Another from China

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 08:16
ThreadID: 92033 Views:3698 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Some of you already know my dislike of "Made in China" but you probably don't know my love of Cummins engines, as in the Dodge Ram, buuuuut here comes a new one from china with a Cummins .

Aussie tradies will soon have another Chinese-built ute to choose from, with Foton confirming its Tunland workhorse will arrive Down Under in May.
READ ON

Reply By: Dereki - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 11:11

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 11:11
So what I get from that is Cummins engines will be made in china from now on.
AnswerID: 478404

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 15:32

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 15:32
From that you'll get that the 4cyl Cummins made in China will go into these Utes, American and I would presume some Australian Trucks would have US manufactured Engines, and when I say the word Truck I mean a TRUCK.

FollowupID: 753911

Reply By: Member - Travelinglew - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 15:38

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 15:38
Gday Doug,

Must be hard having a hate for everything made in China. It would not leave you much of a choice as just about everything sold in Australia has at least a component or two made in that country.

Lew
AnswerID: 478415

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 18:55

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 18:55
Yeh, I hate me shirt, my socks, Jeans, and ...and....and...me undies.

FollowupID: 753934

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 19:39

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 19:39
........ & your Garmin?
FollowupID: 753938

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 20:00

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 20:00

The Garmin I have was made in Taiwan...though the battery was made in Korea and 'finished in China". There is no escaping the fact. Wouldnt worry about it too much myself, there are good and bad things produce in all countries. So what if the subject of the day involves a chinese made product?

FollowupID: 753940

Follow Up By: Crazy Dog - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 21:22

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 21:22
Since when did you wear UNDIES DOUG?

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 753945

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 15:59

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 15:59
Doug, if it wasn't for China, Australia would stop digging up dirt to sell there and would be in an economic hole as big as Italy.

Our two speed economy is so reliant on China doing well that if it falters, then we are in deep poo poo.

You had better pray that more Cummins and other things are made in China mate.

God Save China I say.
AnswerID: 478416

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 17:18

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 17:18
Boobook is on the money, like it or not.

FollowupID: 753922

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 16:52

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 16:52
Why cant those fools at Nissan get together with a good diesel engine builder to supply engines for Patrol! Even the Chinese can do it, it cant be that hard! Michael

AnswerID: 478420

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 16:59

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 16:59
Why would you want to buy anything made by a fool?
If they can't make a decent engine, then simply move on (or do you have shares in Nissan?)

You remind me of some Freo Dockers supporters I saw at a game who were booing their team when they missed for goal.

FollowupID: 753915

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 03:22

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 03:22
Michael

That is a good dall
What about a Duramax 6.5 TD V8. ?
They are a proven Diesel

Cheerss

FollowupID: 753953

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 03:23

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 03:23
Sorry about the spelling ..... it is early
FollowupID: 753954

Reply By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 21:09

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 21:09
I read some where the other day that even the Japanese are now sourcing components for their electronics, TVs etc... etc... from China.

Remember back in the 70's and 80's we commented on how every thing made in Japan was to be consideredwell... sus. And then they dominated the markets with quality products. I suspect we will experience the same process with China.

We'll wait and see though...

Mike.
AnswerID: 478444

Follow Up By: ian zzr - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 21:22

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 21:22
I agree , and will probably be there quicker than japan
FollowupID: 753944

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 22:12

Wednesday, Feb 22, 2012 at 22:12
Good for you Doug,

I dislike everything made in China too, They are copiers and not designers.

Racist no, I dont mind other countries/ cultures, but the dealings Ive had dealing with Chinese companies is nothing short of disgusting.

They'll cheat, lie and promise the world to get the business but to them its all about profit short term & cheap and nasty.

Ive found I cant trust them to deal with.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 478449

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 08:00

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 08:00
That's right, but wait til you have to business in India!
FollowupID: 753957

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 09:56

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 09:56
...They are copiers and not designers....

If that's all it takes, why don't WE do it, and have all the world buy Aussie made?

Wilko, to put your thinking straight, read here if you trust this source (also read the published comments):

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-12885271

cheers, Peter

FollowupID: 753967

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 10:36

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 10:36
Why don't we do it.

because, our government will not massivly subsidise manufacturing, our workers expect to be paid more than a bowl of rice a day and our companies will not work on 3% profit margins.

FollowupID: 753969

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 11:46

Thursday, Feb 23, 2012 at 11:46
And we have a quaint little thing called respect for human life, which manifests into a thing called occupational safety & health, about which the Chinese have not the faintest notion.

Someone gets killed in a Chinese workplace - oh well there's plenty more where he came from.

Unfortunately that's overwhelmingly their attitude.
FollowupID: 753971

Follow Up By: Holiday Maker - Friday, Feb 24, 2012 at 22:29

Friday, Feb 24, 2012 at 22:29
Not quite right.

Last year, the wife and I took a holiday in China for six weeks, enjoyed meeting ordinary workers and people.

Found the people very, very friendly. Wanting to learn English and very respectful to us "oldies."

While we were there. The worker at iPad and Honda went on strike for a pay rise and better working conditions.

The newspapers reported daily on them, including the reason for the strike. Apparently a worker had committed suicide at iPad over the conditions.

There Minister for Industry backed the workers 100% and they got the raise they where looking for.

China and it's people are advancing at a rate that would simply stagger us.

Opposite the hotel where we were staying at, there was another protest going on about the fact that the government wanted to trash all the old buildings in the street and build new apartments.

The locals were argueing that the city was developing too fast and not keeping any heritage.

Also while we there, the Minister for Industry came on TV and was telling everyone that there manufacturing industry had to lift it's game, put out of business the small shonky operations. etc. (Quote:_ It is no use copying a product and copying there mistakes. We have to make it better.)

I know of a couple of business here that deal with the Chinese in a large way. They have told me that when they go to China to view and choose the products that they want to import, they are usually shown Five grades of product. From crap to excellent.

Most Australian importers choose grade 2, that's one above crap, or at best grade 3.

Don't blame the Chinese, blame our greedy importers.

KenM
FollowupID: 754116

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Feb 25, 2012 at 09:04

Saturday, Feb 25, 2012 at 09:04
Hi Wilko,

A longer view of history reveals that the Chinese discovered/invented many of the things that we in the "civilised" west have taken most of the credit for. While Britain was still occupied by the Romans 2000 years ago the Chinese had, among other things an astronomical clock, antimalaria drugs, ball bearings, blast furnces, briquettes made from coal dust and the list goes on. These ideas slowly made their way west via the trade routes that brought tea, silk and spices to Europe.

Who copied ideas from who? Depends on the timescale that you look at.

For a fascinating account of how we learned about early Chinese ideas and discoveries get hold of Simon Winchesters book "The Man Who Loved China".

Val

FollowupID: 754127

Reply By: wombat100 - Friday, Feb 24, 2012 at 10:18

Friday, Feb 24, 2012 at 10:18
A convoy of about 20 of them running around the Blue Mountains area last week....
AnswerID: 478545

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Feb 25, 2012 at 01:32

Saturday, Feb 25, 2012 at 01:32
Doug,
Are you missing the 903 in the Eagle.

I sorta remember this all happening before. If I remember rightly Japan was just like china and I also remember driving Izuzu trucks around 1970 that I am certain came out of a GMC box from world war 2 and 1960's FJ40's with a good copy of a chev petrol motor.

The other one I remember is Korea with their hyundai's and mitzi motors. Now they produce one of the best car products around.

I can even remember my uncle who was captured in Singapore and was across the bay from Hiroshima when the bomb went off. He went ballistic when the first Datsun came into the country, he certainly hated that race and after reading his war record I can't blame him.

So I am affraid China is here to stay and their products have come on in leaps and bounds iover a handful of years.

Times they are a changing.

Have a good one,
RA.
AnswerID: 478594

Reply By: The Bantam - Saturday, Feb 25, 2012 at 16:24

Saturday, Feb 25, 2012 at 16:24
Ya simply can not compare their living and working conditions and pay rates with ours...its not even close.

AnswerID: 478623