Darwin to Perth on LPG

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:04
ThreadID: 90151 Views:5006 Replies:8 FollowUps:10

Related Pages

I am considering purchasing an LPG Only Falcon wagon to tow our caravan. Can anyone give me an update on LPG availability between Darwin and Perth? I know there are websites that show outlets but earlier reports here say that stock is not always available. Has anyone done the trip lately and have an update on the availability of LPG?

Reply By: Member - Chris G (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:13

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:13
Hi Lesterb,
Have the same car and same thoughts. We did the eastern half this year, Adelaide up to Tennant Creek turn right across to Mossman via Normanton and then down the coast to Melbourne. Had no problems accessing gas. A website 'autogas australia' will show you a map and distance chart and the west coast seems well covered. The biggest gap in supply I think is just over 300 kms. Good luck. Keep the forum posted
Chris g
AnswerID: 470227

Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:36

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:36
I recently did a run down to Esperance (WA) then along to Madura. The more distance you get from the major citys the more you pay. Madura was $1.27 per ltr for gas.
Traveling out of the major citys I have on a few occassions been unable to purchase gas due to the Station waiting on a delivery. As the town or roadhouses for the area all get gas from the same tanker I would sugest that you plan your re-fueling and ring ahead for the remote stops.

Craig
AnswerID: 470229

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:53

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:53
Wouldn't touch one with a barge pole if I intended to travel outside of the major metropolitan areas.
Take a look at the Northern Australian regional cabs. They are either petrol or diesel. Here in Cairns there are only a few gas taxis.
Reason being is not only the fuel saving is diminished by higher prices but the maintenance factor comes in as well. You can't find mechanics to work on them. There are not enough gas qualified mechanics around in the North.
Imagine having a part failure at Daly Waters & the mechanic says you will have to truck that car to Darwin because that's where the nearest gas certified mechanic is.
AnswerID: 470231

Follow Up By: rags - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:35

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:35
Imagine having something like a CRD L/C200 or CRD Discovery and have a fuel system failure and the mechanic says can't fix it here we need to truck it to Darwin.This happened recently to a work mate and then he needed to wait a week for it to be looked at ,then waited for parts .The day of simple dignostics and repair of modern cars is fast disappearing.Love my EGas facon ute and would happily travel the main routes but have a Prado to do that with the camper in tow
FollowupID: 744737

Reply By: Member - Andrew C (WA) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 11:52

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 11:52
Gas is fine for the metro area but why would you chooses a fuel that gives you no option to carry spare fuel when you are travelling in a remote area. We all need to take responsibility for our own safety. LPG and the limited range it offers not a safe way to travel, look at duel fuel at the very least.

The only person to get everything done by Friday was Robinson Crusoe

AnswerID: 470237

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 12:22

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 12:22
There are a couple of things to consider about gass.

the first is that the price has gone up and will continue to go up in steps till there is no price advantege over petrol at all.....the government has decided.

Back in the day, running on gas was hale the cost of running on petrol...not any more.

the second is that depending on where the vehclle comes from, how good the gass system is.
I drove cabs quite some years ago & I can tell you ther are big differences in gas systems as fitted.

An owner who is prepared to shell out will fit an adequate gas system, that when properly tuned will go better than pertol...the last cab i drove went like a shower of $#@T
But the stingey bastards will put a cheaper barely adequate system and the car will go like a slug.
AND
one of the cost cuts is the size of the tank..some of the cabs I drove where flat out getting 300Km to a tank..but they did not care, plenty of gas stations.

So ya pulling a caravan and ya sucking the gas.....if the gas tank has less range that the petrol tank would...you have a problem and there is no work arround.

Ya cant just carry some jerries.

Not so long ago both diesel and gass were cheaper bay far than petrol......these days particularly with the more efficient engines, ya have to have real good reasons to go past petrol.

OH yeh and as mentioned then you have the compliance and regulation things associated with gass.

AnswerID: 470239

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:20

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:20
Bantam,

You said "the first is that the price has gone up and will continue to go up in steps till there is no price advantage over petrol at all.....the government has decided."

You are totally wrong in that statement. What the government has decided is that the excise on LPG will be the same % as the excise on petrol and this will be phased in over a few years.

Now if the base price of LPG was the same as petrol then yes the price will ultimately be the same, however the base price of LPG is much less than petrol so in metropolitan areas LPG will still be much cheaper than petrol.

The estimation is that in metro areas with unleaded at around the $1.35 mark, LPG will be around 90c. Of course out in the country as currently happens the price of LPG will vary considerably.
FollowupID: 744711

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 14:27

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 14:27
But you also have to account for LPG having a lower fuel value than petrol.

It may end up the LPG may be marginally cheaper than petrol on the fuel value, but by the time you look at the way it works out, the the advantage is lost.

With current government polocy, there is no way LPG will every be the incredibly cheap fule that it once was.

FollowupID: 744720

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:46

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:46
Bantam, you are not quite correct on the excise.
By 2015 the excise on LPG will be 12.5c
The excise on petrol and diesel will be 38.14c

have a look at this website
http://www.raa.com.au/page.aspx?TerID=1148

wizzer
FollowupID: 744739

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:50

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 18:50
Bantam is mostly correct in principle. I drove cabs years ago and have owned 5 lpg cars. His comments ring true to me although I like my diesels now even if there is no cost advantage. At 90c a litre, lpg is a very unattractive propostion.
FollowupID: 744744

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:02

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:02
G'Day,

I have a 2004 factory Egas falcon wagon that has done over 300,000km. I drive it all up the Eastern states & over to Adelaide regularly. The wagon tank holds 118 litres & my trip computer is sitting on 12 litres per 100k driving in Melbourne traffic.
I can get from Melb to Coonabarabran (over 1,000) on a tank.

Not sure about availability of gas going to Darwin but thats a pretty good range, of course towing consumption will be worse.

I might add the car has never missed a beat & runs as good as the day I bought it.

Stu
AnswerID: 470241

Follow Up By: rags - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:44

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:44
I have an 2010 EGAS which has a range of 500km,my B/inlaw has the same ute and to overcome range issue when towing /touring he has added a 3rd tank [utes have 2 tanks factory fitted] into the ute tray,this has extended range to approx 750/800km.If i was to travel in the ute i would do the same,but have the Prado to tow camper and to get off the main highways.
I will happily update the ute to the new injected gas system when current lease is up as i love the $35.00 fills along with the power plus comfort
FollowupID: 744738

Reply By: Member - sangster(Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:11

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:11
Hi lesterb, I have been using LPG for over 30yrs and have been fortunate to have no troubles, and have travelled around aussie , but i would definitely suggest you have duel fuel, a point to remember is that LPG power isnt as good as petrol especially if you are pulling a van... and I agree there are places where gas iisn't available if you should need it, as hasbeen stated you cant put gas in a jerry can.
If you must have gas , also have duel fuel...better to be sure than sorry..
best of luck
Stan
AnswerID: 470242

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:46

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 13:46
G'Day Stan/Lesterb

My previous Falcon was dual fuel but the economy on gas was no where near
as good as my latest Egas Falcon. Reliability of my previous dual fuel system was not great either.

Given that the Egas Wagon has a 118L tank I reckon you could go most places in Aus if you kept it topped up.

Stan your right about the consequences of running out in a gas only sytem though. Tow truck will be your only option!

Having said that I still prefer the reliability of the gas only option. If I drove my car to Darwin I would just keep the 118L tank filled at every opportunity.

Stu
FollowupID: 744715

Follow Up By: Member - sangster(Vic) - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 19:45

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 19:45
Hi Stu, agree with you 100% I always rely on my gas before Petrol but always keep top up no matter what the price...I'm a happy gas man...don't mean that to be vulgar..:-))))))
FollowupID: 744750

Follow Up By: dazren - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 21:01

Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 21:01
GIDDAY GUYS, I to am a 30 plus dual fuel man, the last 14 years have been driving company service vehicles for around 70 to 75000 Klm per year
Car 1/ VR holden ute 340000 klm No Problems
car 2/ VS holden ute 420000 Klm [ broken valve spring at 35000Klm but after that no problems at all [ loved that ute ]
cars after that have all been falcons excepy for the AU all have been trouble free, except for 2 or three blown air boxes [ about $160 to replace,

Also Privately owned a 2002 Mazda tribute dual fual [ INJECTED GAS ] what a beauty towed my 16' poptop around no problems ] 22ltr/per 100k ] Gas and 16 L/100 on petrol, with injected gas can hardly pick any power difference

Now just updated tug to Holden Colarado FACTORY Dual/Fuel, and Van to a 19' Lotus [2345 kGS loaded ] Tows Very well, have done 3 trips so far for a total 830 Klm for a total of 197.38 Litres of Lpg that equates to 23.75 K/100
average price of the Lpg was $o 68c ltr, that means $16.15 PER 100 Klm

Here in Melb today Diesel $1.45, petrol $1.38, Lpg $o.53,
I don't drive ''outback'' very much and if i did I still have petrol, so would i change away from Lpg after the reliable service it has given me for way over a million Klm NOT LIKELY dazren
FollowupID: 744761

Reply By: desray (WA - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 04:47

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 04:47
Hi back to the original question,, I have a Prado that runs on LPG and petrol . I went from Perth to Broome and back last year and getting gas was a bit of a PAIN . Several garages that supposed to have gas didn't have any or the pump didn't work or they were waiting for the tanker ect. I had to run the car on petrol a lot more than I wanted. LPG was 1.22 a litre in Broome and not worth putting in , not saving anything ,worked out cheaper to run on petrol. Buy a duel fuel car if possible
AnswerID: 470308

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 07:00

Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 07:00
A couple of years ago my 80 series (Petrol/gas) backfired on gas and I broke down 170kms from Kununurra.
Was able to limp into a free camp site and was towed into Kununurra by RACQ affiliated tow company.
Backfire had blown up the air flow meter and vehicle would only travel in safe mode.
Had to wait a week to get repair to air flow meter and continued trip on petrol having no faith in the gas .
Times have changed and no doubt gas is better, but I now have a diesel Prado.

If I only had a gas vehicle I would have been in trouble as there was no LPG mechanic in town.

Pedro
FollowupID: 744785