12v Air Compressors

Submitted: Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 10:23
ThreadID: 86789 Views:17178 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
I'm trying to find a good quality compressor that I can use on both my 120 series Prado T/D and on my wife's Hyundai Excel. We went to the Maitland Cravan and 4WD show and saw the Bushranger and ARB models on display. I liked the look of the Bushranger Max Air 2 which looked more rugged than the ARB model, though the ARB model has great reviews. I'm looking at spending around $300-$400 on one. I want it to be as reliable as heck, pump up my 265 R17 BFG's quickly, also to use on low air items, such as inflatable items (air bed, 1 person boat) have a thermal cutout switch, good duty cycle, etc. A fair ask! Anyone help with this? Thanks.

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 11:01

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 11:01
Hi There,

When my compressor dies or when I have the need for a second one I will be getting a Siderwinder MK4 have a look here MK4

You will see that overlander has done a comparison on compressors and there is a link on that page and the MK4 stands out very nicely for the price.

AnswerID: 456558

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 12:58

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 12:58
I second the vote for Sidewinder. I've had one for about 2 years with no problems.

FollowupID: 729613

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 21:59

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 21:59
Thank You for the feedback on our compressors.

Note that the new clip on adapters are now available too as we have had requests for them.

Derek from ABR
FollowupID: 729726

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 12:16

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 12:16
Derek, what's the spec for the MK5? Available when?
FollowupID: 729769

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 12:39

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 12:39
Hi MrB

Same basic specs, only change is the cable.

We have increased the copper core to close to 6.5mm2 to lower the heat generated in the cable which in turn puts heat into the thermal breaker. This will increase the run time on hot days allowing users to inflate around 8 tyres in one hit.

They should be here at the end of July 2011.

The picture below is the Mk3 vs Mk5 cables.

Derek
FollowupID: 729773

Reply By: deserter - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 11:09

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 11:09
I am very happy with the Bushranger. Been going ok for a few years.
AnswerID: 456561

Reply By: member - mazcan - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 11:43

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 11:43
hi l vran
hi the lastest 4x4australia mag has a review of several compressors with a graph to give the nitty gritty's and you will see there isnt much difference between a lot of them and some of the cheaper ones do the same as the ones costing hundreds i think you pay for the name not the function
the magazine is really worth a look before you shell out yr $$$$
cheers barry
AnswerID: 456567

Follow Up By: rainbowprof - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 13:00

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 13:00
mazcan, what were the names of some of the cheaper ones that do virtually the same job? I'd like to do an ebay search.

Frankly, I've had a dirt cheap mini compressor for years that has quite adequately pumped up umpteen tyres and not burnt out even though I connected an extra 3 or 4 metres of cable to it so it could reach the tyres on the van or trailer from the cigarette lighter. It does take a while to pump up the tyres though- you know, time for a cuppa....I also carry an inexpensive double barrel foot pump as a back up- again a very functional and under-rated device.

Thx
Brett
FollowupID: 729614

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 22:17

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 22:17
hi brett
i gave my 4x4 mag to my mate who lives out of town and not sure
when i will get it back you could have a bowpeep in the local library/news agents copy
lol cheers
FollowupID: 729734

Follow Up By: rainbowprof - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 15:17

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 15:17
Ah, I followed the link for the mk4 that has the article scanned in it. Looks like good value I'd have to say. Reliable- and moderate price.
FollowupID: 729785

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 20:42

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 20:42
That's an older, but far more comprehensive (and daresay, reliable) test Rainbow.

The latest mag 'test' (which was simply one inflation 0-35 PSI and four inflations from 20-35PSI) rated 14 pumps. The ABR Sidewinder wasn't among them, nor was there one which looked like Derek's twin model.

Fwiw (not a whole lot from what I read): of the 'cheapies', the Piranha Max Volume $185 came in 10th, 1 yr warranty. The almost identical TJM Compressor $220, 5 yr warranty, rated 12th.
FollowupID: 729830

Follow Up By: rainbowprof - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 22:03

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 22:03
Thanks Bazooka.

From the article that you said was the old list

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x104/sidewinderdotcomdotau/Image0003a.jpg?t=1229602458

, there was one very similar to the Mk4 sidewinder called Projecta Typhoon. The sidewinder has gone up in price but that projecta model is $169 including postage on ebay- it's cheaper than before- and 2 year warranty.

Brett
FollowupID: 729847

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 13:49

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 13:49
I've had a bushranger airmax for 5 years and it's performed exceptionally well. The most used accessory I own. In the new rig I'm running twin compressors that are a generic brand and identical to those sold by R&R beadbreaker. I've had to replace a $9 - 40A relay in one but they've performed exceptionally well at about the third of the cost of Bushranger.

I wouldn't leave home without the bushranger though. A very good unit.

AnswerID: 456589

Reply By: Patrol22 - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 16:03

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 16:03
My ARB compressor is now 10 years old and still going strong. I used is as a portable when I had the GU patrol but I now have it installed under the passenger seat on my D40 and it operates my air locker and use it to pump the tyres on the ute and the camper (all BFG T/A 265 70 R16 All Terrains).
AnswerID: 456604

Reply By: ted - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 16:19

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 16:19
The Tigerz11 thumper is a rugged unit,runs about 150l/min will pump up a 33" tyre in about 1.5mins, I had an ARB but took too long to pump up tyres, runs lockers OK though.
AnswerID: 456607

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 19:11

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 19:11
I have a boss air compressor. 100% duty cycle and smashes the air into you tyre. I have even reseated beads with this air compressor. They do recommend you run it through an air tank so the ebay price includes tank and one way valves etc.

Boss air compressor and tank

AnswerID: 456625

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 22:28

Monday, Jun 06, 2011 at 22:28
myself and 3 other mates have Bushranger Maxair II compressors and all have performed flawlessly, i now use an ARB one though because i got one with my front and back lockers.
on more then one occasion my Maxair II compressor pumped up the tyres of 2 4wd's (that's 8 X 285 size tyres from beach pressure back to road pressures) and 2 caravans, one after the other without ever cutting out due to over heating or any other reason. i paid $175 for mine about 4 years ago at a 4wd show, an absolute bargain i reckon.
AnswerID: 456651

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 00:55

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 00:55
I've bought three of the 150L/min compressors from Princess Trade.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-12V-150L-PORTABLE-HEAVY-DUTY-CAR-AIR-COMPRESSOR-/400220714971?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5d2f0377db#ht_3247wt_1141

I paid about $55 for each of them.

They are reasonably priced, seem very sturdy, and have not had any problems.

On one of them I beefed up the wiring for remote use.

I am guessing all compressors (ARB, bushranger, Princess Trade etc) all come from the same factory in China.

AnswerID: 456658

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 07:56

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 07:56
Hi Bob

"I am guessing all compressors (ARB, bushranger, Princess Trade etc) all come from the same factory in China."

Actually no, there are hundreds of compressor factories in China. 90% of them are bad. The problem too is they don't make all the components for the compressors in house, this is what makes quality control so hard. This is why we inspect the factories and components used with each order. I have just returned from 3 weeks in China inspecting the MK5 compressor and personally tested every single unit in the factory.

Derek

FollowupID: 729746

Reply By: Lozza - NSW - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 12:08

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 12:08
It seems from what I'm seeing that I'm liking the Bushranger Maxair, Auto and Supermax or the ARB CKMP 12 or the CKMTP 12 compressors. May be overpriced, but I'm taking into consideration that you get what you pay for, and I want a unit that'll last and perform flawlessly. Portability, maximum air flow, the ability to reseat the tyre bead, thermal cut out, pressure switch. I know it's asking a lot, but my thinking is that these units will fit the bill, considering these replies I'm getting. I can't afford air lockers for my 2003 Prado GX 120 series as yet, but I want this compressor to have the ability to operate them if I eventually get them. Keep the replies coming, as I need the advice!!
AnswerID: 456681