Electric brakes overheating-maybe. Ideas please

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2012 at 15:22
ThreadID: 92265 Views:21212 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
I have some experience with electric brakes on a Tvan for a few years incl trips to Cape York,etc. I run a 100 Series TD Cruiser with a Prodigy Controller.
No problems whatsoever over the years with the TVan.

I have now swapped to a used Trakmaster Nullabor Van,dual axle, with I believe Alko electric brake system. I run the Prodigy on Boost 2 to give some braking oomph on the 2 ton van.
The van is 11 years old but one thing that was done not long before I purchased it was a complete brake overhaul incl drum machining,etc. The wiring and magnets look OK and of course the drums and shoes are good after the service.

After buying the Trakmaster,I did a brief inspection on the brakes and bearings to make sure all wiring,bearings and brakes looked in order and I set up the Prodigy as prescribed for a large towing weight. Also adjusted the brake shoes by locking up the drums and then backing off 4-6 notches to get free wheel spin - this adjusts the handbrake too. I'm not sure if this is the right adjustment if you have electric brakes + a handbrake function?
My problem is that on my first trip out,I found a drum overheating at a rest stop in Cann Rvr(Vic). I jacked up the van and backed off the shoes a bit and there were no further probs. All other wheels Ok for this trip.
I religously check for overheating at all rest stops when pulling the boat or the van - an old habit.

Yesterday,on the way back from Tuross Hd to Lakes Entrance,Vic,I had two stops and checked hubs both times - no probs. On the 3rd stop - at Cann Rvr again,I got a badly blistered hand from one hub - another was also hot but not
overly so.
I jacked up the van and backed off the shoes on both wheels and no more probs over the last 175km.