COINCIDENCE or WHAT?

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 21:46
ThreadID: 88720 Views:2672 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
Back in the early 70's my brother and SIL moved to Dampier and stayed there for 38 years. Middle 70's he decided to study and obtain his light plane pilot's licence. During his studies he met up with a Doctor that had a "flying practice" and owned a Cessna 180. He hired the plane for training and after gaining his licence used to fly the Doc out to his practices, Tom Price, Paraburdoo and some other remote places and return the next day or so and pick him up.

A few years went by and progress deemed the flying Doc unnecessary, my brother stopped flying as it got expensive and lost contact with the Doc.
Fast forward to 2008, my brother sold up, bought a van and hit the road full time and a few weeks ago ended up in Bundaberg at the local Air Show. He was wandering around and came across this old Cessna that looked a bit familiar only it had been restored. Emailed down a photo and then rang me to see if I had any old photos of our trips to Dampier. No worries,I'll have a look through the slides, sure we've got one somewhere. Sure enough, there it is, same rego and paint colors (the green in the old slide has faded a bit) with different graphics. The only thing he didn't get to find was the owner or any info on the "new" plane but was sure tickled to come across it after 30 odd years.

Just thought I'd share that with you. Cheers,Bob

Reply By: Lucky Whitey - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 21:59

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 21:59
Google VH-DKL for some info re this aircraft, all the best, Phil.
AnswerID: 463665

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:03

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:03
Thanks Phil, will certainly do that.

FollowupID: 737520

Reply By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 23:06

Saturday, Aug 27, 2011 at 23:06
Gidday

if only they built cars like they built aeroplanes ... back in the 1970s when i flew a bit a mate owned a Cessna 172 that was first registered in australia in 1959 . I thought then it was pretty old. It is still on the register now. The cost of the new ones makes it feasible to keep the old ones going.

AnswerID: 463670

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 02:03

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 02:03
I havent bothered to google or anything but didnt cessna stop making single engine planes due to a proliferation of lawsuits etc?
Not sure if they are again though?
FollowupID: 737510

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 06:05

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 06:05
I can see a lot on their website. (-:
A friend recently purchased a new Caravan (single engine plane that is) for a cool couple of million.
FollowupID: 737513

Follow Up By: Fatso - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 06:37

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 06:37
G'day Rocco. It's just not how they build them that keeps them going.
It's mainly how they maintain them & who they let fly them & how they let them fly them.
FollowupID: 737514

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 10:08

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 10:08
Yes Fisho, Cessna did stop back in the 80s I think because they were getting sued when 30 year old planes crashed. They managed tio get the law changed to limit the manufacturer's liability and they have been back making singles for quite a few years now.

Fatso: You are right about maintenance. recently met a guy who used to work in aircraft spares and he told me something of the procedures involved. Only using genuine parts, logging replacement part numbers, the man who does the work sign off on it etc. I knew they did that sort of thing for airliners but they still do it right down the chain (well they supposed to). Another thng that makes light aircraft ownership expensive

FollowupID: 737525

Follow Up By: Member - thekettles - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 10:52

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 10:52
I have been wracking my brain trying to remember that Dr's name.
I reckon it would be he him that delivered our daughter back in 76 in Tom Price.
Also lent me his old truck with a crate on the back to pick up a horse in Roebourne that i had bought at a sale.
He would be long gone now I would think, a nice old bloke.

FollowupID: 737531

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 11:53

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 11:53
Hi Kettles. Just messaged my brother and the Doc's name was Dr Blair Malcom. Bob

FollowupID: 737542

Follow Up By: Member - thekettles - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 19:28

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 19:28
Hi Toyocrusa,
It got the better of me trying to remember names.
So I rang my daughter, Doc that delivered was Dr Duguid, and the old Doc that lent me the truck was Dr Oxley I think.
FollowupID: 737590

Reply By: happytravelers - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:58

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:58
Hi Bob

I was also at the Bundaberg air show last weekend and remember seeing that plane in the hanger as in the photo.
What got my attention was that the plane only just fitted in the shed as if it had been built to fit that particular aircraft with the propeller nosed up against the far wall.

Regards Jon
AnswerID: 463714