Changing out 3 lturbo diesel engine in patrol

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 07:11
ThreadID: 85647 Views:3012 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Has anyone ever changed out the 3lt turbo diesel engine in a auto patrol and upgraded to a v8 diesel. If so who did it, was it successful and how much did it cost or can another model be used instead of the ZD30
thanks

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 07:56

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 07:56
I have been taunted by the thought also, I have a friend who is offering to do the changeover free of charge, just get the bits, I think the bell bousing conversion would be the hardest to source, maybe call Marks Adapters and have a chat

AnswerID: 451381

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 11:36

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 11:36
Trendsetters

I cannot sit by and read this reply by Sir Bonza-a-Lot without commenting.

Firstly, just so that your aware, our relationship to each other is such that I let him borrow/lend some of my extra special 4X4 'stuff' on the odd occasion, why, I don't know know, because he is always losing, breaking, things or damaging himself with said items.

Secondly, the only thing he has been taunted with/by in his whole life, is his guardian angel,l carer SWMBO.

Thirdly, Bonz is always drinking one too many 'butterbeers'.

Fourthly, I know (because he told me) that he was talking to Ex member Roachie a week or two ago re Roachie thinking about disposing of his GU with the V8 Chev motor.

I do believe that all of this has led to Bonz having an Episode, Vision, Hallucination, Dream re V8 engines in GU's after imbibing on one 'butterbeer' too many and submitting the above reply.

DD

FollowupID: 724013

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 13:02

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 13:02
Oh my goodness gracious me,.....

I just checked in here (ie: to this forum) for the first time in about a month, and what do I see but the same old vitriol from the same old ("old" being the operative word) protagonists...hahaha

FWIW, The Chev 6.5V8 diesel and the strength of the Nissan GU drivetrain is a marriage made in heaven (IMHO).

I've owned my Chev V8 since November 2006 and am about to part with it. I'm not selling it because there is anything wrong with it....rather that I have not been using it as much as I would like these days due to changing family circumstances.... IE: we have not been going away camping anywhere near as often as we used to.

BUT.... the Chev is not going to suit everybody's tastes. It is an old-fashioned, agricultural type of engine. Not a computer chip within cooee. It will pull like a 14y/o school boy all day long. It has oodles of torque right off idle (mine is a naturally aspirated model).

On the downside, it tends to be not quite as quiet as the lovely modern crop of 3 litre whiz-bang jiggers. Without a turbo or supercharger, you will need to stir the long shifter a couple of times going up steepish hills if she is loaded up with gear and/or towing anything.

Cheers blokes......

FollowupID: 724019

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:07

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:07
Tsk Tsk DD, the said friend was one just north of you, a guy with a real shed, and we were discussing the might V8 Toyota turbo diesel currently fitted to the 200 series. Said expert reckoned it would fit and me being the drive till it breaks man is still contemplating.... but imagine that 600 killer wasps in a Patrol

FollowupID: 724027

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 15:34

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 15:34
Yes! he does have penchant for swapping junk drive trains for decent state of the art V8 ones.

However! I just sooooooo! want to be present when you tell her in doors that you are going to do it. Maybe I could help you persuade her that it is the right thing to do. (ROFLMAO).

600 'killerwasps' is music to your ears, however as your put the pedal to the metal and the DTT's kick in with you sinking into the seat from the G forces generated, it all goes very quite.
FollowupID: 724031

Follow Up By: TheMajor - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:04

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:04
Hey Roachie

Is that you? It cant be! The last I heard is that you vaporised while doing a red liner up Big Red. By geez they must make them tough in SA, nearly as tough as they make them in Yass.

You probably dont recall mate, but when I picked up the new 200 cruiser in August 2008 from SA I was gunna drop in and give you a drive but when you heard how many relos I had with me, you done a runner and went out for the day.

Anyway mate, if you are selling that one, someone is going to get a good rig, you have done a lot of work on it. Perhaps you should contemplate a 200 twin turbo, you'd like that.

Cheers Roachie

The Major
FollowupID: 724047

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 20:19

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 20:19
G'day Major,
I'm working my way up to a 200!!! I'm half way there now that I have bought a 100 series.
I know a bloke in Melbourne who has a 200 and I reckon that by the time he's ready to sell it, I might be ready to buy it off him!!! hahaha
Good old Yass, eh?
FollowupID: 724070

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 08:25

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 08:25
Dalton,
although Lindsay at linquip is retired I think he still supplies bits and pieces. Brunswick diesel also do the same.

Another great source of infomation is Les Addison on the 4wd monthly forum, just put in 6.5 chev diesel.

Here is the link to Linquip.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 451382

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 09:00

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 09:00
have a look on this forum... http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/ it should have all the info you require about such transplants.
AnswerID: 451386