Diesel Gas Conversion

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 05:35
ThreadID: 85045 Views:4539 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
G'Day everyone,

well I am sure this has been talked about over and over again, well, I have tried to find post in this forum about it but the search engine couldn't find anything, so as I am a green horn in regards to this forum I thought I might start a new threat.

I have just bought a 1990 Hilux 2.8D no turbo, engine looks great, it was a holiday car of a retiree. The car only has 235.000 km done so far.

I am a carpenter and lugging my tools around pretty much everyday, it has a great lockable steel canopy on the back and I have a 10 x 6 aluminium trailer that gets loaded up with wood from time to time.

The big question is for me how to get a bit more power. Fit a turbo or do a gas conversion? The engine got an extractor fitted and I am happy with the performance if the ute is half loaded, It would be nice to have this little extra power when towing.

Has anyone everyday experience with a diesel gas conversion?

The Gas people say do it its better for the engine,
Some mechanic say don't do it the engine gets to hot,
Some say it doesn't make sense without a turbo.

I am all confused now and would appreciate your help.

Thank you for that, enjoy your day

Jens
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 07:15

Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 07:15
The best thing to do if you want more power is to do what the PO did trade it for something with more grunt.
Seriously though, it is 21 y/o, the engines will go forever if left alone but don't take kindly to being turboed in a longevity sense. No point in diesel gas unless it is turboed from my understanding.
If the injectors etc haven't been touched then a visit to a diesel place might extract a few more kw but basically you are best to leave it the way it is.
AnswerID: 448453

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 08:49