Hyundai Terracan tow vehicle

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 13:09
ThreadID: 84797 Views:6937 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
Gday all! I am planning on towing a caravan across a large portion of Australia including NT with my auto Terracan. It will be a largish one as the family is coming along and there will be 5 of us! This will be an extended tour including periods of work.
I would like to know of other's experiences/problems with the Terracan for towing, etc. It is a 2.9 diesel and has impressed me with its power, comfort and economy, although it will need a suspension upgrade before I leave.
I know it can tow up to 2500 kgs and the GVM? is about 5800 kgs. Does it need an extra cooler for the auto as some vehicles do or is it fine as is. Other recommended upgrades? - I know a 4.2 TD 100 series would be a great upgrade but funds don't stretch that far. :)

Reply By: Snoopyone - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 13:27

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 13:27
I think you had better look at your figures above. A Terracan certainly wont have a GVM of 5800kg.

A 100 TD Cruiser's GVM is only 3260kg

Its GCVM may be somewhere around that.

That is allup weight of both vehicles.

However by the time you load up the Terracan with 5 of you and fuel and a bit in

the back you will be struggling to have enough left for a 2500kg van which will

have a ball weight of upwards of 220kg to be stable and safe to tow.

This weight is part of the cars load

Perhaps a rethink would be a good idea.

AnswerID: 447401

Follow Up By: Deto41 - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 13:41

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 13:41
Thanks for the input snoopyone.

I thought GVM might have been incorrect, hence the "?" - GCVM was what I meant.

I'll just have to be carefull with van size, etc by the looks of it.
FollowupID: 719714

Follow Up By: Snoopyone - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:17

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:17
What is the payload amount for a Terracan. I saw one which had 825kg ?????

The reason I ask is if you add up the weight of 5 people say 90kg you 55kg?? mum 3 kids 40kg each=265kg plus 80kg for fuel you have 345kg.

Then add on 225minimum for ball weight = 545kg and you have no gear in it yet

Also when I looked it up the Terracan had a permissible ballweight of 100kg

Which is only what a decent camper trailer has

My 2600kg van has a ballweight of 275kg.!!!!!!!!

Something else to think about.

FollowupID: 719717

Follow Up By: Snoopyone - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:28

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:28
A read of this is interesting.

It seems the ball weight alters with varying models A read of the handbook will tell you what is correct

http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?/topic/8419-gross-vehicle-mass-gvm/

FollowupID: 719719

Reply By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 17:27

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 17:27
Hi Deto41, mate there is no way these type of vehicles where ever designed to do what you are expecting of it. Sorry but that's how it is.
AnswerID: 447407

Reply By: wizzer73 - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 23:23

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 23:23
I think the extra cooler would be a wise investment for piece of mind no matter what weight your van is. Have a look and ask the same question on the terracan forum for more experienced answers.

http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?/forum/47-terracan-owners-group-%26gt%3B%26gt%3B-wwwterracanaustralia4wdcom/

wizzer
AnswerID: 447427

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 23:24

Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 23:24
copy and paste the whole link into your browser to get it to work.

wizzer
FollowupID: 719738

Reply By: glids - Sunday, Mar 06, 2011 at 09:23

Sunday, Mar 06, 2011 at 09:23
I would second wizzer's suggestion to ask your questions on the Terracan forum - either the Chat or Technical forums - great bunch of guys.

I doubt that you would need an extra cooler. I tow a 'van of just under 2 tonnes, and the only time I had overheating problems was with a shadecloth screen on front for locusts.

You may need a suspension upgrade, depends on what you have at present. The Trek-n-Tow package available through Hyundai was VERY expensive, but did allow an increase in ball weight from (I think) 200 to 250kg. You may be able to pick up a second-hand T-n-T package from someone on the above forum(s), but there is plenty of discussion about suspensions on the forum.

Don't under-estimate the Terracan diesel as a tow vehicle. There are plenty out there towing vans of all sizes, and all owners I have spoken to are rapt.

glids
AnswerID: 447438

Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, Mar 06, 2011 at 15:48

Sunday, Mar 06, 2011 at 15:48
The auto Terracan came with an external cooler and have not heard of anyone having problems with the auto box..

They make an excellent tow vehicle, but don't let it get a bad batch of fuel as the injection system doesn't like it !!
FollowupID: 719757

Reply By: Deto41 - Monday, Mar 07, 2011 at 13:49

Monday, Mar 07, 2011 at 13:49
Thanks for the all the feedback.

Wizzer, I will go over to Australia 4wd and ask there also, I'd forgotten about their strong Terracan forum.

Snoopyone, From research, I am pretty sure the towball weight is 200kg although the figure of 250kg also came up with susp. upgrades so the van will have to be around 2000kg loaded - challenging but not impossible.
The Terracan also has a GCVM of 5385kgs (not 5800 as I said earlier) and kerb weight of 2197kg in CRDI auto form still leaving an impressive 688 kgs for payload (minus towball weight). This payload figure is comparable to or more than most other 4wds including landcruisers and patrols.

Matt, I'd like to know how many broken down Terracans you've seen on your travels and would that be more or less than other 4wds? I understand that spares availability could be an issue but its probably no worse than newer prados/ pajeros/etc. Maintenance, as with any 4wd, will have a great influence on breakdowns as will driving style.
Undeniably, the 'square' toyota series like your? ute and troopies have a much more robust CV joint system and less complexity overall so there's less to go wrong and parts availability would be better in outback areas.

Gronk,The dirty fuel issue is, I believe, influenced by certain cleaning additives helping the attomisation of fuel that can be added to the fuel system at services - and this can be omitted or substituted apparently, but other modern crdi's would probably have similar issues - correct me if I'm wrong.

Glids, You've obviously used your Terracan - have you traveled in the outback with it? I'm leaning towards ironman (cheaper) or toughdog (better?) suspension upgrade with rear polyairs from my research.

Deto
AnswerID: 447568