Diarrhoea is a load of crap

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 20:59
ThreadID: 9111 Views:3983 Replies:11 FollowUps:42
The WA Health Department has released warnings to people about food handling over summer WA Health Warning. It is a difficult thing for 4wders when travelling to keep things at the right temperature without ending up with things frozen. I have had my share of frozen lettuce! We have a thermometer in the fridge (a must) but I seem to be forever adjusting the temperature up a bit to keep it at around 4C. Depends on so many variables.

Choice Magazine this month did a pretty superficial review of four portable compressor fridges, and a few others. They measured temperature variation when the ambient temperature changed from 10 to 43 C. Engel temp changed 0.3C; Bushman 42 litre changed 2.4C; Waeco CF 40 changed 2.6C; and the Evakool RF47 which is apparently 47 litres changed 7.1 degress with the dividers out and 13.2 C with the internal dividers in. With changes like that you would have no hope of keeping things at the right temperature.

AndrewMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"

Reply By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 21:03

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 21:03
That link is a load of crap too. Try again. WA HealthMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
AnswerID: 39992

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 23:08

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 23:08
With my tired brain,tonight, I think food especially meat is handled far too much, causing multiple cross contaminations before it hits the home scene. Years ago they grew their own, killed their own and with no or little refrigeration, stored in safes and yet were tougher healthier people. I am going to bed. Stuffed Nannie:-)
FollowupID: 257629

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:47

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:47
Nanie!
Meat is one of the safer things too - It is more of a problem with things like pasta salads and fried rice and made up sandwiches. For a while a lot of service stations had made up sandwiches sitting on their counter near the cash register - Yuk. I always imagined Egg and mustard and Salmonella sandwiches. Hope you had sweet dreams.
FollowupID: 257643

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 09:42

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 09:42
Goodmorning Andrew, The main problem is fast food, and very fast food at that. Things like you buy in the supermarket were made in the home and the cook knew when it was to be thrown out. These days the salad is left in the display fridge, in the morning given a stir to make it look great, not knowing it was waking up the bacteria, so it could start multipying. I always make my own. It is human germs I worry about. With the sliced meat, yeterdays is placed on the top of fresh,then contaminating the fresh, the sandwich makers come along buy their so called fresh meat, plonk it on a good healthy salad sandwich. Another thing worth thinking about is that since over fanctically cleanliness has hit the family enviroment we have more belly bugs than ever. Stick the kids out in the chook pen for a good run, let them play in the dirt, thats not contaminated by humans, animals mostly OK, establish a good gut flora to be able to handle most of things thrown at them in the future. Safest way is to eat homemade tucker, I am paranoid of wondering where hands have been before preparation, and with handling money and food. YUKKY!!
Now I have turned you off Maccas, you will start looking like Jamie:-))
I had a good sleep last night, although short, my problem is I burn the candle at both ends bigtime. Jen
FollowupID: 257655

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 19:16

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 19:16
Andrew, We were just having this discussion a couple of days ago when we were talking about meat has the problem in most supamarkets of being up to a week old when you buy it. It is impossible to keep meat for a few days in normal refridgeration now, without freezing it. This is due to the fact the abbattiors have been taken out of local areas, and its multi handled by the time we buy it. Geoff and Jen
FollowupID: 257695

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:08

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:08
It irks me a bit too what they do to food and stuff now. I am happy for them to wrap things to try and make them last longer. I even read somewhere that someone was impregnating plastic with something (?ginger or something like that) which could be used to wrap foods to make them last longer. I am happy to drink UHT milk. But I dont like having things stuffed with preservatives to make them last longer. Annoys me too that the produce is picked green and then is ripend (how the hell to you spell that!!) artificially. Not as good as my produce - though the birds are eating more cherries than I am because the land on my netting and eat the cherries though the netting. Might have some more injured birds for Karen. And meat a week old before we get it - tis rediculous I reckon.
FollowupID: 257700

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:39

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:39
There is nothing more dissappointing than to have fruit that is picked before its time and artificially ripened. I never buy overseas food as I think of their no health and safety regulations. It amazes me how we are allowed to import food and other items with no questions on factory conditions and yet Australia goes overboard on our factories etc. here. You had better build a scare crow for your fruit trees. Maybe in santa outfit, or I have heard of putting a plastic snake in the tree, make sure its a big one. Don't worry about your "ripend", we can all understand one another on this forum, most times:-) who's this red dic u lous :-))) Jen
FollowupID: 257703

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:17

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:17
Andrew & Jen, you need to come and live up here with us in the country, kill your own meat,milk ya own cow, and brew your own grog, drink your own brew, get drunk, fall down and someone will pick you up in the morning,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lol
Anyway hows ya been? Hows Jen and the kiddies??????????
We are off camping in OUR BRAND NEW CAMPER On christmas eve and home on the 30th, care to pack up the family and come with us???????? Just off to The Great Aussie Resort north of Albury, what a top spot that is. we will take the boat cause it is right on the banks of the Lake Hume Dam. Just thought I would let you know what we are doing over xmas.............lol "saving saving saving" (sorry).
Talk to you soon
Your mate KarenKind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
FollowupID: 257708

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:17

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:17
mmmmmmmmmmm, must change that photo too after xmas !!!!!!!!!!!Kind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
FollowupID: 257709

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 08:57

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 08:57
We have other plans this Christmas - going to Rosebud down on the Mornington Peninsula. Beautiful place but it always rains between Christamas and New Year! I have heard of the Great Aussie Resort so might check it out oneday - if we ever get enough dough to get a camper. Might buy a nice second hand Kanga off someone during the recession that we might have to have!!!! Interest rates on the way up to 17% again!!
Sounds like life in the country is fantastic. Us poor city folks only get time to work and post on the forum!!
FollowupID: 257748

Reply By: Nomad - Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 22:43

Thursday, Dec 11, 2003 at 22:43
The only answer I can think of is to get a "cast iron guts". That way nothing will bother you including all the funny water around the place. (Big Smilie LOL)
AnswerID: 40007

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:48

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:48
Yep - I've been looking out for em but they are hard to come by.My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257644

Follow Up By: duncs - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 16:51

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 16:51
Andrew & Jen

I've got a pretty hardy set of guts, maybe not cast iron but certainly toughend aluminium. (or something like that).

I was given them by my parents and grandparents who were prepared to let me play in the dirt, picjk up a lolly off the ground and wack it in my mouth etc.

I don't advocate a careless attitude to food handling but you can be too cautious. A few little bugs along the way will actually strengthen the imune system.

My Mum & Dad have been travelling extensively in 3rd world countries for 25yrs or more and in that time Dad has had 1 dose of Bali belly. Not a bad record for someone who drinks the local water.

Duncs.
FollowupID: 257769

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:09

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:09
Hi Andrew,

Complacency can be blamed for a lot of things but honestly, I can't see what all the fuss is about. Until our son started going to daycare and bringing home every bug known to mankind, I can only once in 13 years recall my husband having gastro (after a restaurant meal) and me never. Surely basic hygiene and not leaving food sitting out on the bench is just common sense. As for refrigeration, if your home fridge can't keep food cooler than 5 degrees then its time to get a new one. As for camping we've never had any problem keeping things cold in the engel and we don't bother with thermometers etc. Our gauge is how things feel...if the milks frozen, fridge is too cold, if marg is a bit soft then fridge is too warm - adjust setting accordingly.

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
AnswerID: 40013

Follow Up By: Member- Rox - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 02:53

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 02:53
If the BEER's warm, the fridge needs turning down :-((

But you need to keep your eye on chicken, that gave me the s###s in June.Iv'e got my NEW Camper :-)))))
FollowupID: 257641

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:54

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:54
So what sort of Camper, Rox?
Main problem with food storage is that people prepare stuff and then leave it sitting out while they take it somewhere or leave it on the table for six or eight hours as they dont have enough room. Imagine a chicken sandwich left out of the fridge for six hours until the afternoon work party etc.
I was really mostly concerned with the Evakool fridge. It seems that you could start in the morning with the fridge at 3C and during the day as the temperature rose, the fridge internal temperature could reach 16C which is too warm from my smoked salmon. I still like my thermometer in the fridge even though we have an Engel.
FollowupID: 257647

Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:36

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:36
I've found it difficult to keep lettuce and the like ok in the fridge without it freezing and spoiling. Nowadays, I take an esky as well, no ice, but it's a place to keep some veges away from the direct heat. Tomatoes, lettuce, cabbage, all wrapped in newspaper keep for up to a week. The main thing is that the newspaper absorbs sweating from the veges. Some leaves on the lettuce may go a bit daggy on the edges, but just tear those bits off and rinse. Cabbage goes a bit yellow on the outside leaves, and smells a bit musty, just discard those outside leaves and rinse. A wet towel draped over the esky also helps keep the temp down.
Haven't come down with anything yet.
AnswerID: 40018

Follow Up By: Member- Rox - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 02:54

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 02:54
Explore Oz says wrap lettuce in Newspaper out of the fridge.Iv'e got my NEW Camper :-)))))
FollowupID: 257642

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 04:54

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 04:54
camping = NO TOMATOES & NO LETTUCE !!!
No exceptions !!!Allyn
Some days we are the flies; some days we are the windscreen.
FollowupID: 257740

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:37

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 00:37
People these days are just too soft. And every little tin pot soldier in todays politically correct society is going off sounding dire warnings about this and that and it is not necessary.

Watched some tourists outside a Woolies store filling up their water containers with casked water....funny.......have drunk water out of creeks all over this country and have never been ill. We pre-freeze our meat when travelling and when that is finished we only keep water, wine, cheeses, dips etc in the fridge. Turn the fridge on to three quarters and that is where it stays. Switch the fridge off at night. No sweat.

Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 40019

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:59

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 06:59
You know what Willem - I think you are a smart man! But there are some pretty dopey people out there and they get confused by the messages. Some things a obviously more sus. to spoiling than others. I remember Michelle from Exploroz said that she could keep her Cryovacced meat not refridgerated for what sound like ages. But would she keep pasta salad on the back seat for ages??? That is the question!
Andrew My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257648

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 10:53

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 10:53
Spot On Willem, we are raising a softie generation. I often look at the protection of kids instead of the teaching of kids. How on earth are they going to survive in their later years. We have lollypop ladys leading them across the road, that is ok, but is she educating them to look to right and then to the left and then back again to the right. No, they stay and then go when she stops the traffic and blows her whistle, that to me isn't teaching responsibility. So we have these kids growing up thinking the world is going to wait for them in many situations. I am afraid I believed in making my kids strong and able to think for themselves and this establishes commonsense in every area of their life, from driving resposibliity to leaving their food on the counter. All life threatening commonsense. Jen
FollowupID: 257657

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 12:07

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 12:07
Andrew & Jen
Geoff & Jen,

My sentiments however are not new. The generational change is ongoing and when every new generation comes of age there will be more changes which for some of us will be unpalatable(no pun intended). In and around 2800 years ago Homer lamented about the direction the youth of his era was taking !!!

And so we get back to commonsense as Geoff&Jen mentioned. Is our commonsense being eroded and are we being indoctrinated by officious
misguided do-gooders? Therein lies the question.

Hopefully I have accumulated enough commonsense to survive for the rest of my life.

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 257659

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:22

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:22
Yay Willem.
One only has to look at Japan's so called "Clean" society where everybody has little or no resisitance to bugs, germs & diseases because they are so intent on being hygienic and have a sterile environment. It is a major problem for them I believe.

My motto = "The body is an evil thing and it MUST be punished"

So I'll keep thrashing it until the day I die. So far I've had no major illnesses and the only surgery I've had has been from sporting accidents.
I've no intention of preserving myself to the extent where I'm pushing a carriage down the hallway of a nursing home &bleepmy pants.Allyn
FollowupID: 257710

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:46

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 22:46
Mmmm Coops.....Interesting...I had the same attitude when I was in my twenties saying that I probablbly wouldn't make forty. Survived a swag of car crashes, sporting injuries and brain damage from overindulgence at parties that went on for days. Marriage did not deter me. Then I was forty and kept on pushing the envelope until it all came unstuck at 58........but I am getting over that and now self preservation is high on the agenda but not to the extreme extent as advocated by what we have been talking about in this thread. I hope to go on for a long time. You will probably find that you WILL end up in the nursing home pushing a trolley down the hallway. I hope that I will be able to go bush for the next twenty years unless there is a ban on orange Nissan G60's in the future. Who knows......que sera sera :-)
Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 257715

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 08:50

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 08:50
Coops - my theory is that my body is like my car. I should make sure it is serviced, cleaned, has good fuel and clean air and it should keep running for many years. I wouldn't buy a car that had been thrashed so I don't want to thrash my car or my body. Tis easier to replace my car than my body.

Willem - sounds like you have seen the light. Not many blokes end up in a nursing home and if you do, there are lots of chicks there - or maybe I should call them old boilers. Make sure that your eyes are gone if you are going to try and crack onto one of them!!

Ban orange G60's? - might be an idea!

FollowupID: 257747

Reply By: Member - Bob - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 08:32

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 08:32
I would have thought that the common problems for us would have been staphylococcal, B cereus, and salmonella. Go to http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dbmd/diseaseinfo/foodborneinfections_g.htm
for a factual account of what is possible.
In my experience red meat is the least problematic food and can eaten and enjoyed even when green, stinking and fly blown.Bob
AnswerID: 40033

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 08:59

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 08:59
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/eid/vol3no4/mcmeekin.htm
is a good account of the theory of food contamination.Bob
FollowupID: 257652

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 09:39

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 09:39
That is in fact why the eastern countries (India etc.) had curries, to diguise the literally putrid meat they used. The curriy itself had an antibacterial compnent (as do most spicy chillies (South Americas)), coupled with the long cooking times would kill most of the contaminants in the meat.
FollowupID: 257654

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 12:37

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 12:37
G'day Bob,
When we were kids, we played outside, ate things we should not have, hygein was probably not as it should have been but we survived. I always believed that we built up a natural resistance to our local bugs and were better able to cope.
Nowadays with the local health authorities ( I Mean council inspectors etc) seem to go around requiring infinite quality controls for food handlers so that the food provided is unlikely to cause us any problems.
My question is:- are we raising a generation who will have no natural resistance to internally fight the aliments that are raised and are we (as a populous) susceptible to being wiped out or made very sick by some common bug that we have no resistance to. ne cede malis
FollowupID: 257660

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 13:39

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 13:39
Des,
interestingly, the current thinking is that the increase in asthma that we are experiencing may be due in part to the lacvk of exposure to normal filth as we grow up. Kids are now brought up in an aseptic environment where everything is washed in bleach, wiped with anti-bacterial rags, and even the air is sprayed with stuff to kill germs. Despite all of this, and its harmful effect on natural ecology, we keep breeding nastier bugs (SARS, Lissa virus, Ebola virus, HIV, BSE or madcow disease)Bob
FollowupID: 257665

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 14:40

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 14:40
.... Fascinating too that women when pregnant and subsequently breast feeding their babies and who take Lactobacilli daily throughout the pregnancy and after delivery have babies with significantly less allergies. I guess that it is all about good and bad bacteria. Dirt has lots of good guys in it and I have heard of paediatricians advising parents to let their asthmatic children eat dirt so the the immune system will stop fighting dust mite poo and fight the soil bacteria.
Doesn't mean that it is good to let our food go off though before we eat it.
FollowupID: 257673

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 16:00

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 16:00
Very interesting post you have here, Andrew, I enjoy studying and talking about germs and worms:-). We have 2 daughters who have children, one went by the book the other didn't and guess who has the healthiest kid. Out of our 4 kids the 2 bottlefed kids have allergies and the others were breastfed (the last one for nearly 3 years) they are allergy free. This was in the days when food was food and didn't have the worry of restrictions and fancy words attached. Jen
FollowupID: 257681

Reply By: Member - Wim (Bris) - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 09:29

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 09:29
Andrew.
We have an Evakool and monitor the temp with separate temp sensor. Have not noticed more than a deg or so change. Separate question, don't these power saving devices on fridges have the same result, longer cycle times, wider temp span? I can remember (not so long ago) camping with food cooled just with ice. Never seemed to be a real problem.

Stay safe and have a good xmas & new year.This 4WD stuff is addictive,
time consuming & expensive.
AnswerID: 40039

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:11

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:11
Maybe the choice test was on a dodgy fridge or something. Glad to hear that you monitor the temperature pretty well. I reckon that you can choose safe food and dodgy food. For instance, you wouldnt keep made up fried rice for very long, or pasta salad, or sliced meats. But a cryovacced steak you could store for ages.
FollowupID: 257701

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 15:16

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 15:16
interesting
would have thought that the common problems for us would have been staphylococcal, B cereus, and salmonella. Go to http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dbmd/diseaseinfo/foodborneinfections_g.htm
for a factual account of what is possible.
In my experience red meat is the least problematic food and can eaten and enjoyed even when green, stinking and fly blown.
said above ?
was that for yabby bait? lol

Gary in oz
yeah thats right in india and i agree with some of their principles , but they use yoghurt to line the stomach first so as to delaying food related illness .

You wouldn't believe the crap food Haccp regulations a supervisor has to go through for reataurant setup nowadays , gives me bugga all time to cook as i'm forever doing temp checks and filling in order log temp books and coolroom/freezer reports and monitoring the dishwasher was and rinse cycle temperatures then filing standard recipe shhets with consistant temperature readouts and keeping out of the danger zone????? man

While this area did need a cetain amount of tidying up most establisments pay for a health report via the internet or a software pack that meets the criteria for that particular place then makes a report to send to local council health inspector , andsome times the manager knows little or nothing about what happens or should happen.

Not denoting some places but this can become a night mare for some smaller places or people with little experience .
IMHO it is the government llooking for scapegoats so they dont cop the responsibility for claims .
So where does this leave the establishment to blame (the chef or manager?) as they are the ones with the certificate , but this is open to abuse ie- days off other people signing forms , having annual leave or whatever ,
Damn sure if it happened at my work (unlikely given turnover and good routines !)
that i would not be copping something beyond my control.

This is the way of things lately unfortunately.1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
AnswerID: 40068

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:03

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:03
Sounds like you have a Restaurant Toonfish. How about a discount for Exploroz members!! Maybe a gathering but I guess you don't wanna have to work.
Bureaucracy gone mad sometimes. Nothing beats good common sense.
FollowupID: 257699

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 01:32

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 01:32
a gathering is kewl but i don't have a restaurant anymore since moving to Bendigo.
Miss my own place in many ways but not t he average pay and no time for trips away.
all too much paperwork and entertaining!!!!! lol i wish (maybe a few after work drinks ?).
got some good "in trade" stories but not on this family orientated site.

1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
FollowupID: 257737

Reply By: Nomad - Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:51

Friday, Dec 12, 2003 at 21:51
Geez Fellas & Fellarettes

That's a lot of food for thought!! Whoops, sorry about that.

I honestly believe that the more we protect ourselves from these things the weaker we get. I don't mean we should walk in front of a council bus, but??????

A friend of my old Mum had a little bloke and would not let anyone in the house if they had as much as a cold. Wouldn't let him out of the house either. What happened??? Every time the poor little bugger came in contact with some dreaded bug, he got it. And how!!!

I don't know, but perhaps we should take normal care but don't get too carried away with it all.
AnswerID: 40084

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 01:01

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 01:01
What a good generational discussion this thread is, one based on years of experience. The last thing I need is someone from the Govt telling me what is good for me, especially when they are 24 years old and straight out uni. It seems a strange cycle has occured in the supermarkets, they now charge twice as much for organically grown foods and this is exactly what we used to grow in our own back yards for practically zilch. Ahhh for those tomatoes with flavor and crunchy fresh beans.

I have an odd little health fettish that will set some of your minds to thinking and I don't want any deep meaningful discussions over this one. It concerns public toilets any where, but especially in and near food outlets. We all (I assume) wash our hands after going to the toilet, but sometimes we see someone leave a cubicle and leave the toilet without washing. I thought "how discusting" but when I went to leave I realised that I was touching the door handle he had just whiped his fingers on. I then realised that everyone leaving a cubicle must have 'dirty' hands, therefore the door nobs of the cubicles must be really filthy, after all no one can wash their hand in the cubicle. Then that hand that touched the door nob might also turn on the tap which I also have to turn on. But I wash my hands don't I ? but then I have to turn off the tap which is contaminated and filthy. I dry my hands thinking that will wipe off some of the yuk but am then confronted with the door handle to get out of the room, Oh no ! more Yuk, so I figure most people will grab that handle at the top, so with the little finger of the hand that I don't use to put food in my mouth, I grasp the handle down at the bottom believing that I have found the clean bit of the handle.

Do the people that work in these food places use these same toilets, it's a worry.

I think I can solve part of my process of getting out with clean hands now. I open the cubicle door with a piece of clean toilet paper, wash my hands, leave the tap running, dry the hands with a paper towel which use to turn off the tap and use the same paper towel to open the door out.
We worked out this safety system one night at a fun dinner party. LOL
Carpe Diem
AnswerID: 40102

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 05:06

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 05:06
We (well the wife really but I get the gardening duties) grow a lot of our own vegies, backyard size permitting and as organically as possible, the flavour is incredible. F & V these days are grown for their ability to be transported and look good on a shelf somewhere as opposed to taste. Have found that offal buried under a tomato bush gives superb results also.
As for those public toilets, well I try to back out using my ample butt to open the door.
Allyn
FollowupID: 257741

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 08:40

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 08:40
So in short your message is don't touch any dirty knobs in the mens toilet without protection. Got it. Makes me wonder if it is worth washing your hands at all is some places. Us blokes can often waltz into the toilet without touching anything. Up to the silver service on the wall, Unzip and find the snake - not too hard on a warm day - pull him out and do the business and then pack him away without touching any other knobs or handles or doors. Urine is normally sterile wrt bacteria so maybe we should just waltz out without washing our hands. Poo is a different story - packed with nasties. Wash wash wash every time.
Andrew My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257744

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 11:03

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 11:03
Hell Andrew, I was trying to be a little bit more delicate with the words than you. You have exposed our inner most secrets. This is drifting away from 4WDing a bit but let's just say it's in the interest of public health when travelling and a bit of a laugh.Carpe Diem
FollowupID: 257752

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 12:17

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 12:17
Sorry blokes, I have just come into the wrong thread, I'll try and find a unisex corner, apologys Jen
FollowupID: 257754

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 12:21

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 12:21
This thread is more off the track that the Leyland Brothers. Started in after I read in Choice Magazine this month about Portable Fridges and how the Evakool seemed to be hopeless - as Choice said "..it's temperature can vary considerably with ambient temperature change." Might have been a dodgy one as Willem has no trouble.
FollowupID: 257756

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 12:29

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 12:29
MEN ONLY ZONE

LADIES DO NOT READ ANYTHING ABOUT COCKA'S POST OF FOLLOWUPSMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257757

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 14:53

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 14:53
Cocka...you are a bit of a worry.......LOL

I dunno...I spent five years on the road and used every conceivable public toilet in all shapes and sizes in all the country towns and the ones in dining rooms and servo's and it never bothered me one litlle bit as to where contamination may be. AND I have never picked up a bug. Our bodies must have a natural resistance to contamination other wise we would all be DEAD. At least then there would be no use for wars.

C'mon fellas and sheilas....you could go overboard with this one. Looks like you are all part of the softie brigade I spoke of earlier in this thread.

As for Andrew and his SNAKE.......well.............and the other...Good Grief.......

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 257763

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 15:47

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 15:47
At least we will know Cocka if we meet him at the toilet. He's the one with the clean piece of dunny paper in one hand!! By the way, that paper was put there by the cleaner who touched all the toilets and then ran his hands all over that roll before putting it in the holder. And then you touched it. Aaaah.
When is you next dinner party Cocka?
lol lol lol. (Can't believe this either)
FollowupID: 257767

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:27

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 12:27
Cocka, G'day, while Andrew is at work,hopefully, I thought I would sneak into this post, don't tell him ;-) and relay some info on dunny hygiene, as I am a Hygiene Psychoanalyst, diplomas+++++, I have skills to combat any germ within reach of the human body. haha Now,there is a product you can keep in your pocket, made in Aussie, in a personal pack, no bigger than a ladies white mouse. It is made of 66% ethanol, so you do not need water. This is the product, Aqium Gel,it is a antibacterial hand gel, you just squirt in on your hands after you leave the dyke, and door handles etc. give them a good rub together for no less than 15 seconds, then allow you hands to dry.(Drys quickly). Great stuff, good for travelling, shopping, and after shaking hands with a not so clean business person. Cheers in arrears, Jen
FollowupID: 257855

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 21:15
Aquim gel - sounds fantastic - I might try it instead of the KY gel that we use!My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257904

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:43

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 22:43
Andrew and Jen, AQIUM Gel it is good stuff, but I wouldn't use it on your KY unless there were symptoms of VD on or about your BT. Old Nurse Nannie
FollowupID: 257931

Reply By: Slunnie - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 10:17

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 10:17
Looking on the Evacool website, it seems the RF47 isn't on there.

The range being marketed on there all use the Danfross compressor, so I would assume its as decent as the Waeco at least.
AnswerID: 40218

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:59

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 20:59
Slunnie, just had a look in Choice and they said on the other page as a footnote that the Evakool RF47 has been replaced. I quote, "The model we tested has been replaced by a new on, which has cosmetic changes only." This model they tested they said the the claimed volume was 47 litres, (22 freezer/ 25 fridge), weight 18kg, Warranty one year, Made in Australia (which is great) and is 43 x 72 x 46cm (HxWxD) and the price was $999.
You would think that in general they would be better than they tested as you said.
FollowupID: 257900