Space saver spare wheels, or whatever there called!

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 20:36
ThreadID: 90716 Views:4068 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
Helped a lady in distress the other day, she had a flat tyre on her Honda accord on a out of the way back road actually. .. Two things, the usleless wheel brace supplied split down the side of the socket section rendering it a hopeless tool , as it only had one of the right size sockets for the vehicle, her jack was struggling to lift at start off, a real effort for a handy women having to attempt things her self, Then there was the spare skinny gutted wheel that looked bloody awful fitted up not a safe thing at all, alright if theres a tyre yard down the road,but to travel any distance ??....Anyway she tootled off a happy camper again, probably none the wiser..lol. ..

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:44

Sunday, Dec 18, 2011 at 23:44
I call them pram wheels :-) It stopped me buying a vw once. I told they guy I wasn't buying anything with a pram wheel spare. I've heard them called pizza cutters as well. Some bmw's no longer have a spare at all and use run flat tyres instead.
AnswerID: 472853

Reply By: The Bantam - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 00:39

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 00:39
I would not buy any vehicle that does not come supplied with a full sized spare wheel..and I would not travel any distance in a vehicle that is not carrying a full sized spare wheel.

All these space saver spare tyres a speed and distance limited.

Imagine having a flat in the middle of the Mulbrough stretch or the Nullabor......and then having to crawl the couple of hundred KM to the next place you can get help...By the time you get there you are stuck, because the help probaly does not have a weirdo low profile tyre to replace the one that has just failed and you cant travel any further on the space saver because its Km are up.

Actually there are arguments that the vehicle may not in fact be road worthy with one fitted.

NUP the things should be banned.

AnswerID: 472856

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 15:07

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 15:07
Hi Bantam, You are right about not being road worthy, in NSW your spare wheel can fail a rego inspection if it is not up to scratch. If people rotated their tyres your spare would be in good order. Rubber needs to be massaged to keep it in good order. So if your spare has been sitting in the boot for 5 years then it would have lost it's flexibility and be useless.

FollowupID: 747709

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:20

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:20
Oh come on Bantam.
They aren't that bad.
Take a look at how the Toyota Prius is taking over regional taxi fleets here in Qld. They all run one of those cheese cutter spares & don't seem to be stuck anywhere. A few paranoid operators here tried jamming full size spares in their Prius's at first but gave up after a while. They realised running the cheese cutter for a spare wasn't a big issue.
I've got over 700,000 up on my Prius taxis so far & haven't come across any troubles that held us up for to long.
As soon as we get a flat & have to put on the spare we either go & get the puncture seen to immediately or come home & grab another one.
Exactly the same procedure for our taxis that have had full size spares.
That should also be the same procedure for any car.
We don't carry fares on the cheese cutter. I am not certain, but I think it may be illegal for us to do so. Either way it just looks like crap anyway. Bit like having a dirty steel rim & 3 mags on your car.
FollowupID: 747725

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 20:25

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 20:25
Spot on Fatso, horses for courses. More and more of the electric vehicles coming out will have them because, well, you can't go too far from a recharging point anyhow.

What does amaze me a little is that some vehicles advertised for their 4WD/offroad ability carry them. The Touareg as a prime example. Even forgetting offroad work, a lot of people buy these things for their towing capacity. Can't imagine a cheese cutter standing up too well to having a double float and two horses lugged behind it. Not a fan of over regulation, but can't understand how a vehicle can have a 3500 Kg rated towing capacity with no proper spare.

A rear wheel carrier and a proper spare works for more remote travel, but guess you will see more and more of these things in remote areas as I don't doubt that someone heads off thinking all is good and realises too late that the spare is not up to it. Oh well, would be fun in sand though.

FollowupID: 747745

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 00:18

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 00:18
Oh come on fatso no cab is very far from a spare tyre or the means to drag its sorry ass back to base.

If you go to the UK, you are very very rarely more tha 30Km from the next town or village.

Hell my wife has walked from the top right hand corner to the Bottom left hand corner of the UK ( jon agrotes to lands end) and slept in a warm bed in a village every night.

Get a flat in the UK and walking to the next village is a real posibility

There are heaps of places in this country that 100KM on good sealed roads would not get you to help let alone a place that could replace or repair your tyre.

Get falt in the middle of the Molbrough stretch and it would be about 4 days solid walk to the nearest help.

In the nearly 35 years that I have been driving I have only changed um..3 flat tyres on cars I have been driving and one of them was a cab.
At 2 am in the morning I drove to the cab owners place an there he was standing in the front of his house with a fresh spare for me.

But If I am travling distances I carry two spares..

Spares are like lucky charms, most of the time if you have one you wont need it.......but it is people that don't carry a spare that get stuck sitting by the side of the road like a shag on a rock.

A space saver spare does not look lucky enough for me.

OH
as for the full sized tyre not fitting in the space save hole....apparantly it is very common to have customers come in with the failed wheel in the pasenger or rear seat, because that is the only place it will fit.

FollowupID: 747764

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 20:49

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 20:49
Going slightly left of topic with the mention of electric cars - now they are meant to be "eco friendly" yet you have to plug them in ? with technology today - why have they not made the roof - bonnet and boot of solar panels on these cars ?

wouldn't that make sense that when there parked at work in the sun , there recharging themselves ( somewhat ) rather that relying on a full charge from mains ?

just a thought

BB
FollowupID: 747824

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 21:25

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 21:25
Then when you get home use the panels to power your house, I do. Keeps my fridge running, on a lead back to the 1600W inverter in the car.
Andy

FollowupID: 747827

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 00:05

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 00:05
Like Bantam I would also question the legality of driving a car with a cheesecutter on it. And no doubt the insurance company including the compulsory third party insurance company, may also question any claim if anything happened.

I have never heard of any RTA regulation about spare tyres and therefore maybe that is the loophole that allows manufacturers to supply such idiotic wheels.

Thank god we have a normal spare for both cars. I for one would never purchase a car with a cheesecutter as a spare.

FollowupID: 747837

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 00:16

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 00:16
I imagine they comply with ADRs and are therefore legal and roadworthy if used according to instructions. Therefore insurance should not be an issue.

The practicalities are different though. Especially having nowhere to carry the flat road wheel. What a joke!

Frank

FollowupID: 747839

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 08:19

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 08:19
Hey Bantam, I hear they are thinking about putting one out for the 200 series Land Cruiser.
Seems the soccer mums reckon that big fat spare poking down under the back looks ugly. :) :).
Fatso
FollowupID: 747846

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 08:43

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 08:43
Frank

As I usually do to be sure I just rang the local rego inspectors in the ACT. No ADR for the space saver spare wheels.

FollowupID: 747848

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 09:41

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 09:41
It just confirms my view that the 200 series as it comes off the factory floor is an SUV and not suitable for off road use.

On the matter of the space saver tyre being legal........I recon if you looked at the detail, its probaly legal while its in the boot, but as soon as it is fitted to the vehicle I can not see how it can be legal.

The reglations require there to be tyres of equal size and profile fitted on each axle.
They also require tyres to the minimum specification on the tyre plackard to be fitted to all road wheels.

I have read the QLD act and regulations cover to cover, and unless there has been a recent amendment, I saw no mention of specific allowance for a space saver spare wheel.

FollowupID: 747853

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 09:50

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 09:50
Bantam

From what he said to me I understood that they are not covered by any ADR! Therefore they are just another piece of luggage. As is the lousy wheel brace that was mentioned earlier.

Did you see anything about the jack in the act. I would say it's much the same. That's why we have never trusted them.

FollowupID: 747854

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 10:47

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 10:47
Yeh...I very rarely trust factory wheel braces....but I don;t think there are any legal requirements about tools.

I cant say for sure, but I think there is some sort of requirement to carry a spare.......cant recall the details.

I can remember being "inspected" by the transport inspectors when I was driving a cab way back when, and they wanted to see a spare that had legal tread on it.

FollowupID: 747856

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 14:25

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 14:25
Interesting points you blokes are bringing up about the legalities behind the Space saver spares.
Just to add speculation to the debate, one of our "curry flavoured" taxi drivers was sent packing by the DTMR taxi inspectors & threatened to be breached if he continued carrying fares with a space saver spare on.
Might be something in that. I suppose it is only an emergency spare. The prius spare has a sticker on it that states 80 kph max speed. Maybe ABS assists with braking. I don't know.
Fatso
FollowupID: 747869

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 06:34

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 06:34
yes they certainly are a pain
bmw and merc have runflats as said you can drive about 100ks at 80kph
commodore now has 3 options for a spare
space saver/full size or some spaygoop and a compressor
new fiesta has nothing at all
AnswerID: 472859

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:11

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 09:11
G'Day Axle,
I work in the industry and the only reason behind the space saver/inflator kit/run flat options is weight saving.

Every manufacturer is competing head to head to loose those last few extra kilos in order to have bragging rights over who's got the most fuel efficient vehicle.

Some of the tactics being used are amazing. Certainly things that were never even thought of years ago - but sadly is the way it's all going. It's a transition that we all better get used to because it will happen with every manufacturer sooner or later.

Other things are working out engine oil requirements down to the last 100ml, using higher tencile - smaller diametre bolts, shorter bolts with less thread protrusion, and more prominant use of composite materials where traditionally steel was used.

The world is a changing place, and we as comsumers are driving these changes. We all want fuel economy, but at what price? A lot of people these days (blokes included) don't even know how to change a flat tyre.

Well done for helping out like you did. Amongst all the changes in this world, it's good to see some old fashioned chivalry is still alive and well.

Fab.
AnswerID: 472872

Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 16:13

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 16:13
Agree about everything changing Fab, can't keep up!!,....But one thing that wont change with me is helping a stranded motorist, its a pitta situation.

FollowupID: 747712

Reply By: rocco2010 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 13:28

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 13:28
Gidday

Probably stating the obvious here but the big issue is that more and more of our cars are sourced from countries where you are never more than a few dozen kilometres from help with tyres. And you don't have to be out on the Nullarbor to have a problem ... there are plenty of small towns in rural WA where the roadhouse/servo/basic mechanical repairs/tyre business disappeared years ago. I am sure othere states are likewise

I was passing through Newman a few years ago when I spied a japanese sports car (RX8 i think) that had been optioned up with shiny bright 19in or 20in alloys and rubber bands for tyres. Immediate thought was "I wonder if he would be game to drive iit to Perth on those tyres?'

I don't profess to have an answer, car makers will do as car makers do which is often ignore the customer, but like earlier posters I would be VERY reluctant to buy a car that had run flats or did not have a full size spare. Other factors could come into it but gee, you wouldn't want to venture far from the city.

Rocco

AnswerID: 472897

Reply By: rooster350 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:54

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:54
I can say that (with fingers crossed) it is that long ago since we have had a flat tyre that we cannot remember when the last time was...1 trip to Qld and back to Vic..1 trip around mainland Australia with van....2 half trips around mainland Australia with van...umpteen other trips to numerous to mention...so...why do we need a spare ?....JUST IN CASE!!!!!!! cheers...
AnswerID: 472904

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:27

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:27
They worry me too those things. Too many road users nowadays (in the city at least) don't know how to use them.

Couple of the things I was lead to believe is that the cheese-cutters we're only supposed to be used to get you to a repair / tyre shop, however I've seen the same car on my way to work commuting whit one of these for over a week.

The other thing was that if you had a flat on the front wheels, you were supposed to swap a rear to front and use the c-c only on the rear. Again I've seen commuters driving around with one of these on the front for day - must be a bitch to steer...
AnswerID: 472916

Reply By: SDG - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:17

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:17
Often thought about the family (hypothetical one) going on a trip, boot fully loaded with bags etc and a flat happens. Out comes the skinny little cheese cutter spare, and the full size flat wheel won't go back in, without some of the luggage being moved to the back seat with the kids.
AnswerID: 472920

Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 20:08

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 20:08
Very Good Point mate!,...safetey issues straight away......

Axle.
FollowupID: 747743

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 15:25

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 15:25
There's "space saver" and there's "space saver".

One is the cheese cutter you're all referring to.

The other? For exampl my VZ Commodore has 17" mags with 235/45/17 series tyres as standard. The spare is a "space saver" 205/75/16 on a steel rim. Technically it's a space saver as it's narrower than the others by about 1.5" but as it's a normal full size tyre I would have no qualms running it at normal highway speeds for as long as necessary.
AnswerID: 473054

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 02:47

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 02:47
people do that with their 4bies as well 265s all round but a skinny 235 or 7.5 underneath to maintain clearance - maybe not ideal but perfectly safe if driven with just a bit of care
FollowupID: 747947