caravan set up for the Kimberley

This is my first time on the forum. Wife and i are planning to travel thru the Kimberley in June 2012 in a 20ft van and wonder if its worth setting my van up for free camping. My main concern is keeping the van battery charged and the best way to go about it. I'm considering
1- charging the battery from my 4WD via an Anderson plug. I already have this set up on the car, not on the van yet, but the van battery will be flat if i stay put a few days.
2- Solar panel say a 120W panel, NOT permanent fixed to the van, any reports of them being nicked.
3 Generator.
4 A combination of above, but starts to get a bit pricey.
Also can anyone advise us on what the daytime temperatures are in the kimberley in June as a genie will give us Air Cond if its hot enough to need it.
Ta, Peter K11
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - nick b - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 22:41

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 22:41
Welcome Peter & co ; I am also going ,might see you there ..I'm thinking the same regards power set up .... what is best !!!! regards temp 29/30 I think ...BOM web site ,

good luck nick
Cheers Nick b

My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 479023

Follow Up By: Peter K11 - Saturday, Mar 03, 2012 at 09:32

Saturday, Mar 03, 2012 at 09:32
hi Nick, We're looking forward to escape the rat race and see our great country. Powering my van's house battery more complicated than i thought, but I'll work it out and maybe see you on the road, Cheers, Peter
FollowupID: 754702

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 22:45

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 at 22:45
Hi Peter

If tackling the Gibb River Road, which i do not recommend with anything but a quality off road caravan, you will find most campgrounds and even some station stays are unpowered. If just following the highway, the main rest areas can get pretty crowded.