Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:46
mrturtle59
G'day all
I'm after some advice from the collective brainstrust.
I am looking at a vehicle in which to house and carry my family, Mum, Dad, and 3 billy lids on an overlanding experience for a few years.
Here is my dilemma... should I purchase a 4x4 or 2x4 truck. Now when I say a truck, I mean a truck. I am looking at an Isuzu or something similar 8 to 18 ton truck. A dual cab with a possible tray length of at least 7 metres in which to build a suitable home.
I have spoken to a couple of tour operators who tell me that they never get into 4 wheel drive and consider it a bit of a waste when you consider the costs of operation. Also it would seem that many operators in Africa only use 4x2 units, either Scania or Mercedes and sometimes MAN.
I am thinking that the total weight of my load will be around the 6 ton mark with family included. I am thinking of an older model... that is pre-engine management electronics etc. Keeping it simple so simple people can fix it, if need be.
So what does the brainstrust say? Does anyone have any suggestions as to a possible vehicle fit for this purpose.
All suggestions are grateful.
Warm Regards
Turtle
Reply By: Fab72 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:54
Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 21:54
G'Day
Turtle,
Have you considered towing a small 4X4 on an A Frame off the back for any day trips into the rough stuff?
In my opinion, if you take a truck of that weight into the rough stuff and get stuck, what is going to be able to drag you out? And it'll be one hell of a job to extract yourself.
I guess the argument there is to buy a 4X4 version but only take it
places you'd go with a 4X2...that way the four wheel drive system will be your mantel of safety.
Mitsi Canter do a 4X4 8 seater dual cab which are pretty reasonably priced.
Fab.
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:53
Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:53
Good adviice... only draw back with the Canter is the short chassis. I am thinking a 7m pan type accommodation.
Reply By: Member - nick b - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:06
Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:06
Turtle :
turtle by name
turtle nature , You would need to tell us what your travel plans were , I .E the types of road/
places you are likely to travel ,ones that you might get stuck on ?
but if 2x4 why get an old bus already to go !!!
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:58
Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 22:58
Travel plans huh.
Well hows this, Australia, Asia, Middle East, Europe, Russia.. possibly 4-6 years. My children are 7 and 5 year old twins... all girls.
Personally I don't care if we get stuck anywhere.
Home is where I hang my hat.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 00:33
Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 00:33
Gee....4 females all told ....your a brave man in a confined space!!!!!!!
Cant really help with vehicle choice.
Have a great trip!!!!
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 17:46
Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 17:46
Hi mr
turtle
If I was looking at a similar setup i.e carrying your house on your back as per
turtle and only looking at touring Oz I would lean towards a 2x4 truck and tow a smaller 4x4 0n an "A" frame. While I have only "experienced" roads from such
places as Russia on U=tube it would appear that some of their "main" roads become impassable to anything less than 4x4 and sometimes even they get bogged at certain times of the year.
I guess that if this is in your plans 4x4 would be the prefered option IMHO
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 13:33
Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 13:33
In more difficult terrain there is really no option other than to go 4x4 as a 2wd truck truck simply wont cut it, but if general touring is the plan then the added height together with dual rear wheels possibly with a detroit locker will be more than sufficient. We run quite a few Isuzu & Hino light trucks & it's surprising where you can take them. If travelling overseas then I'd look at what people use in those countries as spare parts & repairs would be the key consideration.
Cheers Craig............
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:14
Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:14
Thanks Crackles for your insights
It is becoming more apparent as I research further that a 4x2 truck may be the go for my purposes.
The biggest issue for me is obviously being able to house my wee nippers in some degree of comfort for an extended period of overlanding.
Thanks again
Reply By: blue one - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 14:49
Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 14:49
Have a look at U Tube and it shows 4wd trucks used in those country regions as the roads are pretty ordinary.
Especially with those crazy Russians.
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:17
Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:17
Well I'm a crazy KIWI... I reckon I could abuse a vehicle just as
well as any one of them. And thats all I'm saying on that matter... before my wife finds me.
Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:40
Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 21:40
I went to Africa last year and took a Kiboko tour of SA , Namibia , Botswana and Zambia.
The truck was an 8 tonne Hino 2x4 and AFAIK all Kiboko trucks are Hino. They also use teh 2x4 going up to Tanzania and Kenya.
They used to have 4X4 Bullnose Mercs years ago but found them expensive to operate and underpowered.
From observation of other trucks most are now Hino and the game vehicles in
reserves are increasingly Toyotas from Land Rovers.
My observation is that dirt roads in SA , Namibia, and Botswana are generally much better than in Australia as they are graded every few weeks by a man , a
grader and his second wife.
A 2x4 truck should be OK if you are sensioble about where and when you travel to avoid wet times. And the Kiboko truck body weighed all of 8 tonnes as it was made of very solid steel .
Regards Philip A
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:19
Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:19
Gidday Phil,
From what I have seen this appears to be the fact.
I am actually leaning toward a Scania or possibly some other piece of exotica.
Any suggestion on the issue.
Reply By: Eric Experience - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:18
Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 22:18
Turtle.
The of road ability of any vehicle is related to the percentage of weight on the driven wheels. With an 8 ton truck you can have 6 ton on your drive axle and 2 ton on the front, this is much better of road than a 3 ton 4x4 towing a 2 ton trailer. something to consider is the wheel base if you go too long you will belly out on
sand dunes. Better to keep it short with a bit of overhang at the back to give you the space. The reason 4x4 trucks only come in short wheel base is that long ones end up with bent drive shafts. Another thing to consider is the clearance under the axles. some front drop axles are only 150 mm of the road with rear diff centres about the same. The Mercedes with there hub reduction axles with diff lock gives you very good clearance. Eric
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:23
Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:23
Eric... you bloody legend... This is exactly the sort of informative information I have been hoping for. So... why not 4x2? It seems to me to be completely possible. Hell I could install a winch front and back if need be. A good locked diff and a big shovel. Mate... it would make good training ground for the wee ones to be sure.
Thanks for your info
Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:19
Saturday, Dec 03, 2011 at 00:19
OK I know nothing of large trucks but !
(A) We did travel round for many years in a little 4x2 toyota ute and it was amazing the
places it went. We would often get comments like "That must be a really good 4 wheel drive to get up that road" driving carefully having good tyres and reasonable ground clearance and a really good limited slip diff was all we really needed.
I look at the old photos of the Redex trials and the early cars in the outback and they are all 4x2s
Yes a 4x4 truck would be a nice option BUT again I have also seen heaps of army unimogs totally bogged to the axels by bad driving.
Not making any suggestions but if you go 4x2 consider spending money saved on a really good winch and really good tyres.
Have a great trip it sounds like a great adventure
Hope we see you on the road some day !
Follow Up By: mrturtle59 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:26
Sunday, Dec 04, 2011 at 22:26
I think you are on the money there Doug.
I have driven trucks for years and many shitbox cars into stupid
places, luckily without to many problems but this time I have the family to consider and this one thing alone changes all.
I am still keen to give it a go though... hell you only live once.
Let the build begin.