Used Car salesmen - bucking the stereotype

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 07:39
ThreadID: 88949 Views:2574 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
G'Day,
As some of you may or may not know, I recently bought a second hand Pajero.
It wasn't a big dollar purchase and far from being a new car. I first saw the car on Carsales but looked past it because it was in Horsham and I'm in Adelaide.
After looking at a few other locals cars, I kept going back to the one in Horsham. Anyway, I bit the bullet and drove over to have a look at it.

That's when it all began. I rolled up to the dealership and spoke to the salesman whom I'd made initial phone contact with. He showed me the car. It was exactly as he described it. He gave me plenty of time to look at the car and encouraged me to take it for an extended test drive by myself - no pressure. He then went out of his way to make contact with the previous owner who agreed to meet with me so off we went to meet the guy so I could bombard him with questions.

On our return to the dealership, he pulled out all the previous service history. Turns out the car was sold new by them, and always serviced by them too.

By this time, I was thinking this is too good to let go, so I negotiated a price and offered a deposit. "No need" was his reply. A person doesn't drive 450kms unless he's a serious buyer. The whole deal was sealed with a handshake.

2 weeks later, I'm back there picking the car up. It's had a full on detail and the tank is full. That was an unexpected bonus.

The car drove like a dream and the salesman even gave me a courtesy call to make sure we got home alright (it was a long day there and back in a single day).

I've got to say, the service I received from these guys over a $9000 car is better than I have received when buying a $45000 car from an Adelaide dealership.

So, though I have no affiliation with this dealership or the salesman (other than being a happy customer), I have to take my hat off to Wilson and Bolton (Holden/Mitsubishi/Honda dealership) in Horsham and the professional manner of their salesman David Weight.

Fab.

Reply By: Bigfish - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 07:53

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 07:53
Thats geat news mate BUT it should be the norm!
When we rock up to a place and are willing to outlay a large amount of money, it would be expected that the salesperson would be trying their hardest to be considerate, patient, honest, informative and willing to go the extra mile to ensure they make a sale and you get a good deal.
I hope that the dealer you have mentioned is recognised by other people when buying a car. Good service, honesty and "old fashioned service" is hard to come by.
Its a sad day that you have to leave a capital city to get away from less enthusiastic dealers ( car yrads by the hundreds!), and seek out a country dealership!
Country people...you gotta love em.
AnswerID: 464668

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:22

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:22
Absolutely agree. City dealers have become lazy because their product is sold through TV advertising meaning that most punters have made up their mind on the product and sometimes even the dealership before they even leave their driveway.

The country guys generally do it tougher and will go that extra mile to get your business.

For what it's worth, I'd drive back there in a heartbeat to do repeat business with these guys.

Fab.
FollowupID: 738658

Reply By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:11

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:11
Country Folk .... says it all.

AnswerID: 464671

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:27

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:27
Too right Allan.

These guys know that their reputation is on the line with every sale and one bad sale can break them. The legacy of a bad deal will last beyond the current generation.

Tight knit communities talk around the table, at footy games, bowl, golf clubs, front bars etc. There is no room for mistakes.

Fab.

FollowupID: 738659

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:16

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:16
Thanks for that Fab.

Word of mouth advertising is the best way for a company to grow its business. The majority of people that post on the internet about their dealings with particular companies are complaints, so its great when someone takes the time to post a positive experience like yours.

Its a small world. In fact this guy just might end up doing business with me because I am currently in the market for a new 4x4. I have a property up that way but currently live the other side of Melb & never gave a thought to driving to Horsham to purchase my new vehicle. Because I will be moving up that way in a couple of years maybe I should take the time to drop in to this dealership.

The only down side is that I have narrowed my choices down to a Toyota or Landrover ute. Bugger!

Stu
AnswerID: 464672

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:30

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:30
I'm sure it's not limited to this dealer Stu. I guess if these blokes are treating their customers like this, then surely the local Toyota, Ford etc dealer would have to step up to the plate and follow suit, otherwise the Holden blokes would be killing the pig and driving the others out of town.

Horsham's not big enough to hide behind big corporate safety nets.

Enjoy your move...it's a beaut town.

Fab.
FollowupID: 738660

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:56

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 08:56
Thats a good point Fab.

I think I might time the next visit to my bush property to be passing through Horsham when the dealers are open & have a chat with them.

Stu
FollowupID: 738664

Follow Up By: GQueue - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 21:12

Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 21:12
Can say only good things about the Ford dealer up there (Dick Wilson).

Very similar tale to yours Fab, debated whether it was worth the drive to check out a car they had in the yard (chasing a pretty specific model second hand). Few phone calls and a swag of photos later, drove up there and found much the same as you did....couldn't have been more helpful or more relaxed if they tried. They happily answered a few q's i had about the car by ringing Ford HQ back in Melbourne, and bought it on the spot with a small deposit. Picked it up a week later with a few small repairs and a full tank of juice.

Since then have had a couple of courtesy calls off them seeing how the car is going etc. Most city dealers I've ever dealt with barely remember you a week later. We'll be upgrading to a Territory in the next 12 months and Dick Wilson will be the first mob we'll call, and so long as they're within a reasonable price of any city dealer they'll have our business for sure.

The guys said exactly what you're thinking, small town dealer can't afford to have a bad sale or it'll cost him far more than the dollar value of it.
FollowupID: 738733

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Sep 12, 2011 at 12:36

Monday, Sep 12, 2011 at 12:36
That's two votes for Horsham then.
Fab.
FollowupID: 738762