AGM Batt under the bonnet,good or bad

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 16:26
ThreadID: 91655 Views:4610 Replies:13 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
As some of you now i was in the hunt for a Aux Batt and ended up getting a AGM Powersonic which i needed in a hurry as we were leaving the next day to spend a couple of days in Mildura,now whole there the BIL had to get a starting Batt for he's Cruiser so we went out to the TJM store and whole there i told the guys i had just fitted this Batt under the bonnet and he went on to say that it won't last 12 mths because of the heat factor,so have i done my self in here and brought the wrong Batt or not,Batt Experts need to reply to put my mind a rest.cheer's GREENDOG
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Jeff D - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 16:35

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 16:35
I'm not a battery expert by any stretch of the imagination, but speaking from experience I would have to say that an AGM under the bonnet is not a good choice.

I made the same mistake 4 years ago and only just got 12 months out the battery. I replaced it with a 2nd starting battery as an auxilliary and it's still going strong.

Jeff D
AnswerID: 476863

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 17:02

Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 17:02
While an AGM is a good battery, it is sensitive to heat. While some have managed to get a decent life from an underbonnet AGM, it can have as much to do with location. A 3.0TD GU has its aux battery next to the turbo, a poor choice. An 80/100/200 landcruiser has it behind the headlight and more in the airflow to help keep temps down and more chance to get a better life.

Typically its the loss of electrolyte that causes the issues. An AGM (VRLA) battery cannot have any electrolyte added if it is released, unlike a wetcell battery that can easily be topped up with distilled water. But if the wetcell battery is not topped up when required, then it too will have a short life.