Submitted: Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 11:42
Joshuah
H all,
I'm about to go. I have a Hilux with 3.0L diesel. I'll be towing a 1.1T wind-up camper. There's a river I need to cross 300km out. If I make it, great! Fuel 100km further on. If I baulk, it's 300km back
home.
I normally use about 10L/100KM, how much more will this weight add to the consumption. I will obviously be loaded up with the tow vehicle. I plan to carry 2x20L jerry cans and have about 60L to burn in the tank, max.
I need to plan for the possibility of a U turn. Is 95-100 liters okay, or should I take a third jerry? I really want to limit my weight, hence the question...
Thanks all.
Joshua.
Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:02
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:02
Joshuah,
As a general rule you will probably use about half as much again as you get on normal running.
So you can expect to use about 15L/100KM,
Could be a bit more, could be a bit less depending on the wind direction, the weight of your right boot and/or road conditions.
Disco.
Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:13
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:13
I would agree - I picked up a new second hand 700kg last week with my 2.7l TDV6. On the 920km down to pick it up I averaged just over 8l/100km cruising at the speed limit.
On the way back towing the van at about 10kph below the speed limit I averaged just under 13l/100km. I have a scangauge and some of the consumption going up
hill was horrific - up to 60 - 70 l/100km.
However slowing down to 80kph I was back to around 8l/100km so wind resistance does cut in with increased speed - but maybe not so much with a ute which will be pushing a bit of air by itself anyway.
So on the road plan on 50% extra but if offroad then plan on double.
Garry
Reply By: Member - A J- Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:12
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 12:12
Joshuah - I would take the extra jerry can and only fill at your last fuel stop prior to the
river crossing and put it into your vehicle as soon as possible. Better to be sure than sorry.
A J
Follow Up By: Member - Tony N (WA) - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 13:24
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 13:24
I'm with AJ, I always allow 16-18l/100kms when towing my van especially in areas you're not too sure about. Can always use it when at
home. Take the worry out & enjoy the drive.
Tony N
Reply By: Joshuah - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 13:48
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 13:48
Thanks for the input. I was working on about a 50% increase also, so 15l/100km. At that rate, I'd need 90L to get there and back and in reality, I would never run it dry, so my 'usable' is probably going to be a little less than max capacity. It's a little fine for my liking, so I'll take it and not refill it - perhaps 'stash it' somewhere for the return leg. I'll need to re-jig the set-up to accommodate it, but it's a small price to pay!
I'm a bit of granny on the road (which is dirt), and I'll be lucky to see 70km/h. Hopefully it'll be reflected in the consumption rate.
Joshua.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 14:49
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 14:49
I reckon 15L maximum, I tow a 1.5 tonne boat and it's low and on a tandem trailer etc etc, reckon 12l at the most if I am light on the pedal, to be safe if you need to fuel plan 15L would be safe imo.
Follow Up By: Joshuah - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 16:24
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 16:24
well, yes - 15l/min was a conservative figure. I'm aiming for less than 15, but until I do it, i won't know. The short trips I have done on rough tracks etc won't be a good indicator, so this is it.
Follow Up By: Member - John G- Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 18:29
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 18:29
G'day Joshua
We get between 15-16 litres/100km towing an 1100kg Jayco Outback. But bring in a headwind and it increases significantly.
Have you thought of installing a Longranger fuel tank or simialr. Our's bumps the 2000 Hilux capacity up to 115 litres. I reckon it's worth the expense if you are going to be doing a lot of travelling/towing.
Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 14:53
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 14:53
it will vary greatly depending on the model of hilux-a 5L will be flat to the floor to tow it at speed where a D4D will be more efficient under load?
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 10:33
Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 10:33
The D4D will drink more fuel when under load then a 5L but it also producers more power and the speed is higher.
We could get our Hilux D4D drinking up to 35lts. per 100 when loaded with the camper on in low range 4wd, on the road we would get around 15 with little head wind and up to 20 with a head wind.
We found be comparing other vehicles that electronic injected CRD vehicles can be better on fuel under the right conditions but when under load the would drink more.
Reply By: fordtough - Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:02
Monday, Jul 11, 2011 at 21:02
Josh, I get around 10 L/100 out of 3.0L TD Ford
Ranger in general running. When towing our TVan and with off-road tyres fitted and a spare on the roof, we average 13 L/100. To be comfortable I always work on 15 L/100 so I have a bit of a safety margin.
Reply By: Hellman and co. - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 16:20
Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 16:20
I have a 3.0L TD Hilux, pulling a Coromal PS421 about 1200kg.
Just returned from a trip to the cape and figures worked out to 13.3 L/100km's. Round trip was 6500km's, and about 1500-2000 kms of that dirt work.
Follow Up By: Joshuah - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 16:46
Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 16:46
Sounds good. I'm having a hell of a time trying to find a spot for the 3rd Jerry can. I have a 10L one I can fit in, so I may relinquish the 20L one in its stead. Otherwise its drilling holes...again.
I'll figure something out. I was hoping for about 13L but am happy to work on 15L/100KM consumption. When I get some hard data, I'll update my usage. In the meantime I am having a
snorkel fitted as I type, so hopefully this will all be a waste of everybody's time and I'll gingerly wade my way across the creek/river.
Joshua.