UV4x4 Poor service

Submitted: Monday, May 30, 2011 at 19:43
ThreadID: 86649 Views:8404 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Just letting everyone know about the worst service I have ever experienced. It all started when I went to UV 4x4(Brendale in Brisbane) to get a bullbar 2"lift and long range fuel tank for my r51 Pathy. All was good except the tank was expected to take a couple of weeks....no probs. After a couple of weeks I rang to check eta. I was given a date some weeks away. On the supposed arrival date I rang again and was given the old "I'll look into it and ring you back". No return call. So I emailed LRA the supplier who informed me there had been no order placed. UV 4x4 finally rang back and blamed the supplier instead of owning up to their mistake. Still I was willing to give them an opportunity to retain a customer by giving me a pair of spotlights and or airbags. They decided to pass on that opportunity by saying "we don't do discounts". I said I'll come in to get my deposit back. They said they'll send a cheque to which I replied "no I'll come in and get the money. They said that would be a problem as they can only authorise $500 refund. Not good enough, they are happy to take any amount. They have had $1200 of mine for the past 6 to 8 weeks but don't seem to care about customers!

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Monday, May 30, 2011 at 20:03

Monday, May 30, 2011 at 20:03
Maybe you should direct your feelings regarding the service you received to
ARB. UV4X4 is after all a stockist for ARB. Phone the Brisbane office and voice
your concerns. Whilst the fuel tank is not one of their products the tank would have been ordered through ARB.
AnswerID: 455919

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 10:00

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 10:00
I'd be more inclined to go and park my mobile billboard (the R51 Pathy) down in the carpark of UV4X4 with signs all over the inside of the windows until someone at UV4X4 got some sense into them and give the customer "his" money back. Quick enough to take his money not smart enough to give it back when "they" didn't deliver in what seems a reasonable amount of time to me.

Thanks for the heads up Chinny. Definitely won't open the wallet up their way.

regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 728926

Reply By: nickoff - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 16:34

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 16:34
Chinny,

How did you pay this deposit, Cash or Credit card?

If credit card, contact you bank and ask for a reversal of the charge, giving the reason "failure to deliver goods as ordered" and see where that gets you...

Cheers, Nickoff.
AnswerID: 456004

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 17:02

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 17:02
sorry mate but thats fair enough sucks a bit but considering you can struggle to get that amount in cash from a bank i would have thought cheque or direct debit to you would be sufficient

it only takes a couple of minute to deposit a cheque into your account at your ATM - no need to go into the bank

i guess if you paid in cash you could expect cash back but if you didnt i fail to see exactly what your issue is

its not like they said they wont refund you the money
AnswerID: 456007

Reply By: gelatr- Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 17:37

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 17:37
Hi Chinny.

I can see that you are rightly upset with UV4x4. However, have you spoken with the manager - the guy that owns the show? I have bought a fair bit from them over the years and have always found their service to be satisfactory to good. When I have had an issue I've always spoken with the boss and the issues have been sorted out to my satisfaction. When I recently upgraded the suspension on my ute I had a bit of a disagreement concerning the installation date. What concerned me was the couldn't care less attitude of the Enoggera Branch manager. In the end we found a mutually agreeable date and the deal went ahead. I believe that the boss/owner of UV4x4 wouldn't be happy with what's going on and think its a reflection of the staff - something the owner would be keen to hear about.

AnswerID: 456014

Follow Up By: Chinny - Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 19:19

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 19:19
Yeh gelatr thats the problem. I did speak to John Norris (general manager or somethig to that effect). His attitude was the same as that of the store manager and staff at Brendale. He was not at all interested in selling me a tank, just how he could get me out of his life. He told me that when I asked for some spotties due to the muck-up I was holding him to ransom. That comment was rediculous and somewhat offensive. I did get my deposit back today and am happy to move on.
FollowupID: 728998

Reply By: TheMightyMoose - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 13:11

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 13:11
Get real mate. You expected them to give you something worth hundreds of $ because they were slack. A bit over the top me thinks.
AnswerID: 456060

Follow Up By: Chinny - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 17:17

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 17:17
Even before getting the run around I usually expect some sort of discount ( as I'm sure most people at least ask for these days). I don't think my expectations are over the top as the discount I often ask for is in the vicinity of 5 to 10%. If that's out of hand then I stand corrected. But I think that most businesses are in trouble if they can't absorb some sort of discount. Even after the muck up What I asked for still only amounted to about 10%. A small price to pay in order to keep an existing customer happy and have positive advertising within the community. To me it seems simple and makes good business sence. It could only get costly if they continue to stuff people around.
FollowupID: 729047

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 17:23
How much do you think these places make on Accessories??
I reckon they would be flat out making 10% per sale especially after they pay for the cost of rent, Labour, insurance and countless overheads.

FollowupID: 729048

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 17:30

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 17:30
Why do you think you are entitled to a discount just for the asking?
You ask a supplier for a quote, he provides the price, you either accept it or you say no thanks' and go elsewhere.

Do you expect your employer to ask you for a discount on your wage expectation?

You might ethically ask a supplier for a discount if you are offering him a benefit such as 'cash' or 'pick-up' where delivery had been included in the sale. Go shop in Asia if you want to haggle.

FollowupID: 729049

Follow Up By: Chinny - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 21:20

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 21:20
Are you saying you have never asked a retailer for a discount?
FollowupID: 729092

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 21:53

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 21:53
Yes Chinny, that's right. A few times I have asked if there was a discount if I paid cash, folding money cash. The concept may be difficult for you to comprehend but quite a few of us do not believe in screwing a fellow down.

FollowupID: 729095

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 22:24

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 22:24
this situation aside especially if there is more than one supplier for stuff I will usually ask for their "best price" and definitly if getting a bit of stuff

honestly Al are you telling me you walk into harvy norman and pay the ticket price on a TV or go into a caryard and pay the price painted on the windscreen?

FollowupID: 729099

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 22:53
Yes, pretty much so. Harvey Norman and the like put on price tickets that reflect "terms" prices so I simply ask for a "cash" price which varies but is usually about 5% lower. So long since I bought a car in a car yard that I can't remember how it went.

FollowupID: 729101