Detroit lockers

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:48
ThreadID: 89652 Views:4883 Replies:10 FollowUps:1

Related Pages

As we are new members please forgive any indescretions. Do any other members have Detriot lockers fitted to the front of their 4x4. My husband is considering having them fitted but have only heard bad things about them. Our 4x4 is a 2010 Ford Ranger Supercab. We are tent based nomads and are trying to keep our gear as simple as possible without compromising the good stuff. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.
Carlo and Georgie

Reply By: wicket - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:52

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 14:52
might get some more informed replies here;

http://www.newfordranger.net/
AnswerID: 468138

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:07

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:07
There are different products for example "Lokka" "Lockright" that are the same Carlo - I presume you specifically mean "Detriot Lockers" , the Detriot version is the best and most expensive type and has finer resolution in its action - good choice if thats what you want.

I had cheaper ones fitted to front of the Patrol and got rid of them in favour of ARB lockers , because they affect steering to much under load.

Under load they do not unlock.

Note all these type devices are normally locked and actually unlock temporailly to do their job.

First choice in add on traction aids is low cost chains - or things like maxtrax if always in the sand. Both of these are a lot cheaper , and backed with good tyre pressure control can see one thru most situations.

AnswerID: 468140

Reply By: The other Norm C (WA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:18

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:18
G'Day Mudda
As far as I'm aware no-one makes a locker for the front
diff in the Rangers.
Norm
AnswerID: 468141

Reply By: GimmeeIsolation - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:20

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 15:20
I love Detroit Lockers. Had one on the back of my F150 4X4 460 cuin V8, never a problem with nearly 500 horsepower. One in the back of my 351 LTD, no problem, and now one in the back of my 69 Fairlane with 550 horses, no problem.
I love the heavy duty "clunk" as you drop into gear. Some bloke dont like them because if your in a slide and back off the throttle (wimp) they can "snap" you back into line, you have to keep your foot into it and use the power for a smooth ride. There are a lot of internal mods that can be done to suit the application and driver. Look up True Trak diff centres, they are a bit tamer for those who do not leave the foot into it.
DO NOT pass on the Detroit if you have one for a small amount, probably 11-1200 dollars worth of diff assembly there, petrol heads love them.
I dont know why you would ever need one in a Ford Ranger Supercab though.
Well over engineered for that car needs if we are actually talking the same thing.
AnswerID: 468142

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 16:07

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 16:07
I had a Detroit No Spin diff lock installed in the front diff of a 75 series Landcruiser that I had for 13 years. There was nothing that had to penertrate the diff housing to make it work or create any problems. It just never gave or created any problems. But what it did do was make it a very capable vehicle. It cost around $1,400 supplied and installed back in 1998.
AnswerID: 468144

Reply By: Rangiephil - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 16:38

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 16:38
If they are available, i would suggest a Detroit Tru trac rather than a locker in the front.
Google and you will see how they operate . The Tru trac is pretty transparent in how they operate and they operate all of the time, transfering traction to the wheel with it. They do not effect the steering much if at all even when working.
The ideal to me would be a switchable locker in the back (eg ARB)and a Tru Trac in the front.
I have this setup in My Range Rover and am very happy.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 468146

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:43

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:43
I had true tracs in the front and rear, I reckon they contributed to my picture.

I had read about them on snow causing possible backslap as they sent a mild fishtail into a monster fishtail by slapping the torque to the other other wheel back and forth. Didn't at the time make the connection with gravel. That's exactly what happened travelling a bit too fast round a corner of an uncharacteristically loose gravel road, never in over a decade of dirt roads and fishtails had I experienced anything like happened at that moment.

Other than that they were awesome and I think made a huge difference.
FollowupID: 742380

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 17:11

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 17:11
I had a detroit locker in my ford courier and it was great no problems for the 150 thousand k's I had it for.
I now have a Patrol that has a lockrite in it since new and it has clocked up 225 thousand K's again with no problems at all.
Both vehicles had them in the front. And both vehicles are part time 4wd vehicles. Not constant 4wd vehicles.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 468147

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:08

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 18:08
I have the same concept (Lokka) in my Nissan Patrol. I think they're great.

It has changed our style in the way we drive. We can go up and down terrain with no aggression what so ever in the trust that we have in that extra grip etc.
AnswerID: 468149

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 06:45

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 06:45
Probably to best mod you can do to an IFS ute is a front locker.
They make a world of difference.
Yes the 'return to centre' pull is a bit stronger when in 4wd, and your turning circle in 4wd will be bigger - usually this occurs when you don't really need to be in 4wd.
The upshot is that the vehicle will now climb and descend much safer, slower and controlled with the extra traction.
If the cheaper 'lokka' version is available for your model, I'd get that one. I had one in a hilux for 6 years with no issue.
Just get it installed by a diff specialist who can set it up correctly. Most of the horror stories you hear are from weekend warriors who installed their own lockers then whinge when they don't disengage, or make deafening clicks etc etc.
AnswerID: 468183

Reply By: Member - Mudda - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 22:02

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 22:02
Thanks to all the wonderful folk that replied to my husband Carlo's question about Detroit Lockers for our Ford Ranger. He was beginning to think there were only bad reviews written about them. Norm is quite right saying there possibly isn't a locker of that sort out yet for the Ford Ranger as we had contacted the "Lokka" people and said none yet but stay tuned. Being of a certain age and back in the days when he could stand upright properly, he remembers working on Ford GT's with Detroit rear diffs. We are hoping something will be available soon as he is not keen on air lockers. Not because he doesn't think they are any good but because it is one more blasted thing in the truck to take up room and will need fixing.

Cheers all, hope to see you out there.
Carlo and Georgie
AnswerID: 468419