Dunlop 7.50x 16s Road grippers, and 75psi!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 21:37
ThreadID: 85043 Views:3048 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
The landy has. a sticker behind the seat with recommended tyre pressures, 75psi rear 40 front.

So for interest sake i put 75psi in the rears, loaded up a excavator bucket, drums of fuel, and went to work 3/4hr travelling. Could not feel any difference from the normal 45psi, until the trip back with out weight, Man!!!, i don't think the back wheels touched the ground, talk about a rough ride!, would not recommend pressures like that for any ute ...lol.

Cheers Axle

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 23:33

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011 at 23:33
You may not realize that doing it in the order you have, the tire pressure may have been a fair bit over 75psi?
AnswerID: 448445

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 06:56

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 06:56
G'day Axle. I had a Honda Jazz in for a service last week. Test drive before indicated something weird with heaps of road noise into the cabin. Put it on the hoist and checked tyre pressures. Three had 80lb and one had 90lb. I could not believe the tyres had survived as the owner had driven down from Newcastle, around 200k. He had no idea of correct pressures and I had to show him and try to explain how dangerous it could be. Cheers, Bob

AnswerID: 448452

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 07:19

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 07:19
Any ute will be the same, my 2wd hilux runs around with 35-40 psi all round most of the time but if carrying a decent load then the rears especially go up to 60psi with a full load, then dropped back down when empty otherwise as you noted the tyres don't stay on the ground much.
AnswerID: 448454