How to get spare wheel & tyre onto roofrack

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:04
ThreadID: 85658 Views:16763 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Has anyone got any good ideas about how to get a spare wheel and tyre onto the roof rack of my Cruiser in the bush with only my wife to help. It is too heavy and I am too old to lift it up. I rigged up a block and tackle using some blocks left over from my sailing days, but with the fixed block attached to one of the outer bars of the roof rack on the opposite side to where the spare wheel was sitting on the ground, and the rope passing over the roofrack to the moving block which was near the spare wheel, by the time I got the wheel clear of the ground, there was too much friction between the rope and where the rope passed over the bar of the roofrack. I had rigged the block and tackle up with 3 fold purchase and I had a 6 times mechanical advantage, so it should have been easy. There must be a better way of doing it.

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:33

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:33
Hi Desert Tripper,

Have you thought of fitting a spare wheel carrier to the back of your vehicle.

Even then they are a bit of a lift but no where near as bad as lifting up onto the roof rack. Just a thought there Desert tripper.

I fitted one to my previous 80 and it worked well.

Good luck mate and all the best.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 451411

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 16:07

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 16:07
Another vote for a spare carrier on the back of the vehicle.
There are many different types that the aftermarket boys have made.
VIZ. TJM, ARB,Opposite Lock etc.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 724039

Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:42

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 14:42
There is a couple of options but as always comes down to the effort you want to put into the project and the cost to do so. Like all lifting excercises you need to get above what you are lifting. You could make a "A" frame that pivots off your roofrack bit like the frames used to sink a bore or could purchase a small hand winch lifter similar to what the wreckers have on there utes to pick up gearboxes etc. My preference would be the "A" frame as it would weigh very little and be able to be used on maltiple cars.

Craig
AnswerID: 451412

Reply By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 15:22

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 15:22
Hi Desert Tripper,

I initially set up an A-frame gantry/winch arrangement such as Craig describes above. On lifting, when the wheel reached its lift limit at the gantry pulley further winching caused the gantry to pivot over onto the roof rack with the wheel on top.
It worked well but I became critical of having the gantry and winch on the roof rack as I was trying to reduce weight up there.

So then I resorted to a block and tackle system such as you described. Using stainless yachting gear, with a single block at the top and a double block at the wheel and thick soft rope such as used on yachts so as to be easy on the hands. The pull is managed whilst standing up on the roof rack but I do not experience the friction problems you describe as the pulled rope section is only in contact with about 20 degrees of the rack top bar. Before lifting, a strap is attached to the bottom side of the wheel so that on reaching the rack, with the rope tied-off, the strap is used to rotate the wheel over the rack top bar and onto the floor of the rack.

By the way, the old gantry and hand-winch is still sitting in my shed. If you want it as a gift, just let me know. But you would need to collect it from the Sunshine Coast Qld.

AnswerID: 451416

Reply By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 16:13

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 16:13
The rig I am just in the process of selling.... (a 2000 GU Patrol cut-down to dual cab and with 6.5 V8 Chev diesel) has a spare tyre provision above the roof; cantilevered off the canopy.

It is about 2 meters above ground level and at 56, even though I'm 6'1", there was no way I could lift a 45kg tyre/wheel above my head these days.

I made up a jib using galv water pipe bent to a 90 degree angle. At the apex there is an electric 2000lb winch attached with the wire cable leading to a pulley at the horizontal end. This jib locates into a stubby piece of water pipe, the next larger size in diameter, which is firmly attached to the top of the steel canopy.

When not in use, the jib lays across the back/outside of the canopy. I use a 50amp Anderson plug arrangement to provide power to the winch, from 3rd battery, inside the camper.

This works well and I can lift the wheel from ground to maximum height, pivot the jib so that the tyre is above the mounting position, then drop the tyre/wheel into position and fasten in place with a large wing nut arrangement.

I carry a 3-step ladder under the canopy in order to be able to get the height I need for this sort of job.

AnswerID: 451420

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:01

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:01
Is this the same Roachie who often posted on this site about 5 years ago ?????

regards...........jeff
FollowupID: 724046

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:42

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:42
Hi Bill

"The rig I am just in the process of selling"

Is it really going to be sold this time?

Dick

FollowupID: 724051

Follow Up By: Roachie.kadina.sa.au - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 20:14

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 20:14
"Yes" to both Trouper and Dick....

I have been in a state of self-imposed exile from this site for about 12 months; but I do still check in to see what's going on every now and then.

As for the patrol, I am expecting the Qld-based buyer to arrive here this coming week to finalise the transaction....if he doesn't he will forfeit the not-insignificant deposit he has paid me already.

Meanwhile, I have traded in my other vehicle (a Hilux) on a GXL Landcruiser 100 series turbo diesel; this vehicle will be a good compromise....capable of being a daily driver as well as towing the camper trailer with ease on those rare occasions when we do actually get away.

The funny thing is that we used to get away MORE when I was working full time for NAB. Now that I am retired from the bank, I have 3 part-time/casual jobs and I'm finding it difficult to get away....plus the boys are now 15, 13 & 10 and object strongly to being dragged away on camping trips!!!!

FollowupID: 724068

Follow Up By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 21:39

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 21:39
Good to hear all is well with you and the tribe.

FollowupID: 724085

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 08:41

Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 08:41
Hi Roachie,

Hows the new cruiser going. Come in from the dark side mate have you. LOL.

Cheers, Bruce
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 724114

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:01

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 18:01
Desert Tripper!! Are you towing!! Michael

AnswerID: 451429

Follow Up By: Desert Tripper- Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 08:38

Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 08:38
Michael,

Yes I am towing a Kimberly Karavan, but if you are thinking that I could put it on that somehwhere, there isn't anywhere to put it. After thinking about it a bit more, I am inclined to go for a Kaymar rear wheel carrier
FollowupID: 724113

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 10:32

Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 10:32
Totally agree.

I even have trouble getting it on the Kaymar carrier. No way could I get it up on top.

FollowupID: 724133

Reply By: Farmboywa - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 21:46

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 21:46
G'day Desert Tripper, if you have a winch on the front of your vehicle, is it possible to run the cable over the bar work and bonnet and roof rack to the rear of the vehicle. Half sections of thick pvc tube could be used as temporary protection where the wire rope rubs on the bar work. Never tried it, just an idea that just might work.
AnswerID: 451461

Reply By: Member - Michael C (WA) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 21:50

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 21:50
Hi Desert Tripper,
A few years ago I made a simple winch for a mate to lift his spare wheel to his roof rack. I did a post on another forum, but here is a link to a video clip showing it in action.I hope that it can be of some help to you. Four wheel spares are definately not light or easy to handle above head height.
Safe Travels,

MichaelSite Link
AnswerID: 451463

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 23:04

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 23:04
Ahh yes Michael, I remembered seeing this video and wanted to recommend it but could not locate it. I'll bookmark it now. Good design.

FollowupID: 724100

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 09:07

Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 09:07
Nice piece of work Michael.
FollowupID: 724118

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 09:45

Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 09:45
Great stuff Michael!!!! How much?
FollowupID: 724124

Reply By: Member - Harv & Anne E (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 23:10

Saturday, Apr 16, 2011 at 23:10
I do something similar but divide the effort by two. The rope goes through the centre of the wheel. My wife pulls on the rope ex the single pulley - I roll the tyre up the back doors of the landcruiser and over the roof rack bar. If you think about 45 kg divided by the two of us that not much more than the 20kg bags of chook food we chuck around at home.

harv
AnswerID: 451476

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 07:56

Sunday, Apr 17, 2011 at 07:56
Buy a set of tyre pliers. Then you can throw the ligher weight carcasses up there, and carry more for the same weight.
Using a decent set of tyre pliers really isn't that difficult.
Assuming this is a second spare tyre, there isn't really too many places I'd bother carrying two spare wheels as well anyway.
AnswerID: 451495