1997 Toyota Landcruiser Prado VX Grande VZJ95R ... info needed

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:20
ThreadID: 89503 Views:11241 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Hi all, i am looking at a Prado of the above year, model ect and need to know if there are any issues i should look for ... it is coming up for auction tomorrow so i have had very short notice..
Ta in advance
Joe

Reply By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:01

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:01
Hi Joe, I had the exact same vehicle bout 3 years ago,to be truly honest there a great car, very little to go wrong with them as long as like anything else its had oil and filter changes at least every 10k. They have a strong auto box (same as the 80 series) front diffs are probably the weakest link especailly if trying to do reverse snatches. Just check the high and low range work ok as most were shopping trolleys and never got shifted out of high four. Around town you will probably be looking at around 15L per 100 (myn used 17.2 but heavy foot and running bigger tyres, bullbar ect) Freeway around the 11.s (I got 11.8L per 100 towing camper,freeway driving) They have a bit of an exhaust drone at around the 2800/3000g mark when booting it say up hill and kicking the O/D out but they all do it just the design of the exhaust. Biggest mistake I did was going LPG hated it but just my opinion, heaps running around with duel fuel, just make sure they have the lube set up. The alternators dont like mud, will kill them real quickly. They did have a recall for rear axle seals but this should have been done with stickers on the inside of door jam if not can still be done. Obviously been auction there is no warranty unless your a dealer ?? So once you drive off as you know thats it. there are other little things like A/C gas/compressor check, windows etc but I presume your talkig anything major mechanical ?? As said mate great car, comfy, go ok, resonably quit, and flex pretty good from factory like this one, till the lift went in then it was even better

then got this one

then have this one

So as you can see I reckon there a fantastic car, yes the 90 series (the one your talking abut is a tad narrow) but I never laid myn on its side either of them, I didnt think to much to the motor in the gold grande I had, gutless and prone to head issues, Just check behind the heads on the V6 to make sure its clean, you might get a tad of seepage but generally with high klms, I can tell you truthfully that my mate gave his 96 grande to his sister for nothing with 406 thou klms on it and still going, the only think that was stuffed on it when he handed it over was the aircon pump, it was cactuss but he serviced it by the book like he does his new one. You know the usual get under neath and eyeball everything, they did crack on inner guards but was mainly with winches, steel bullbar, dual batterys and heaps of corrugations, mine didnt have any and sold it with 170 on it. Not sure what $$ your looking at but they are fairly cheap now even private sales which Im sure you have done your home work. All the best with it

AnswerID: 467365

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:04

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:04
Sorry should have said the gold one was turbo diesel with the dreaded head issues. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 741483

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:51
And so do patrols Joe, Depends on how there driven, either some one been stupid or what ever, plenty of troopys, pajeros, vitaras, Delica's, and so on. As said had mine on some pretty good angles still came out upright. I dont think there would be two many people who would take them to the maximum angle anyway. This argument, should I say dissagreement I think will continue till either of us fall off the face of the earth LOL. I do agrree that say a patrol, cruiser would have better stability but comes down to driver imput,,,,,,,,,

Even Patrols fall over

FollowupID: 741489

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:11

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:11
Don't forget they were the worst of all the main line wagons for roll over performance Joe.

Haven't time to search now - but other posts here detailed multiple combination roll overs with vans on when going over a rise.

Maybe someone else can remember these posts - gotta be 3 years or so ago.

AnswerID: 467366

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:15

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:15
I met a bloke at King Edward River who was trying to get to Mitchell Falls for the second time.
His first series Prado with V6 petrol engine had failed just before the river crossing the previous year. After a 300Km or so tow to Kununurra , and a week looking, the repairer found the injector harness had rubbed through at the back of the engine. He bought a second hand harness and found it had the same problem.
He subsequently was advised by Toyota Specialists that this was a common failure on high mileage Prado petrols.
Not a show stopper but before going on the long trip, maybe a good idea to strip of the inlet manifold and have the loom checked where it turns over the sharp edge of the head.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 467370

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:32

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:32
Sorry Joe, forgot about this one, Philip is spot on and it is right at the rear of the inlet manifold and yes they rub through, good one Philip. I never had this issue with mine but it was checked to see by toyota at Blacktown when I purchased it...Regards Steve
FollowupID: 741497

Reply By: Tim - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:28
They are really good quality trucks. Yeah some may roll over but there are some idiots behind the wheel of every make of car. I am confident my next vehicle will also be a prado, it's hard to go past the perfect size and reliability of the tojo badge. While they may be perceived to be much smaller, there is really not much in it when compared to the 100 series or the GU.
You will never look back and if you do, you'll only see nissans.
Tim
AnswerID: 467373

Reply By: bks - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:56

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:56
I have a 98 vx grande which is coming up for 300k which I have had since 40k's. Just had to get some work done on the front end, which is apparently common after that amount of miles with them. Apart from that it has been pretty trouble free. I did get the starter motor reconditioned which turned out to be full of dirt rather than worn out. I have had no problems with stability.

Also the sun roof has worn away on the railes an was leaking until I sealed it permanently.
AnswerID: 467375

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:05

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:05
hey thanks all,
Fantastic replys and some very handy info, i am hoping to get it quite cheap but being an auction you never know and have to be careful, it will basically be our "shopping" car but will be used on some long and wet road gravel trips ..... some really good points raised so will check them all, the "roll over" bit is interesting, maybe they have soft suspension, that will be a nice change from our ole 75 shaker n rattler ...

Mind you it has just completed 11,000 klms in five weeks and what a trip it was, from the top to the bottom via Birdsville, C/Ferry (and didnt pay the ferryman), Straz track, C/Corner,Silverton/B/Hill, SA accross the bight, Esperance, Bremer bay, Albany, Gnowangerup, Perth, Kal, Central Desert trek to the bleedin big rock, Alice, T/Creek, Tablelands Hwy, Calvert hills road to Doomadgee..... 390,000 on the clock and 96 mod .... std 1HZ (ran out of time to fit turbo) .... and with 3 kids ...

Again all, excellent responce.
J&M&Kds
AnswerID: 467377

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:46

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:46
Also if you feel a shudder coming through the steering wheel when going over rough stuff its possible the tie rod ends are stuffed, usually the one on the passenger side (outer) and steering rack bushes do wear but neither an expensive job...
FollowupID: 741509

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 04:14

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 04:14
biggest issue it will have is that it will be 14 years old
AnswerID: 467396

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:31

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:31
If thats the model with the rear airbag suspension system then they are prone to airbag failure.
The issue occurs when the suspension is forced to full extension and the airbag can get pinched and holed.

AnswerID: 467401

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 08:54

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 08:54
No John. the airbag suspension didnt come out till 03 with the 120 series grande and yes there were some issues on full flex but mainly the airbag actually dislodging itself from its mount. Was rectified in 04 upwards and is a great system. You can actually now trick the airbag suspension and increase its wheel travel even more for off road, can gain about 3 inchs in lift in the rear end and not damage the bags on full flex. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 741529

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:33

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:33
well good news for all ... we got it....
$3,960.00 ..........
unlic, all ours now, i checked out what i could and i think i may be up for some motor work but the rest is fine .........
I am VERY happy
Thanks all for your very valuable information..
J&M&Ks
AnswerID: 467439