A good day for an EO BBQ - Newport Lakes Reserve 11.30 a.m. Start

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 08:33
ThreadID: 89331 Views:2449 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Well not a bad sort of day to have a BBQ and lament Collingwood’s loss.Well there won’t be too much of that but fellowship and story-telling guaranteed.

Look forward to seeing any members that can pop along – Newport Lakes Park. 11.30 a.m. kickoff or earlier as I’m heading down there now to stake out the best BBQ.

Get your trivia hats on as well. Some of our favourite topics will be amongst the categories; Portable Fridges, Tyres and Solar power lol. There may be a smattering of questions about this great country of ours, explorers, expeditions, EO and NO footy questions! (Thanks to Michelle, David & the EO crew for the bag of goodies).

(Here's a clue for those coming along "Gibson". Remember that).

See you there. Mick

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 08:51

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 08:51
Sorry we can't be there Miick, it sounds like a good day.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 466540

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 09:08

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 09:08
Gday Dave
Gee Dave , we came to your gathering ?

FollowupID: 740659

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 09:22

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 09:22
Struth Dave, it's only 830 km. if you'd left at 4 this morning you could have been here by midday! poor effort. thanks for thinking of us. sun is out, site secured and BBQ cleaned. all systems go!

Cheers, Mick.

FollowupID: 740661

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 16:07

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 16:07
Yeah Dave!! :)

FollowupID: 740698

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 09:22

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 09:22
Even due to having upped the average days travel to 100 kms we still haven't even got to Adelaide let alone Melbourne. Several more weeks to go!
AnswerID: 466543

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 10:07

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 10:07
We have at least got to Adelaide Pete, didn't see you camped along the way.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 740667

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 16:15

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 16:15
Thanks Mick O for a very nice bbq and chat. love the toys won in the quiz.

AnswerID: 466583

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 16:18

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 16:18
Thanks Mick O for a very nice bbq and chat. love the toys won in the quiz.

AnswerID: 466584

Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 18:23

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 18:23
Thanks one and all for a very enjoyable afternoon. Vik and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with good company on such a nice sunny day. Jay and Leanne won the prize for travelling the greatest distance (Hastings - great effort you two) closely followed by a few more from the eastern suburbs.

Thanks Exploroz (David, Michelle & Adele) for the goodies which were distributed as prizes in our Australiana quiz. Actually, I think they were distributed more by the most inventive answer provided. How could you not know the name of Ernest Giles horse for goodness sake!!!??? OK I think everyone needs to brush up on their Australian Explorers a bit (mind you the Len Beadell questions got answered pretty well ;-) Wes was still looking for his free membership in the bottom of the bag. We reckon he best spend a few bucks or keep sponging off the old man lol.

No doubt a few photos may turn up in the Members Newsletter so keep an eye out. Thanks again, it was great to meet some new faces and reacquaint ourselves with some old friends. Let’s do that a bit more often (We’ll travel over east next time).

Cheers Mick & Vikk

AnswerID: 466594

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 19:32

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 19:32
Thanks Mick, was a great day.
Julie and I enjoyed the company and day immensely.
Nice to meet a few faces from behind the key board and make some new friends, plus reacquaint with the odd older traveling companion.
(Not suggesting you are old Leigh LOL)

Appreciate your efforts.

FollowupID: 740713

Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:00

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:00
Ditto Mick - Thanks for a organising a great day, Cheryle and I really enjoyed the company, and it was great to meet new friends!

Looking forward to catching up again soon

Best regards
Alex
Enjoy everyday, make your own luck & help a few along the way.

FollowupID: 740716

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:13

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 20:13
Go Mick
Hook into him old son, don't let him get away with anything.....

FollowupID: 740717

Follow Up By: Member - jay D (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 21:53

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 21:53
Hi Mick
Thanks for organising the EO get together today. It was good to meet the people who contribute to this fantastic site.
Leanne and i where thrilled to get our goodies and enjoyed the BBQ and quiz.
Hope to do it again in the near future.

to all

jay
FollowupID: 740722

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 23:28

Sunday, Oct 02, 2011 at 23:28
What a great day it was, sun shining, good conversation and like minded travellers. Mick's quiz almost ensured the goodies would remain in safe hands but some generosity of spirit ensured their distribution amongst the assembled. It was really nice of Exploroz to put this together, thank you for the thought it was appreciated by all! Mick thanks for organizing the day and it was really great to put faces to the EO names and to catch up with John after so long. Thank you to you all for such a nice day out! Cheers, Leigh
FollowupID: 740731

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 08:13

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 08:13
Thanks Mick and everyone - Anne and I enjoyed the day and putting faces to some that we have had the odd post exchange with.

We didn't win any prizes , even after passing the navigation test to get there , which required figuring out that some roads had 2 names , but we got a stubby holder as a consolation.

After a pretty mixed up weather outlook for the day, it ended up with a few lovely hours of sitting in the sunshine and telling stories all round.

Great day.

FollowupID: 740748

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 15:48

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 15:48
lol

FollowupID: 740769

Reply By: George_M - Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 11:44

Monday, Oct 03, 2011 at 11:44
Thanks for organising the BBQ, Mick - great day, good company and more than a few good stories.

Thanks also to David and Michelle for the goodies...

The book that Vik was talking to Julie about was:

The Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Australia's Unknown Hero
Simon and Nasht (2005)
Hachette and Hodder
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 466649