Auto transmission 2004 Toyota Sahara Landcruiser 100 series

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 10:06
ThreadID: 87277 Views:19715 Replies:6 FollowUps:19
Hi ..we have updated from the 80 series & are about to do a trip away & he is doing a change of oil etc etc. Does anyone know how to check the level of the transmission oil as there doesn't seem to be a dipstick ..there is a level plug but u cant see the oil.

Reply By: Sacred Cow - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 10:31

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 10:31
Is it the A750F box? If so look at LCOOL Landcruiser forum.
AnswerID: 458749

Follow Up By: Member - gertie - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 10:36

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 10:36
thanku ..have just thought to post there too
FollowupID: 732265

Reply By: snoopyone - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 12:01

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 12:01
The transmission is supposedly "Sealed For Life" .

If it has done less than 150,000k or so dont worry about it..

To fill it correctly it should be taken to a Toyota dealer as only they have the correct oil for it

That oil is WS grade Or World Specifications I think they call it.

I had mine done to my sorrow at a so called transmission experts in Adelaide and he put Castrol Transmax in it.

Castrol specify it for that box DONT GET IT PUT IN.

I had to get it drained and flushed later and it cost me $500 to do it.

When Toyota do the oil change it is run till it reaches a certain temperature and taken for a run then hooked up to a laptop and all paremeters checked.

If you really feel the need to play there is a plug on the side that you could put a feeler in and it should be just below the lip of it.

Do NOT put any top up oil other than the above.

Lastly on your trip TOW IN 4TH GEAR WITH IT
AnswerID: 458753

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 13:12

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 13:12
Snoopy is correct-Toyota do not recommend changing unless its been overheated or it has a leak.
Having said that I took mine in at 220K for a birthday and asked them to change it for me. They did it reluctantly and I dispatched an oil sample of it for testing. Looked perfect and the result came back 100%.
Mechanic came out from back and asked why I wanted it replaced.

ABSOLUTELY must be WS oil from Toyota.
AnswerID: 458759

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 17:31

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 17:31
G'Day Gertie,

Sealed for life means a reduced life!

My auto Falcon wagon has no dipstick on the transmission & also states in the manual that you never need to change the transmission oil. I change mine every 100,000 km & now at 290,000 km the transmission still works as well as the day I bought it. I bet it would have failed before now if I had not!

Totally agree that it's critical you use the correct oil if you change it though.

Same comment in the manual too when it comes to the differential but I also do that one at 100,000 intervals as well. Cheap insurance I reckon.

Stu
AnswerID: 458776

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 17:40

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 17:40
Sorry got side tracked & forgot to answer your original question.

You can remove the filler plug & use your finger to check that the oil is near the level of the thread in the filler hole.
FollowupID: 732296

Reply By: Adam J - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:47

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:47
If this helps, I found this site when looking for some oil.. Very handy for all types of machinery
http://www.datateck.com.au/lube/fuchs_au/default.asp
TOYOTA
Land Cruiser HDJ100R, T/Dies, Man./ 5 Spd. Auto, 4x4 (2002-2007)

Crankcase
TITAN CARGO 15W-40
Part No : 4118
or TITAN ULTRALUBE 15W40
Part No : 2436
Service Refill Capacity: 11.5* Litres (see note 651)
Manual Transmission
TITAN GEAR 75W90
Part No : 2412
Service Refill Capacity: 2.7 Litres
Automatic Transmission
TITAN ATF 4400
Part No : 3970
Service Refill Capacity: 3.0 Litres (see note 259)
Differential
TITAN SUPERGEAR LS 80W90
Part No : 2137
Service Refill Capacity: 3.3 Litres (see note 15)
Power Steering
TITAN ATF D3
4WD Transfer
TITAN GEAR 75W90
Part No : 2412
Service Refill Capacity: 1.3 Litres (see note 150)
4WD Differential
TITAN SUPERGEAR LS 80W90
Part No : 2137
Service Refill Capacity: 1.6 Litres
NOTES
Includes Oil Filter
Rear differential.
Full-Time type. Part-Time type, 1.5 litres.
Models from August 2003 (refill plug marked 'WS'), use TITAN ATF 4400.
May also use TITAN UNIVERSAL HD 15W40, TITAN SUPER GTO 10W40 or TITAN CFX 15W40.
AnswerID: 458804

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 22:51

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 22:51
ABSOLUTELY DO NOT USE TITAN ATF in it.
The figures appear wrong also, I dont have it in front of me but I belive a service fill is about 6 litres and rebuild 9-10.

What is "see note 259"?
FollowupID: 732364

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 22:53
just seen it at the bottom thanks-still youd be a fool to put it in even if it was free. A service fill on mine cost $170, what may you save??
FollowupID: 732365

Follow Up By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:08

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:08
Out of curiosity Fish what should you use in an AUTO? Isn't ATF : Automatic Transmission Fluid? And I am guessing the 4400 refers to the grade / oil type?
FollowupID: 732377

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:47

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:47
Read my reply about putting wrong oil in.

It was changing roughly and banging in and out after putting Transmax in it.

Took it to Toyota who flushed it with 12 litres of WS oil and its been good since then.
Toyota said NEVER put anything else in it.

You will say of course they would

Well after my experience I believe them.

Just because a brand of oil has one specified for a transmission doesnt mean it will be perfect for it.

Incidentally the WS oil is about $25 a litre.

My flush and refill cost me $500 but I got my money back from the "Expert" in Adelaide.

A filter and refill is supposedly 3.5L according to the manual but the "Expert" stuffed 5 L into it by pressure pumping it in..
Dont know where it went but made a bloody mess.
FollowupID: 732379

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:53

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:53
From the Lcool site

Ensure that if the fill plug is marked WS (World Standard) you only add WS Toyota fluid and not Type IV that was used in earlier transmissions. WS is a unique 'reduced viscosity' synthetic oil for these transmissions.

You also do NOT check the level from the FILLER plug

You remove the overflow plug in the bottom of the pan and check that the level is up to the top of that ( or just below).

Probably the "Expert" put the filler in the side one of mine and filled it to the top Am probably lucky the whole thing didnt blow up
FollowupID: 732381

Follow Up By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 08:07

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 08:07
Yes I agree "Oils anit Oils".. Did you Toyota oils are made by Castrol???
FollowupID: 732386

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 08:42

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 08:42
All oils are probably made for car makers by someone else as are lots of the car parts.

HOWEVER its the SPECS they are made to that make the difference.

We had a fleet of Mercedes buses all supposedly identical BUT some took one type of oil and coolant and others took different stuff.

Why Cos Mecedes said so.

Guess Toyota are the same
FollowupID: 732388

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 09:22

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 09:22
I believe Graham H had a similar experience to Snoopyone.

Adam J-I dont say it out iof loyalty to Toyota, its just a fact. I swap engine oils around as to whats on special and do oil sampling every so often and at 230K the oil is still honey coloured after 6ooo ks.

Whats the advantage of using the Titan product? Its probably the same price anyway?
FollowupID: 732394

Follow Up By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 10:34

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 10:34
Hi Fish / Snoop,
Firstly I would stick to the one oil. As different manufactures have different additive packages (even though they meet the same spec) this causes chemical leaching as they strip away the former oils "protective" coatings
Secondly I would steer clear of the cheaper oils, as they are cheaper for a reason. (poorer grade base oils, cheaper additive pack) They may meet the spec but only just. I like to look at it this way. "Good, better and Best"
When it comes to OEM'. It is sometimes more beneficial to look at the oil companies from that region. A good example is Fuchs Lubricants. A German oil company, which the majority of there oils are designed for OEM's such as Mercedes. VW, Porches, MAN, and many other European OEM's. The same as Pennzoil has many approvals for American made vehicles.
I have been a Diesel fitter for the past 17yrs, and for the last 5yrs I have been in asset management. The information I have learnt about quality of oils & grease v's component life has been very surprising and beneficial. Its amazing how true that old add was.. "Oils aint Oils"
FollowupID: 732405

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 13:46

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 13:46
I ran Penrite HPR15 diesel in it for nearly 100,000k and never had to top it up.

Hope that meets your approval LOL
FollowupID: 732418

Follow Up By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 14:02

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 14:02
Ha.. Good oil.. And very funny..
FollowupID: 732421

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 17:34

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 17:34
you have a point adam however if the "protective coatings" (often AKA marketing) are in one reputable oil and not in the other, yet "required" wouldnt you expect to see multiple failures in that particular asset when using the oil lacking that particular additive?

Or one oil which over time provides significant and noticably better lifespans of engines?
This would be noticable especially in a situation of a large fleet of vehicles, machinery or vessels?
Personally as a marine engineer, I havent seen this from any of the major brands used in the past through our fleet of MTU, cats, wartsilas and cummins.

In some cases such as the old 2.8l hilux I believe your far better off using cheaper oil and change more frequently than trying to use synthetics etc and get a longer interval. Of course this isnt turbo'ed and hence oil is under lesser heat stress.

I would also expect that if the "protective coatings" are stripped away to any detriment, wouldnt they show up in an oil sample?

Without doubt Fuchs is a good brand though, and while I was fishing, cheaper than most. We used the same 15/40 in engines, gearb's, hydraulics and steering on suppliers recommendation. 100%.
FollowupID: 732448

Follow Up By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 18:02

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 18:02
Hey fish,
all additive packages cause types of chemical leaching, all packages differ. Some are allot better than others. As an engineer you would note chemical leaching everytime you change an oil cooler on a marine engine. (If you do condition monitoring. I am guessing you do) I have heaps of info if you want it.. Or would love to discuss. Very passionate re maintenance. Let me know how to contact you out of here and I am more than happy to chat.
FollowupID: 732453

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 18:35

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 18:35
to be honest adam, when stripping an engine etc I cant recall ever seeing any evidence of oil "protective coatings" especially not in a cooler covered with thick black crap-let alone it leaching away. What would I be looking for?
Im assuming you are talking about the oil and not deterioration on the cooler itself?
FollowupID: 732458

Follow Up By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 19:05

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 19:05
First of all sorry Gertie.. I seem to have driven your question way of course.
Fish, chemical leaching is very minimal, leads some people astray when relying on SOS results and not knowing how to read them. It is so microscopic that even if you cut a cooler core open, then cut the tubes in half you wouldnt see it with the naked eye.. Unlike the effects of glycol on white metals
all i was getting at is that oils are very different, even if they meet the same spec. For example CAT C32 and C27 Acert engines have the ability to have 500hrs oil drains in T series Dozers. When we trialed this, we used 3 different oils in the same Dozers over 4500hrs. The 3 oils had the same spec, the same approvals. But all had very different results. One couldn't even make 220hrs. Thats the point I was trying to make. Anyways my generic email address is adamljarvis@yahoo.com.au as I said, if you want to know anything that I may be able to assist with email me. and I am more than happy to discuss. It would take up way to much space on here. Enjoyed that chat though.
FollowupID: 732466

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 20:59

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 20:59
no worries adam-very interesting but 2 quick questions-if it couldnt be picked up on an oil sample, and is so microscopic, how did you know it couldnt make 220hrs, ?
second-where in an engine is glycol in contact with white metal?
FollowupID: 732477

Follow Up By: Adam J - Friday, Jul 01, 2011 at 07:54

Friday, Jul 01, 2011 at 07:54
Its so much easier to explain this verbally.. Chemical leaching will be flagged in an oil sample as either high copper (normally) and sometimes high iron. BUT you can tell that it is chemical leaching when the PQ index stays the same as previous "A samples eg: <50ppm.
Glycol gets in the engines through leaking liners whether it be from age, or an engine being stationary for long periords of time. With earth moving equipment this me be a little more common as the radiators are mounted higher and have bigger volumes of coolant as there is no sea water to cool them..
Re the 220hrs. The Oil was commended on SOS results (C Samlple). Elevated soot levels (Max) An increase in Viscoity, increase in lead & Iron, and the TBN was dropping past and exceptable limit. Basically the engine oil was buggered and couldnt go any further.
FollowupID: 732492

Reply By: Adam J - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:24

Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:24
Hi Gertie,
Try the Landcruisers Owners Club
http://www.lcool.org/technical/100_series/auto_fluid/auto.htm
AnswerID: 458838