

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:55
Ditto

FollowupID: 717305

Reply By: Kimba10 - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:11

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 15:11
The old hilux all I did was a snorkel, had the water up over the bonnet a few times and the only thing was the alternator light would come on due to water getting into the male/female connection, bleep ed the plastic conections off and soldered together never ever had the problem again, your 60 would be like the old hilux, as long as it can suck air you could sit it under water and the old girl would keep going. (just dont stall it or I imagine you would have water filling up the exhaust system) I put snorkel on the 1kz prado but never had water over the bonnet so not sure wether there would have been any issues with it running more electrics ?? I have seen petrols up over the bonnet and keep going, its if you get hung up on some thing I personally think is where it better to have a diesel but obviously if in that situation a snorkel is a must. I have seen 90 series prados, sukz, petrol with water up over bonnet and keep going, and all they had was a blind at the front. I found with my old prado (petrol) mud was the killer on the alternator, very common in the 90 prado petrols. Regards Steve
AnswerID: 445063

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 17:08

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 17:08
G'day Kimba, when I do a water crossing I carry a length of motorbike tube & slip it over the end of the exhaust pipe with a few of it's rubber bands to keep it on, it really works well ( sounds strange!) if you stop water can't get back up the tube into the exhaust pipe. A cheap 'n easy safeguard in case you stall. I've used it as long as I have been offroading without ever a problem.... hoo rooo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

FollowupID: 717312

Reply By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 19:08

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 19:08
i have a flap arrangement to go on my hilux exhaust pipe ;its similar to whats fitted to the exhaust pipes on inboard ski boats bye barry
AnswerID: 445103

Reply By: River Swaggie - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 19:35

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 19:35
Mate ive only got a Safari Snorkel and made sure any holes in the filter box was siliconed up...(or rubber breathers)

The Hilux was running for at least 40 minutes (well all the time during recovery)

Recovery

Oh diff and transfer case breathers are a must...
AnswerID: 445106

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 21:13

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 21:13
Snorkel, breather pipes up high for Diff and transfer case for me too. Also try to let things cool off prior to getting wet.
I've never had a problem but many will say that you should stop the fan from spinning forward into the radiator too.

AnswerID: 445123