Out and About, Top End Style

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 00:00
ThreadID: 88441 Views:2718 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
The last couple of weeks have been really great, had enough EO Members call in we could have had a Members Gathering here at Mt Bundy.
Then weekend before last Noel K was down here again so we went to Fenton looking for a particular B-24 Crash site,also had a lady from WA camping here for 3 weeks so she came along too, we done a lot of walking but as usual no luck in finding the site.

Then last Friday week I got to drive the Ladies Motorhome to Darwin, when I got in the drivers seat I noticed it had 6 gears, I said yeh it's a 6 speed, she what do you mean, after I told her she said "damn I didn't know that, I drove it all the way from Perth in 5th" ....GASP
It's a Ford Transit with a KEA Body, very neat inside, and drives great with heaps of power from the Turbo Diesel...in 6th.
While in Darwin we went down to the wharf for lunch, really top spot there and most relaxing. Got a chance to see the Endeavor when it was berthed at Darwin, I was amazed at the amount of ropes on the masts.

During the week I took her over to Snake Creek, I found an old hot rod , damn thing wouldn't start though, then we went back over to Fenton and did find the site I been looking for for nearly 2 years, all in all it's been a great 3 weeks , had friends from Canberra here for 6 weeks, they are now at Pimba, the Perth Lady headed out on Monday for Tassie....but ummm she's coming back here next week, she got as far as Alice Springs....She'll be here for the Wet Season...SMILE.....

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 07:20

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 07:20
Your a bit of a sly one there Doug. Seems like a great way to spend the wet out at Bundy aye.
AnswerID: 462477

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:15

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 10:15
Good onya Doug. Nice to see ya smiling again after the year you folk have had up there.

Fred
AnswerID: 462485

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:02

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:02
Gday Doug
Is this the end of our Sunday history lesson, or will you still have time in your busy schedule?

AnswerID: 462503

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:26

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:26
Muzbry, she probably forgot how to use all six gears on her way south and has decided she needs more lessons ;-))))))
FollowupID: 736306

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 20:38

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 20:38
Not a problem Muz, SHP is all ready for the morning.

And Fred......grin...she told me it's cruising at 110 now.

FollowupID: 736316