12 volt impact wrench

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 11:09
ThreadID: 8696 Views:2088 Replies:14 FollowUps:31

I would like to know what my fellow forumites thought of the above.

is it a) waste of money, b) handy but not essential, c) wouldn't travel far without one or d) be rapt if the Mrs bought me one for Christmas...lol...

Slainte Mhath

Lyn [Mrs. Al]'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:26

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:26
gday al and mrs al.
personaly speaking i think its a waste of money.
how often do you really change your wheels.
but i think its a personal choice.
but if youo were going to buy me one for christmas i wouldnt say no
back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 38170

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:32

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:32
thanks Jim.....'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27695

Reply By: sensei - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:41

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:41
Me I love it, used it to rotate tyres the other day and it was also used to change Cv boots out on a surf. The wrench was used to undo the drive shaft bolts as a spanner wouldnt fit and a rachet was a pain with not a lot of room to swing.

My thoughts.

Gary
AnswerID: 38171

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:59

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 12:59
Thanks Gary..appreciate your thoughts....'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27697

Reply By: William - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:09

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:09
a) Yes a waste of money
b) Yes handy but can think of more important things to take for the weight and space
c) Never had one to travel with and never really felt I could have used one
In many cases you cannot get them in to where you need them
d) No I would not be rapt as there are other things that would be far more worthwhile for the money and more useful

Considering I got the wheels on my ute rotated at KMart auto the other day for $22 I would be crazy to do it myself
AnswerID: 38174

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:11

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:11
Thanks William.....'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27698

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:37

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:37
Dealer had wheels changed by a professional idiot who tightened me nuts 1000 footpounds I reckon, wasn't until I wanted to check the breakpads that I found I carried no tools capable of undoing them. stuffed me wheel brace and got apolexic fit/hernia and heart attack with prolonged spells of &%%^%$%$#^&^&%&%$ .

My usual tyre place got bruce the bruiser and his 45cm socket bar with a socket whose faces matched the nuts. It worked but he had to give it a good grunt I tell you. Well I bought the same setup for emergencies instead of the usual factory supplied tools.

I also now apply permatex anti sieze to the nuts as well as buying the 12volt breaker.

It works well on motor bike front sprokets nuts which we normally grind off with an angle grinder.

"We" also use antisieze on spark plugs and other heat/tension affected nuts and bolts.

My two bobs worth.

RTA

Russell
AnswerID: 38178

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:55

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 13:55
Thanks Russell....

appreciate your two bobs worth....'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27701

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 13:03

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 13:03
yep, key part of trip prep is to make sure you can undo all your wheelnuts...bit late when you're in the middle of the Simpson...
FollowupID: 27866

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 14:26

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 14:26
If you have onboard air with a 10-20 litre tank you might as well buy the real thing, along with all the other goodies available for compressed air.

From what I saw at the 4WD show they were only capable of 300 Nm of torque and took 3-5 seconds for the electric motor to spool up before each "hit". Slowwww.....

Looked at it and walked away.
AnswerID: 38179

Follow Up By: Russell [Pajero] - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 14:34

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 14:34
Ahhhhh but they are cheeeep

FollowupID: 27702

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 14:59

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 14:59
100 kg (= 980 N) x 300 mm (=0.3 m) = 300 Nm. You could take a decent bar an stand on it to give you the same sort of torque with better control.

Wheel nuts should only be torqued up to about 80 Nm for alloy and 100 Nm for steel rims (that's why your wheel brace is so short!), anything more and you will break the rim (alloy) or start stretching the threads on the studs (will eventually break). Never let a tyre shop do them up using a rattler, get out your wheel brace and do them up by hand. That way you know you can get them loose....Try doing it in greasy mud or sand on a hill with no traction under the vehicle one day!! ...once bitten.....
FollowupID: 27703

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 15:23

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 15:23
I know I'm getting old but it has taken me some time to get used to and calculate liters per 100 kilometers instead of miles per gallon. Just as long to understand kilowatts instead of Horsepower, but your explanation of NMs (newtone thingies) is the nicests I've seen thanks.

My 12v Rattle gun is rated at 250ftpounds !!

RTA

Russell (feeling old)
AnswerID: 38183

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 15:49

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 15:49
No probs. I was brought up in the days of the Metric change-over and are quite used to talking in any (and every) form of measurement known!!

BTW I'm 5'10" and 90 kg......
FollowupID: 27705

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 17:42

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 17:42
wow thats 1500Nm thats some figure you got there GaryInOzLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 27709

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 00:18

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 00:18
that explains the grey hairs hey gaz?
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
FollowupID: 27745

Reply By: Member The J - Man - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 18:07

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 18:07
G'day Al & Mrs Al,

I've got to say that if it's cheap and its going to make your life easier then go for it.
I too, have had probs with tyre places doing the nuts up so that only "Samson" could undo them........let alone "Delilah". We all work hard for our money so that we can afford the little luxories later on. Go for it, I'd be rapt if my Mrs bought me one!"Slow and steady wins the race."

J - Man.
AnswerID: 38199

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 18:17

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 18:17
cheers J-Man..Al's might be as big as Samson, but I think he wouldn't mind something that makes his life easier, should he need to use one...I'll weigh up the options...and make a decision...

Lyn'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27715

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:17

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:17
Hi Mrs Al,

Isn't that what Callum is there for? If Mr Al, can't undo a wheel nut, Callum certainly do itJust Do It!

FollowupID: 27787

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:22

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:22
More than just a wheel nut'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27789

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 20:10

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 20:10
More presents for Mr Al.......geeeez, you do spoil him !!!!! Soon he will have all the gizmos and gadjets money can buy.

Meself?....Handy tool but the old wheel brace will still do me.....tho when undoing other nuts on the chassis it would be handy.

Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 38210

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 20:35

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 20:35
I get spoiled too :))))

thanks Willie'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27725

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 22:54

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 22:54
Hi Mum, personally, I wouldn't get one because it just wouln't be the same when working on the van. No skin off the knuckles of salty language when the spanner slips. It's just not on and not fair. You won't need it for the cruiser because nothing ever goes wrong with them. Whenever I have tyres fitted, I undo the nuts when I get home and tighten them up with the wheel brace. 2 reasons for this. 1 If I get a flat and have to change a tyre, I know I can undo the nuts. 2 If they are over tightened in the shop, there is a chance that the extra pressure could cause the studs to break and that's another problem.ne cede malis
AnswerID: 38228

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 07:33

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 07:33
hi Darl,

well as a mother I can do without the salty language...minors around..lol..I'll just have weigh up the pros and cons...

Mum'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27749

Reply By: big john - Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 23:41

Sunday, Nov 23, 2003 at 23:41
i bought one recently after returning from a trip to the kimberley

i would have loved to have it up there as our group did 12 tyres between us .

i used it the other day as the fourby rims were full of mud and vibrating- took about two minutes to pull off clean out the mud and put back on .

my ten year old son helped and did it with ease. ive shown my wife how to do it and have a lot more confidence that she could change a wheel without much effort.

ive certainly wasted 50 dollars on alot worse things .

i reckon with the right attachment would be good for caravan /camper trailerlegs

anyway my five cents

big john
AnswerID: 38232

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 07:34

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 07:34
hi big john,

thanks for that...appreciate your 5 cents...sounds like it's not a bad idea, just got to figure out whether the Al would like one.

Lyn'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27750

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 07:54

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 07:54
hi lyn,
have been using one for a few months. i use it to change my on road to off road sets of tyres. works well, i dont carry it in vehicle.
regards peter petermoyle@mullum.com.au
AnswerID: 38238

Follow Up By: Matt M - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 08:05

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 08:05
Peter, I was looking at your rig and just wanted to ask a few questions! The ball joiont spacer...have you got any details, like make, effects, etc. Also the front locker, is it a Lock Rite or a Lokka?? Where did you source it from and what do you think of its performance, sand, mud, rock and on road 2wd with hubs locked?

FollowupID: 27754

Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 14:51

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 14:51
hi lyn, sorry for the message but just using your post to answer matt

hi matt,

locka, lock rite same product. 4wdsystems.com.au in adelaide supply them about $1000 fitted.interstate agents contact them. had mine 3 years, with hubs unlocked you wouldnt know it is fitted. hubs locked in 2wd clicking sound when cornering sounds serious but ok. in 4wd all conditions heavier steering but ok with power assist, superior traction no front wheel spin particularly in rutted tracks, lift a wheel and the other gives traction.

ball joint spacer only for isuzu vehicles and with non rack and pinion steering. spacerswhere i got mine. once you move the ball joint adding the spacer, crank the torsion bars to straighten the wheels while also lifting it and 1.5 - 2 inch lift in the front. then wheel align and away you go

regards peter
FollowupID: 27785

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:21

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:21
Thats ok Peter...thanks for your imput by the way...'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27788

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 09:47

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 09:47
For an investment that will last a lifetime , get a set of good deep reach 1/2 inch drive impact sockets ( single hex ) and get a 400 mm or 500 mm long breaker bar with the swivelling head. This will allow you to safely undo any tight wheel nuts as well as being usefull elsewhere on the rig. ( also good for old cars but may need witworth or other strange sizes !! ) Always use nickel based anti sieze on wheel studs and don't let them get torqued up with the rattler. Come to think of it you should have this gear already Al.. especially with that old tractor :-)Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
AnswerID: 38243

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 09:58

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 09:58
hi Brad

Al probably has got all that gear, I just thought the 12v one could be handy to throw in the back of the car for when we're out and about...I didn't realise you got to go into the shed...apparently you can see the floor now!....ahahhaa....

Lyn'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27765

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:23

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:23
Didn't make it into the shed last time but have heard all about it and it's mysterious contents. The view of the floor will only last about 1 month (trust me i know from experience !! ) Shop around for those jiggers if you get one as everyone has them now and the price varies greatly.

Nien spreken ze deutch.Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 27790

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:40

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 15:40
do you spreken ze gaelic?

you'll have to come up and have a look in the shed? Now that the floor is visible..I'll take a pic..and you can get an idea of what it's like when cleaned...lol...building permit approved today for next shed!!!!!!! lol!!!

I'll certainly shop around...

Slainte

Lyn'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27791

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 16:58

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 16:58
Na, i should, half of my background is scottish and cornish and the other half is german, but all i speak is ozzie okker.LOL. Mothers maiden name is Kelynack - family originated in the town of Kelynack in Cornwall . Hope to go and trace it all one day. My shed is a little 25 x 50 footer but you guys will beat that easily !! How good is that going to be - a HIS and HERS shed. (yeah right). How long did Macedon Ranges shire take with the permit - 6 months at least ? I like dealing with them (not) Cheers. Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 27800

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 17:15

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 17:15
Love the Cornish..very interesting people indeed....I hope to go back and trace mind..did nothing when I went there...just sightseeing..no research...2 sheds don't mean his and hers...just HIS....and it took about 3 months....must be wanting to clear their in trays before xmas...'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27801

Follow Up By: G.T. - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:54

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:54
Bradley -- What is the difference in the properties of nickel based anti- sieze ( never even seen it! ) and copper based anti-sieze especially when using on wheel studs/ nuts ? Just curious -- regards G.T.
FollowupID: 28668

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 09:57

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 09:57
Hi GT , the nickel based anti sieze products are more commonly available ( locktite etc.) and from memory they have less problems with differential metals etc. Nickel based are better with large coarse threads and heavy loads . Copper based is more commonly used on high temp fine threads. Locktite do a good nickel base anti sieze in a small tub with a brush in the lid which is fairly cheap. The main reason for using an anti sieze on wheel studs is to stop the corrosion locking the threads and more importantly to stop any metal 'picking up ' on the threads especially when using mechanical drives to remove the nuts.

Cheers BradMoo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)
FollowupID: 82639

Reply By: Wombat (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:31

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:31
Hello, hello,

We got one when we kitted the car up, and surprise, surprise they do actually work. "H' keeps it in George so that if she does get a flat she can change it without grazed knuckles or twisted ankles. We've been caught twice previously with overtightened wheel nuts (once on Max where the RACV man nearly broke his wheel brace and once on Sigmund where I snapped a stud) so whenever we get new tyres or rotations I loosen and retighten them when I get home.

They are a bit gimmicky but, even around home they make life a little bit easier.

I'd go for b) handy but not essential and d) be rapt if the Mrs bought me one for Christmas."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
AnswerID: 38252

Follow Up By: Wombat (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:32

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:32
Is there a prize for the correct answer?"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 27772

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:37

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:37
Thanks Wombie..I reckon I might get him one....

and re the prize...what were you thinking of?

a new Tutu?,

dinner at the Al's..?'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27774

Follow Up By: Wombat (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:51

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:51
Hydraulics for the camper, maybe?"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 27775

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:55

Monday, Nov 24, 2003 at 12:55
you mean you'd pass up dinner?

Al's on the trail of the hydraulics I believe....
'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27776

Reply By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 01:51

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 01:51
Fascinating reading - the advertiser who sold these just expired today! I wonder if they realised how much interest (for/against) has been discussed regarding this product.ExplorOz
AnswerID: 38323

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 07:11

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 07:11
That would be right...lol!'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27841