VW Amorak Test Drive

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 12, 2011 at 20:42
ThreadID: 84952 Views:3682 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
I'll try to keep it short.

First surprise was.......the price shown by the media was wrong they told me and who ever else was not correct. Site Link
As you can see the Trendline price is $47,990 I was quoted today $53,199 plus another $2500 for the 18" wheels.
What did we like:- build quality is good, heaps of room, very quite motor, bloody really great brakes, the hill climb brake control brilliant. Stop at lights etc press the brake harder and you do not need to use the bloody hand brake. The front under body protection under the motor/sump where actually skid plates,
Now the things I did not like:- clutch 1" out it engages, well Iam not used to that, the gear box, six manual the gates a little to close and not to my liking, hard to find gears at time, the steering a little vague. The turbo lag was terrible, it had as much grunt as my or a little more than my MU (its quite hot hahahaha) but the MU has quicker pick up.
Now I have to admit it did have some go, but you had to make sure you were in the right gear, do not think some of these diesel utes need six gears, (all there for them to achive good fuel economy, the make that is)
To set one up to my liking around $65K, so where to next, have to take a HiLux for a test. Yep for to say we then took a D.Max for a test drive (never driven one before) and at around $20K cheaper would buy it, also have driven a Ford Ranger and like it as well.
And to think we are only looking at the moment, it is a mine field out there, honestly how do people decide? told the boss we should just keep the MU (now 16 years old) and buy !!!!!!! a old 911 Porsche hahahahahaha, yes i am losing it.

Reply By: Snoopyone - Saturday, Mar 12, 2011 at 22:29

Saturday, Mar 12, 2011 at 22:29
Hmmmm yes Regarding pricing.

We have just recently a Polo and it started off at $19990.
Auto $2500 approx =$22350

Dealer Deliv fee $2500 approx

Stamp duty and rego $1345

Came to just under $26,200.

Negotiable a bit of course.

All the quoted prices are RMP plus all the rest.

AnswerID: 448033

Reply By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 12:06

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 12:06
You might want to wait for the new Ford Ranger due later this year. The Aussie developed one with the 3.2 5cyl TD motor
AnswerID: 448071

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:44

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:44
Yep been doing some searches on the Ford Ranger and that 3.2 TD motor has been used in the Ford Transit since 2008 so should be able to find out how it is for reliability by now.
FollowupID: 720439

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:50

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:50
I should have put "in the Transit in Europe since 2008"
FollowupID: 720441

Reply By: Member - Witchdoctor - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:36

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:36
Bruce,
A mate of mine just went through what you are doing. He test drove all the options bar the hilux. The short list was D-Max, Rodeo & Ranger he liked them for different reasons, then it was down to the $ deal.
He ended up with a Ranger from a dealer in Gundy, truck delivered to home (Gold Coast).

If i was looking at spending $65K the Isuzu 300 single cab would be parked in the driveway, it has the latest creature comforts. Bags, electric windows, heated electric adjust mirrors & sat nav. Now that will pull that van of yours!!!!

AnswerID: 448093

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:49

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:49
I actually like this model Ranger, especially the Super Cab and an alloy tray. Showed Annie one at Wippells yesterday when we looked at the Amorak, it was $35K drive away.
And yes the Isuzu 300 would be nice, but then I would have to get someone to build a camper on the back for me, know anyone that can do that mate? hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 720440

Follow Up By: Member - Witchdoctor - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 17:30

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 17:30
I know i guy that could help with the camper build!!!! Until then you could just winch the trailer onto the tray, presto.
Have you got anything planed for the coming week?

FollowupID: 720444

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 17:44

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 17:44
Sent MM
FollowupID: 720447

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 09:44

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 09:44
Bruce,
You've got to do it!! Be the first on Exploroz with a Rok!

I've never had a European car before and my wife now drives a VW Tiguan TDI. It's a new experience that will keep you occupied (head under bonnet, and sussing out the forums) for ages. And the build quality looks to me to be better than the Japanese.

As far as reliability goes, on the VW forums, there is not a lot they whinge about, but many of them are enthusiasts who will only run the BP Ultimate because the VW's need the 51 Cetane diesel. Parts cost are equal to Toyota (oil filters are $20, fuel filters $66, but you need to run VW507.00 synthetic oil ($75 for 5 litres of Shell Ultra 5W30) but servicing is only 15,000k.

AnswerID: 448162

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 13:10

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 13:10
Phil, can you enlighten me please "to be the first on Exploroz with a Rok" ???

In the end it will come down to how much I want to spend.
FollowupID: 720524

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 13:57

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 13:57
"Rok" is the nickname of the VW Amarok.

VW's seem to have nicknames - "Tig" for the Tiguan and "Treg" for the Toureg etc etc
FollowupID: 720527

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 13:59

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 13:59
No worries Phil hahahaha
FollowupID: 720528