Adelaide 4wd / Toyota Hilux servicing

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 09:57
ThreadID: 92707 Views:3912 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Hey all I have noticed a few threads which cover this already but are a little dated.
I'm in Adelaide and need a major service on my 2000 Hilux
All the other threads are great but just seeing if the same mechanics are still good and if there are any I must avoid any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks all and keep up the good work fantastic sure we all have here!!!

Reply By: Member - wicket - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 10:20

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 10:20
there seems to be a number of people who always have the daggers out for dealer servicing ( you know all the arguments) but i have found cmi toyota at stepney to be as good and reliable as anyone else (have a hilux myself). tell them what you want and they will quote you so you know in advance what it will cost.
AnswerID: 481073

Follow Up By: Ross M - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:04

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:04
G'day wicket
I suppose you could count me as one of those people who "have the daggers out". Not really. I was surprised by your "you know the all the arguements" statement.
Many people have been burnt by dealers and this problem is Mercedes, BMW and all the common brands as well. The problem is truly an Australia wide issue.
I know of many people who actually protect and defend the dealers who are ripping them off and severlely shortening the life of their investment.
There are dealers who do it ok but you don't know who they are when service time comes around.
I know of some Hilux vehicles which after a few services suddenly destroyed their CRD pump and injectors, just out of the blue, non changing of filters is the glaring thing here. There are Mercs never had an eng oil change in 50,000km, BMW charging for services and not doing them. The Ford, Mazda, Nissan,Isuzu, Mitsubishi all do it too. They hate being found out because it makes them big money to avoid some service items and brings you back because of the failures.
A Colorado Owner in Townsville caught his dealer, no service, but got charged for it, he took it back and made them do it. They put a big dent in the bonnet of his nearly new ute cos he spoke up.
People don't have the daggers out for no reason.
I of course have had the "treatment" but I expected it to happen and therefore was not surprised by a component failure halfway to Alice Springs like a friend experienced in his LUX. I checked local vehicles which had been serviced by the same dealer and found vehicles 10,000km + and 20,000km+ never having had their trans/diffs and tcase oils ever changed. Was the CRD filter also not done???? How long does this go on for before the 10,000km is actually done.
There are good dealers, I hope you find one because the effects of poor ones may not be realised for 60,000km and then how do you prove anything, you can't you just wear it.

Yours in Honest servicing.

Ross M
FollowupID: 756516

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Friday, Mar 23, 2012 at 09:50

Friday, Mar 23, 2012 at 09:50
Ross

Who knows, maybe they are more honest here in Adelaide !? ;)
FollowupID: 756557

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 19:07

Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 19:07
I don't think so wicket, I have caught CMI Adelaide, on West Tce out and also CMI Southside at Christies Beach. Will never use them again, even if it was free!
FollowupID: 756651

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 14:26

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 14:26
Hi Jdavid

A very good service shop on South Road is Alltrac Four Wheel Drive. Only a small affair, but they pride themselves on top quality service. We have also found that they are the best when it come to wheel alignments as well.

AnswerID: 481098

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 15:01

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 15:01
Ditto.

No affiliation etc., but it is worth knowing they specialise in 4WD - they don't do anything else. This means they have 4wd stuff in their heads and they work on 'em all day - not on Camry, Dualis, old Pulsars and Lexus etc models as well.

Based on my experience vs dealer and other private workshops, they are streets ahead - they are far more aware of what the heck might have gone wrong or needs to be inspected Vs a cursory glance by the dealership mechanic or apprentice.

In a word - well, three actually - I trust them. And that confidence is a very comforting thing to have when you're miles/km from anywhere.

Rick
FollowupID: 756482

Follow Up By: Gossy - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 16:00

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 16:00
I gave my GQ Patrol to Alltrac for major engine work which also included replacing everything original that moved. Great work and happy to take it back for other work (which I will be doing getting it ready for a big trip this year).
FollowupID: 756488

Reply By: 4running - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:06

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:06
Daryl Carter Mechanics, at Royal Park, just off Tapleys Hill road. He has been the father in laws (hilux owner)mechanic for years, we travel from Normanville to get our prado serviced by him, he owns a 60 series 4wd and knows his stuff. worth a try for sure.
AnswerID: 481127

Reply By: GT Campers - Friday, Mar 23, 2012 at 18:47

Friday, Mar 23, 2012 at 18:47
Disclaimer: he is mate and colleague

But Brad Newham at ARB Elizabeth know his stuff, he has owned plenty of Toyota, ex off-road racer, prepares vehicle for remote area touring (plus does trips himself when he can) and runs his shop to ARB's high expectations, so not much stuff gets past him. Doubt you wil find a dealer staff that have all that in the resume
AnswerID: 481203

Follow Up By: Zambezi - Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 02:03

Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 02:03
Let me tell you about an incident involving my wife's Mitsubishi GJ Sigma ( long since gone to the scrap yard and not before time either ) The car was booked in for its 80,000km service in 1988 and went to our local Mitsubishi dealer. On getting the vehicle home , I checked the oil, and found to my horror that it was still black. Upon further investigation, I found the oil filter , air filter and spark plugs had NOT been changed. I immediately drove straight back to the dealer, demanded to see the workshop manager and the Dealership Manager and after a complete investigation it was eventually found that the mechanic who "serviced" the car had kept all the part for himself. They were all found in his locker. Result was he was fired on the spot. We were refunded the cost of the service and told to bring the car back the next day, and it would all be done free of charge. Took the car back the following day and they were as good as their word. Car was properly serviced and washed and cleaned. Since then I now service my own vehicles and wont let any mechanic lay their grubby mitts on my 4x4 unless I am there to watch what is going on. I have no faith in car dealerships let alone the multi franchise car repairers as I was bitten badly with my trusty 4x4 . So I work on that, as well as the wife's car, which happens to be her third forty plus rip off car dealerships.
FollowupID: 756606

Reply By: GT Campers - Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 21:13

Saturday, Mar 24, 2012 at 21:13
well, I hope that wasn't at Brad's!
It would take far more then one obviously isolated incident with one dishonest crook mechanic to change my ways... having said that, I enjoy doing my own servicing. Oil and filter every 10K with a squeeze of grease and a tyre turn :)

AnswerID: 481293

Reply By: Jdavid13 - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 12:53

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 12:53
Thankyou to everyone who posted a reply seems alltrac will get my major work but I took the advice of a few and bought myself a service manual and will attempt to do most of it myself.. that way I know what's been done and incase of the unwanted trouble when travelling I will have a better understanding on what's wrong and and hopefully get it into a town.. Once again thanks to all.. Happy and safe travelling!!!
AnswerID: 482311