Submitted: Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 17:59
Member - Shell P (W.A)
We will be leaving Kalgoorlie late March early April next year and are wanting to drive "The
Outback Way as far as
Boulia as we have friends to visit in MT Isa.
We will be driving a 2011 200 Series and towing a Spinifex Off-road Caravan.
We were wondering if anyone on the
forum has drivin this road towing a Caravan?
We just purchase the Hema Atlas & Guide from Explore Oz - Great Book, full of info. But we would like to hear from someone's first hand experience
Thankyou,
Dave & Shell
Reply By: Steven G1 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 18:21
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 18:21
Hi Shell,
Check out this site. Might help with your decision.
Personally I wouldn't if you want a van at the end of your journey.
Corrugated roads cause the most damaged to vans.
http://www.outbackway.org.au
Follow Up By: Member - Shell P (W.A) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:25
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:25
Thanks Steven,
We will check it out
Shell
Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:05
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:05
Hi Dave and Shell. I'd imagine if your heading to Alice from Kal, you'll be using the
Great Central Road. I'd suggest that the conditions you encounter on that would be typical (if not worse) than the
Outback Way. I was on the track in July and while not towing, would suggest that you would cover it comfortably. With a Spinifex O/R van and driving to conditions, I don't see any issues.
In the past, there has always been a fair few really good bulldust patches around Tobermoray and the border. This is influenced particularly by cattle mustering and the transport of the cattle out (read Flaming big trucks cutting up the road here). In July, they had been worked over and compacted so the road was in very good condition. From memory (and I'm sure I'll be corrected by those more knowledgeable), mustering is around April-May so you may encounter poorer road conditions on the QLD side of the border.
I'd suggest a call to the relevant shire and their roads-engineering department prior to departure would also let you know if a grader has been out that way.
My recent
blogs may give you some indications of conditions and
camp sites.
The outback Way from AliceBoulia, bedourie & Birdsville
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Shell P (W.A) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:31
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:31
Thanks Mick,
We will definately be making a few phone calls closer to the time.
We won't have to rush so we can take our time and enjoy the journey. We will have a look at your
blogs as
well.
Thankyou,
Shell
Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:18
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:18
G'day Dave and Shell,
Firstly, we'll just clear something up, The Great Central Rd, forms part of the
Outback Way, It's one and the same :-)
We are located on the
Outback Way, or GCR, 300km's East of
Laverton. We have Caravans come in here almost daily, in fact, we also have a van ourselves.
The condition of the rd varies from day to day. at the moment, it is in great condition for most of it, with a few coorugations, and then some slow going as usual from Docker River to
Kata Tjuta. It comes down to the same old saying, drive to the conditions.
As you're not travelling until March, you'll have to
check the rd conditions at the time of travel, we keep that updated regularily on this website, and also on our own tjukayirlaroadhouse.com.au
Also please feel free to give us a call when you are close to departure, as the weather isn't always similar to what the BOM says for near towns (
laverton,
Warburton)
Also, drop in for a coffee or Tea.
Al and Serena
Follow Up By: Member - Shell P (W.A) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:36
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:36
Hi Al & Serena,
Thankyou for you insight.
We will definately give you a call closer to the time and call in for a cuppa :)
Dave & Shell
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 22:09
Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 22:09
Dave & Shell,
We went across the 'Outback Way" (Donohue/Plenty Hwys) in August this year, in a L/C 79 series, but not towing. We saw a number of campers, but only one or two 'vans on the road.
The road surface was in good condition, and we saw nothing that would knock a van about, being towed conservatively. In fact we were waiting to see all these "terrible corrugations" that we'd heard about, but they were very scarce.
As long as the Georgina River channels were passable, at that time of the year, then I'd say "no worries".
You always have the option of the Sandover Highway too, that will get you to Mt Isa, via
Camooweal. That road was in good order on our return, and except for heavy corrugations, for a few clicks, near Alparra, the rest was very good, perhaps even a bit better than the Plenty. It's just a lot quieter, and not as scenic as the Plenty. Bit hard to beat the grandeur of Harts Range, eh.
And of course a big wet will change everything.......
Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 00:42
Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 00:42
We have done it this year, we can compare it with the
Savannah Way that goes past us (
Doomadgee) and we see heaps of vans on it so that road will be a breeze, keep in constant contact with all you can about the conditions incluiding Al & Serina for up to date info and you make the call, it is almost as good as any sealed highway but just lacks the "black top" and of course is subject to traffic like BIG trucks so if they have done a muster and carted cattle then it will be as rough as crud so it really is your call .....
Cheers n good luck ...
Reply By: Mike & Amanda - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 10:15
Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 10:15
Hi Dave & Shell,
Our family is heading that way on the 31st of March from
Fremantle. We're off to
Cape York via the Red Centre and Lake Eyre. We'll be travelling in a 200 series with Australian Offroad Camper. The only variation is that we may take the Gunbarrell which eventually becomes the
Great Central Road.
We travelled this route (
Great Central Road) to Alice, then on to Tassie and the Victorian High Country in November 2010. The road was fine and should be OK for your van. Conditions are variable of course dependent on weather with one roadhouse owner telling us of flooding the weeks before...(
http://www.hseq.com.au/Holiday%20Pics/Tasmania/Test/pages/002%20Tasmania%204WD%20Trip_jpg.htm).
The key for us has always been tyre pressures and speed... anything should be able to make it if these are right.
Maybe we'll meet up as we seem to be heading off around the same time - good luck with your trip! Give us a call if you'd like any more info!