NRMA and Wheels, Wheels, Wheels

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 10:13
ThreadID: 85037 Views:3823 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Dear Patrolman # 1

Many thanks for changing the front near side wheel on 8th March at Frenchs Forest. It was a busy and narrow road and I was uncomfortable about getting under the truck.

I have been trying to get a message to you since then without any luck as you see the wheel came off approx 30klms later at night on Mona Vale Rd. Luckily it hung to the last 5mm of the hub gently swaying in the breeze. Am sure you would agree the sight of a GU front wheel travelling at 80 Klms on a busy 6 six lane road would be a little scary and could even be fatal. It would also result in some unnecessary modifications to the suspension of the truck. Consequently I have been trying to get a message to you to throw away your little orange cordless rattle gun.

Of course I take full responsibility. I have always double checked whenever anyone with a rattle gun in their hands even looks at the truck, but alas this time I forgot. So again I ask that you put it in the garbage bin. I really don’t want to think about the possible results of changing a wheel on a car full of kids.

Its unfortunate that your employer (NRMA) has no record of your call out. Of course if I was a suspicious person I would think that maybe there is another reason.

Dear Patrolman # 2
Many thanks for putting the wheel back on that night. As discussed the guys at Traction 4 have checked out everything and there is no damage other than some gouges on the inside of the wheel but please don’t insult my intelligence by telling me it was impossible that the first incident had anything to do with the wheel coming off.

And finally to Mr Nissan. Many thanks for last year’s recall wherein you fitted the wheel stud caps with the arrows on top. To be honest I have not got into the habit of walking around the car everytime I get in it to check the direction of the arrows and I am intrigued as to why you fitted only 3 of the 6 wheel nuts on each wheel. Maybe the others cannot come off. Perhaps you welded them on...I had better go check.

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 10:52

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 10:52
Hmmmm not happy….Jan. Very lucky by the sounds of it David. I’d presume you called NRMA on a mobile so your call record would be pretty hard for them to dodge. Might be worth thinking about a formal complaint.

I had my rear wheel sheer all the wheel studs while on the road to Mitchell Falls last year (I was going to post the blog tonight as I had just finished some video on it). Not as serious as your issue but the video might cheer you up a bit ;-)

AnswerID: 448413

Follow Up By: Member - David S (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:38

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:38
Hi Mick

You may be right but I think getting out a message on this forum may be better. I just want him to throw away the rattle gun

FollowupID: 720712

Follow Up By: Member - David S (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:45

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:45
Hi Mick

Loved the video....am just going to buy some spare studs and nuts !!

cheers David
FollowupID: 720714

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:14

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:14
I have to ask, why phone NRMA instead of changing the wheel yourself.
AnswerID: 448417

Follow Up By: Member - David S (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:41

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 11:41
Dressed in a suite on a narrow busy road with the vehicle at an angle......no thanks Bow.....would rather have someone with a trolley jack do it. I did think about it but then I thought about a vehicle running up my rear whilst I am under the car
FollowupID: 720713

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 13:27

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 13:27
What are you doing driving a 4wd if you cannot change a tyre - so you were in a suit and the other reasons do not hold up. The NRMA is not there to help you lazy people - you are the sort of person that causes my NRMA membership to constantly increase.

I have absolutely no sympathy for your position. The thought of your wheel hitting someone does worry me but maybe if you had done it yourself it would not have arisen.

Also Patrols have a history of loosing wheels - are you sure it was the patrolman's fault.
FollowupID: 720720

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 13:56

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 13:56
Struth Garry I think you’re a little out of line sport. The NMRA and any other automobile association are there to assist members. David has paid for that right just like you. They exist to provide exactly this service (as well as others) to the people who have paid for membership. It’s a bit like this site really.

Dangerous conditions on a busy road…using the experts sounds like common sense to me. I hadn’t realised that NRMA costs had been going up so dramatically. That doesn’t appear to have been the case with the RACV. By the standards of your other argument, then my or your 74 year old mother who drives a four wheel drive (well a Disco so sort of ) she shouldn’t be on the highway if she can’t change a tyre, or lets not be discriminatory, make that your 19 year old son or daughter or even your missus. Isn’t that why we have NRMA cover? Personally I'd be asking the chairman and board to stop having thousand dollar lunches and perhaps your premiums might not rise so much.

I wonder how much your rego and third party would have gone up having to pay out on someone struck and injured/killed while changing the tyre in unsafe conditions as described. I also wonder just how many people who drive a four wheel drive or ANY vehicle for that matter and of any gender, feel confident in changing a wheel by a busy road?

Mick

FollowupID: 720722

Follow Up By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:04

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:04
garrycol, I don't visit this site as much as I used to. Basically because of rude remarks from rude, ill-informed, short tempered clowns like you.
FollowupID: 720726

Follow Up By: Holiday Maker - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:35

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:35
Gary J and Mick,

Agree with ALL your remarks and the rude, ill informed people do make it hard to stomach these forums sometimes.

What about the people like myself, I have back problems that I would not wish on my worst enemy (although, in this case I will make an exception for Garry) then he might learn to appreciate that everyone might not be capable of "undoing the wheel nuts (often put on by an over zealous idiot, with a rattle gun in a tyre joint) then lifting a considerable weight of a wheel at a completely wrong lifting position.

Garry, WHY DO YOU THINK I PAY FOR MY RACT (NRMA) MEMBERSHIP?

Dusty
FollowupID: 720727

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:36

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:36
Well, Gary, I think Mick O is spot on. So there'a another excuse for you not to visit too often. See ya!!!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 720728

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:44

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 16:44
Err Jack, I think Gary (Gary J) was agreeing with the sentiments we expressed and not those of Garrycol. It might be time to get those glasses assessed again mate lol.

Cheers. Mick

FollowupID: 720729

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 18:19

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 18:19
True. Apologies to Gary J. Got my Gary's confused.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 720735

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 12:07

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 12:07
Funny, the same thing happened to an NZ couple in a Navara ute with mags the year before when we were going along the Mitchell Falls road.
He stopped next to us as we were taking some photos and commented on the mad Toyota drivers speeds.
One k on there he was with one rear missing . Unfortunately many of his studs were mangled, and he had a real problem.
One of my friends had one rear go on his GU after a wheel rotation replacement in Barcaldine. They never found the wheel.
I guess the common theory is that the wheels are too tight on the spigot and jack as they go on, and are not tight against the hub.
Never heard of it on Land Rover sas they have 16MM studs with a 6.5inch PCD so more leverage.
Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 448420

Follow Up By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 12:27

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 12:27
So I wouldn't blame the NRMA entirely.
It is a known problem with GU's unless extreme precautions are taken, hence the issuance of the bolt indicators etc.
Regards Philip A.
FollowupID: 720716

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 18:20

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 18:20
David!!! I sold my factory alloy wheels (2003 GU) a few months ago and replaced them with a set of old GU original steel wheels, painted them gloss black and they look pretty good. They now give me piece of mind in that the likelihood of a wheel falling off is far reduced. Having said that, I did 315,000ks without a mishap. And as they say, "The longer you go without a problem, the closer you are to that very same problem"!!!!!! I feel more secure in my decision to change them. Regards Michael

AnswerID: 448434

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 18:23

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 18:23
David,
I forgot to mention that i also carry a spare set of front and rear studs and a set of nuts in the Patrol at all times, you never know!!! Regards, Michael

FollowupID: 720736

Follow Up By: Member - David S (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 21:11

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 21:11
Hi Michael

Yes I agree. There will be another set of 2003 GU wheels on the market. Steel wheels have been on the shopping list for a little while now

Cheers David
FollowupID: 720738

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 22:56

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 22:56
Not sure if this is relevant to on road vehicles but the particular brand of ATV's and light utilities we sell have a wheel nut torque of 35 ft/lbs with steel wheels and 80 yes 80 ft/lbs with aluminium wheels on the same diameter wheel studs. The nuts both seat on a tapered section in the wheel rim and the studs are a bit longer for the aluminium rims. When this first came to our attention we contacted the factory and they re-assured us that the figures are correct.
Obviously the aluminium rims need a far greater torque.

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 448444

Reply By: Snoopyone - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 11:52

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 11:52
Had a similar happening a few years ago when in Cairns.

Got the wheels rotated on our Berlina and next day getting down the road was getting a clunking when turning from side to side. Had done a fair distance before wondering what it was as was getting worse.

Jacked car up and rear wheel was loose.

Reason the mags are a tight fit on the hub and the young guy who did it had put them on a bit crooked and they hadn't gone on all the way.

Cost the company an new set of studs and nuts as had ruined them.

Luckily didn't ruin the mag or us if it had come off.

AnswerID: 448468