Strong tough camper trailer

Submitted: Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 07:32
ThreadID: 90835 Views:12995 Replies:20 FollowUps:22
Hi there everyone merry Christmas.I and my wife are in the market for a new camper trailer.We are looking for a very strong camper that can handle being dragged around this country.So just seeing on other people's experiences what trailer they recommend to use.Been looking at the Kimberly and Aussie swag what do you think .Thanks

P.S We don't want to go somewhere then have to turn back as the camper is not strong enough

Nic

76 series locked and lifted

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:21

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:21
If you'd rather sleep under a fibreglass roof than canvas (pretty good when it rains or blows a gale) then consider a TVan. They track nicely behind a 76series - same width, height and track.
AnswerID: 473327

Follow Up By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 09:01

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 09:01
I'll second that we have had a T-Van for about three years and have done about 180 nights in it, any where the Nissan can go the T-Van will follow.

FollowupID: 748127

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 09:14

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 09:14
Another Tvan vote
FollowupID: 748128

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 15:17

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 15:17
I like this design very much
FollowupID: 748164

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 07:18

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 07:18
Nic, what swung me to the Tvan over say a Kimberley in the end was
-several modes of set up including one that is much less than a minute for over night stops.
-For me in the high country the Kimberley units were too long which limited manoeuvrability in tight situations.
-Pack up is quick, many tent over designs I saw were quick to set up but a pain to pack up.
-People who have them love them, especially the suspension. ( take a look at the testing video behind a 100 series on the Tvan website or youtube).
-You can store a lot of light stuff on the bed.

Good luck deciding. It is a very personal thing.
FollowupID: 748191

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:40

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:40
Nic, like Boobook said, the suspension is great - if you have fragile stuff, put it in the Tvan rather than the truck. Here's another tvan video that you might be interested in seeing it is towed by a 76 series:

FollowupID: 748195

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 09:49

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 09:49
We had a Track Desert Eagle with MC2 suspension & carted china coffee mugs all over the Outback & High Country with no breakages. In our minds we had always envisaged that we would eventually buy a Tvan & looked on with envy whenever we saw one, that was until we came across the Vista RV Crossover, which incidentally was mostly designed by the same person as designed the Tvan.
We know have the Vista & couldn't be happier, on the road we can be in bed, before the Tvan could have the back door down.
FollowupID: 748199

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 12:58

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 12:58
Nice video wish I was there.I am even more confused now on what to buy
FollowupID: 748226

Reply By: Member - Leanne W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:23

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:23
Hi Nic,

Both the Kimberly and Aussie Swag are very good strong camper trailers.

We have an Aussie Swag, and have been very happy with it. We have also found after sales service with Aussie Swag to be excellent.

Leanne
AnswerID: 473329

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 09:01

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 09:01
What ever you get, make sure it has shock absorbers on it. See this article.

AnswerID: 473334

Follow Up By: Thinkin - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 10:39

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 10:39
While a lot of offroad campers have shock absorbers their offroad ability can be compromised with short multi leafsprings. ( big bumps, big axle travell) A big ask for short leafsprings.

Longer leafsprings can give you more axle travell which is what is needed on rough roads, with shock absorbers to control the shocks.

So look for coil springs or extra long leafsprings with sock absorbers on your camper.

regards Alpero.
FollowupID: 748136

Reply By: hopscotch - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:49

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:49
Have a look on the Trader Page Campertrailers.org.

The best off road unit is Australian Offroad Campers. Odyssey range. If the vehicle will get trhough then the trailer will be right there with a very minimum of fuss.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 473339

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 20:05

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 20:05
Thanks everyone I think I'm going to have a look at Ultimate campers .
FollowupID: 748175

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 17:34

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 17:34
Remember that you can't leave the bed set up, or cook outside!
FollowupID: 748244

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:19

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:19
The usual replies of "mine's the best" will apply throughout this thread unless you let us know a little more about your intended travel plans, number of people to accommodate and budget.

As you can imagine camper trailers can be bought for a few thousand, right up to abut $60k. Some will accommodate numerous people, kids, dogs and heaps of gear, whilst others are perhaps more comfortable, but with less storage space.

To follow the others in this thread, I have a Track Trailer "Desert Eagle" with MC2 suspension and my basic requirements when I bought it were:

* Around the $10k mark
* Solid enough to drag anywhere (similar to your requirements)
* The smoothest and best suspension setup, so as not to shake the cr@p out of everything on board.
* Fully galvanised chassis for rust prevention
* Fairly quick setup and take down... more on this later.
* Plenty of storage space for family travels with little kids
* Approximately the same width as the car (105 Landcruiser)
* Not too heavy
* Good quality heavy canvas tent with doors at both sides of the tent and plenty of windows for ventilation...must be able to withstand heavy weather.
* Reasonable undercover areas/awnings (for longer stays).
* Inner spring mattress.

I'm sure there were other things I though about, but these were the main priorities and the Desert Eagle well fits my style of travel and storage needs.

It's not a fancy camper
It doesn't have a shiny stainless steel pull out kitchen, but does have a built in stove and a couple of hand pump water taps.
It's not the "best" camper on the market. There are much fancier (read more expensive) ones on the market with some great features, but this one has never let me down.

Spend some time on the following sites for some great information on campertrailers:

http://www.campertrailers.org/

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php

All the best with your search.

AnswerID: 473341

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 09:53

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 09:53
These would be one of, if not the best camper trailers ever conceived!
FollowupID: 748200

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 15:42

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 15:42
we have a good Off Road Camper, but they are hard to get hold of as no longer made.
AnswerID: 473353

Reply By: turbo 79series - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 21:47

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 21:47
I like the Ultimate campers very much
AnswerID: 473365

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:15

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:15
Great camper, but the downside for me is that you have to pack the bed up everytime you move, not a real big drama but big enough to put me off, also I believe the mattress is made up of sections. We have a T van ourselves and just love the pillow top innerspring deluxe mattress.
Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 748219

Reply By: Pebble - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 22:38

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 22:38
Yes Ultimate are the one I'd be interested in as well, looks like our ideal kind of set up....well in about hmmm 10years or so when the kids start thinking about leaving home or something lol.

Check out the MySwag forums as well, I believe there is a thread there of someone having just brought an Ultimate, so it would be of interest to you.
AnswerID: 473371

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 06:59

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 06:59
Nic
Haven't we opened a can of worms ?

How big is your wallet. ?

We have a Trak Shak, (Aussie made version) and love it.
Done the Kimberley twice, Cape York twice, the Simpson, the Canning, and countless trips into as many places as we, (and the previous owners) could drag it.

We have been thru some really nasty storms, high winds, and downpours, and have survived all.

In saying that we have been accompanied by many other good trailers as well, eg Ultimate, Kimberley, Outback, and Cavalier (with upgraded suspension)

As I said it's how big your wallet is, and also how much maintenance you are prepared to do, as they all need it

Good luck with your hunting down one.
I may suggest that you try hiring a few different types first, or if you are down this way, (Wonthaggi), drop in and I will take you thru the in's and out's of the Trak Shak.

AnswerID: 473381

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:00

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:00
Hi Bucky yes I have opened a can of worms.And yes my wallet was not as big as I thought when it come to choosing what I wanted unfortunately .So my plan is I think to try and hire a few campers over the next 6months.I will be returning to to my home state of QLD this year via going home over the top end.So I will be choosing carefully and by the sounds of it your camper is very reliable and thank you for the offer.

Nic

FollowupID: 748192

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:22

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:22
We traded up to a Goldstream offroasd camper van after using a cheap Chinese Camper trailer for a while, it was good fun but not suitable for serious offroad trips.

In saying that we did have as much fun with our $3000 chinese job as our current $30,000 palace without the luxury.

Check out Trackabout, they make a quality off road Camper Trailer which everyone raves about.
AnswerID: 473384

Reply By: TTD1 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:58

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 08:58
Hi turbo 79series

We purchased an Ultimate Xtrak in July last year and after 1 over night stop on the way from the factory as practise loaded it up and headed to Cape York and then back down from the Gulf through western Qld and NSW and it was a dream.
Previously we had owned 2 Aussie Swags and both were very solid units but the wife wanted the internal kitchen and a bit more comfort.
The Ultimate electrics are not in the same class as the AS but the great feature of the Ultimate over the AS is weight fully loaded about the same as the AS empty .
On our trip up north with a 2007 Prado diesel we used less than 13ltrs per 100kls
and most days had to check that we did indeed have the camper on the back.

TTD
AnswerID: 473387

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:03

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:03
Why aren't the Ultimate electrics in the same class as the Aussie Swag.... lower quality, poorly installed?
FollowupID: 748216

Follow Up By: TTD1 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 20:34

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 20:34
ocoolone,
The Aussie Swag LX 2007 model that I had had 105 AH agm Batteries,40amp Xtrex 240 volt charger,LED strip lights,hard wire 240 volt power points and 25 amp Solar regulator with an Anderson input jack and led status information.
The Xtrak has 2 100amp cranking batteries,15amp Cteck 240v charger,a 7amp dinky solar regulator,in line fuses and no battery information. The only thing to fail on the trip to the Cape was the fluro galley light on day two.
The short answer to your question was yes to both your suggestions.
TTD1
FollowupID: 748259

Reply By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:00

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:00
I am so confused there are so many good reliable campers it seems this is going to come down to personal choice
AnswerID: 473405

Follow Up By: Member - Leanne W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 18:07
You have hit the nail right on the head....

We looked at heaps of different campers until we found the one that we felt suited us the best. We had one child at the time (now have two), and therefore wanted a camper with a kids room, in particular one that could stay attached when the camper is folded up. My parents wanted a camper with a bit more 'comfort', so went for the Ultimate with its internal dinette and kitchen.

Have a good look at them all, and then decide what suits your needs the best.

Leanne
FollowupID: 748250

Reply By: P2D2 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:02

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:02
My daughter and SIL have a Cub Camper Spacevan which is great.
http://cubcampers.com.au/camper-trailers/spacevan/
They have travelled extensively with it and love the extra space compared to the previous camper. They say the great thing about the Cub so easy for overnight stops and big enough to sit comfortably inside with table and chairs in bad weather. They say the extra space when parked at the same location for a week is great. Chucked out the useless Dometic 3 Way fridge and fitted 110L Waeco tropical rated compressor fridge.
AnswerID: 473406

Reply By: Jim* - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 16:07

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 16:07
Nic..
To add to your confusion..
Also consider a - ‘VistaRV’ - camper.

Travels as well as a Tvan (some say it’s better) – similar long travel coil spring independent suspension..
Excellent ride with no towing vices at all – more storage space -less set up time - easy pack up - more secure when set up in camp..
We have travelled the deserts towing a Vista, without any problems – also being towed by a Nissan.

www.vistarv.com.au

Jim
AnswerID: 473414

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:21

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:21
As I mentioned earlier in this post, we always aspired to a Tvan, until we saw the Vista RV Crossover which we subsequently purchased.
FollowupID: 748295

Reply By: Member - Josh- Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 16:52

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 16:52
We hd an Obrien's offroad trailer. They are in Melbourne. We spent 3 yrs on the road with 2 kids and loved it. We took it to some remote places, we did cape york and the GRR. We could not fault the trailer.
The best thing to do is work out what you want in a trailer.
Hard floor/ soft floor.
canvas roof/ fibre glass
How much room. We had an extra room plus annexe
Kitchen/sink/water
tool boxes
extra storage space
Batteries
Stone gaurd
How many do you need to sleep
Lift the bed to get gear out or drawers that slide
Some campers, put heaps of gear like poles ect on the bed when travelling, others have dedicated pole lockers
Sit down and work out what features you want. Then go camping shows or to the dealers and compare trailers. Ask if they can modify it for you if you want them to do something different.
We spent over a year looking and the Obrien trailer was perfect for what we wanted. You may want something different so even though I love their trailers, it's set up may not suit you. So take your time looking and compare heaps. We took ideas from other trailers and modified ours so it was exactly what we wanted.

Josh

AnswerID: 473418

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 17:42

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 17:42
Yes I'm going to hire a few .Work out what we need then go the camper we want then ask for the extras we need.I am still no closer to working out till I start to hire a few campers
FollowupID: 748245

Reply By: crd patrol - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 21:59

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 21:59
turbo 79series,

Also look at Cape York Trailers (ahern metal) in cairns. These are built like the preverbial outhouse.
3.3 tonne axles (60mm), coil springs, can be fitted with 4 shock absorbers (from the standard 2), 12in maranised electric drum brakes, greasable swing arm bushes, full galvanised chassis and drawbar. These are just some of the features of these campers. If you break one of these campers you will also have broken your 4wd.

Also don't discount the second hand market as there are some great campers out there that are well below new prices and still have most of the items the new ones have.

Good luck with your purchase.

crd
AnswerID: 473442

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 08:18

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 08:18
These look pretty strong
FollowupID: 748287

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 23:12

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 23:12
turbo 79series,

These are not the prettiest camper out there but they are the strongest by far. Many people do not even look at these because they don't have all the bling of the other big name campers. But these big name campers also come with the price tag to boot.
I should have said from that start that we have a cape york camper trailer (deluxe explorer hard floor model). We have no affilliation with them, we are just happy with the camper.

crd
FollowupID: 748368

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 15:31

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 15:31
The hard floor design is great.How is the weight of that floor closing is it pretty manageable this camper appeals to me very much
FollowupID: 748398

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 20:12

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 20:12
turbo 79 series,

The camper is pretty easy to close but as with most it is easier with 2 people unless you have a hand winch on it (which I have made one to fit ours) then you can do it by yourself, but if you want to send me an email to gregsobczak (at) rocketmail.com and I will go over our camper with you. It will get a bit long winded on here.

crd
FollowupID: 748417

Reply By: Member - Berky51 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 09:58

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 09:58
Hi there,
We have had an Aussie Swag for 5 years and been lucky enough to travel heaps of Central Oz and The Cape as well as the forestry tracks of Tassie. It has been nothing short of perfection in every facet, even during Tassie storms and cold.
The back up from the team in Brisbane has been way above what I consider normal. I managed to rip a side door off when it came open near Marree and they actually pulled one off a new trailer and freighted it to the Alice for us and we were all fixed 5 days later - service extrordinaire.
We have also travelled with many other campers in the same price range and they are all excellent in their own right. Never forget that you get what you pay for.
I spent 2 years just looking before buying and I finally settled on the "swag" after they said to me "what lifestyle do you want?" They then proceeded to fit every criteria I had and spent as much time as we needed to fully understand what the trailer would do. They spent almost half a day on induction before we towed it out of the factory.
Advice aplenty from very wise people here on the forum, but if you do the hard yards on line and get ALL the info, you won't go wrong when it comes time to decide.

AnswerID: 473463

Reply By: p_marns - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:14

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:14
hi Nic, After two years of of research, reviews, trying, hiring, and borrowing, we came to the conclusion that the best camper was the aussie swag,,, but we couldn 't afford it as our budget was 30k so we decided on next best, an off road cub brumby.
Mate you would not believe this thing. We have spent the past 3 months in central oz, the gulf, northen and western qld, we took every dirt road and back track and its unbelievable. Not 1 ounce of dust or water inside the camper, tows like its not there,with independant suspension not a single broken item even though the cans of beer in the back of the hilux sprung leaks from rubbing together on the corrogations. We set up faster than you can roll out a swag. I wonder why you would need to spend more money on a camper when this does everything. phil
AnswerID: 473520

Reply By: Life Member Dick B - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 00:06

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 00:06
Nic

You have already got a lot of replies from owners of various campers. There are many good campers available, it gets down to personal preference and how much you want to spend.

In 2006 I purchased a TVan second hand. It was a very good unit and gave good service. For a quick night stop you can't beat it. From stop to getting into bed is only a few minutes. Setup the full canvas was about 5 mins. The part I did not like was that the full canvas is stored in the lid of the upward opening rear door. In my advanced age I found it hard to packup if I was alone.

In 2008 I sold the TVan and purchased a second hand Ultimate #519 for $36k. I had Ultimate upgrade it to the latest axles and 5 stud hubs. I still have it and I am very happy with it. I changed to the Ultimate because I liked the inside kitchen and the lounge area. Somewhere to get away from the flies. We do not grill inside, we carry another gas stove for grilling work outside.

Both the TVan and the Ultimate will go anywhere the vehicle will go. They are excellent offroad campers.

That's my personal experience

Dick

AnswerID: 473524

Reply By: turbo 79series - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 08:31

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 08:31
Thanks everyone so much.I and my wife are overwhelmed with all the replys.Yes it is going to be a hard choice but a personal one.Like so many people here all the campers that got listed here sound perfect.It will come down to the dollar in the end.We will be hiring a few over the next few months.I will really be taking the suspension into consideration.I will be going for a shorter trailer with loads of height for manouvering .We will take into consideration the size and for my family and ease of setting up and taking down.Storage won't really be a problem as most of my stuff will be in the wagon.Then I will tow the camper at a few different places to see how it tows .My tinny will sit on the roof of the 4wdrive ,so I think I will go from here I will let everyone know how I go .

Thank for your kindness for replying we took every post very seriously.

Nic

AnswerID: 473527