ford ranger fuel economy

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 11, 2012 at 22:21
ThreadID: 94823 Views:20224 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
G'day to all, in May 2011 I purchased a new PK Ranger dual cab XLT auto, the vehicle is fitted with a EGR canopy and Ford bullbar. My query is this, after 10,000 klms. the best fuel economy I achieved is 14.2 L/ per 100klms. one time it was up to 15.4L/ per 100klms. I keep the vehicle empty 90% of the time run the tyre pressures about 2psi above spec. Red book say that these utes should be getting 10.4L/ per 100klms. May I add that I'm over 60 and just dodge along. Do I need more k's on it? or am I off to Ford for a bitch session.

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 00:35

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 00:35
Do you have a diesel or petrol model? 10.4L/ per 100klms is for diesel models.

AnswerID: 482817

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:10

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:10
Hi peter, it's a diesel cobber I don't think you can get a petrol in 4x4..
FollowupID: 758136

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 22:27

Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 22:27
yeah no petrols since about 2005 - it's 2.5 (2wd) and 3.0 (hi-rise 2WD and 4WD) only
FollowupID: 758250

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 03:59

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 03:59
dave
If your vehicle is a Diesel only

One of the misconceptions with diesals that many people have (including myself initially) is that take it easy with a diesel, just plod along.
On the contrary.
About time you towed something heavy for 100kms or so to make the thing work.
Get into it a bit, not by flogging it, but by allowing the revs to spin up freely.
Let that motor spin up more freely and you may get a pleasent suprise.
in other words, do not use overdrive for a month, and just see what happens.

Also allow 40-50k for the motor to loosen up completely.

and good luck

AnswerID: 482819

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:18

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:18
Good day Bucky, it seems all those that I have talked to say pretty much the same thing, that is work it a bit and don't be impatient, give it time and klms to loosen up. I'll give it a go without the o/drive for a while and see how it goes, thanks mate...
FollowupID: 758137

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 06:01

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 06:01

I purchased a BT50 Mazda a couple of months earlier and I did a 1000 km trip over a weekend and had it serviced. I am a similar age to you, too. I also have a canopy, bull bar, snorkel and several antennae on it.

Then I have towed a heavy caravan mostly since. With the Kimberley on behind, I am averaging the 14.5 l/100kms near where you are. I usually sit around 90 km/hr +or-.

At about 20,000kms I felt it suddenly surge along even though the fuel consumption is the same. It feels like it really wants to go now. The dealer service manager told me to expect it to be a bit heavy for at least 10000kms but I am sure it settled down before that.

The little non towing kms I have done are about the 10+l/100kms.

Only complaint I have is that reverse is a little high when backing the Kimberley but easily overcome with L2.

Hope that helps.

DW
AnswerID: 482820

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:23

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:23
Hi DW, just like Bucky said get some kms. on it, good looking set up cobber...cheers
FollowupID: 758138

Reply By: GT Campers - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 07:24

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 07:24
Firstly, being over 60 has nothing to do with it!
How are you working out your figures?
AnswerID: 482821

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:50

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:50
ha ha, your right cobber 60 hasn't got anything to do with it at all, 60 is the new 50 isn't it?...I use an online fuel calculator from Natural Resources Canada (nrcan.gc.ca)...cheers mate
FollowupID: 758146

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 09:50

Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 09:50
well if it a canadian standard fuel calculator, it that is more than likely to be kilometres per litre....
FollowupID: 758185

Reply By: Muntoo - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 11:01

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 11:01
My BT50 is just over 26 months old. 56000kms.

First tank was the best ever, managed over 600kms off 55L. That was running it, varying speeds on highway.

I used to get 9.7L/100km, but have since fitted steel wheels and larger tyres. I now get about 10L/100kms. When i fitted the new wheels fuel suffered heaps. On the highway i struggled to get 600kms.

I have bullbar, dual batteries, tonneau cover, and a No Limits chip. After fitting chip it has been much better. Power has been restored too, as i lost a bit with bigger wheels.

I give mine a work out every now and then, i love the power so i use it when i need it. You definitely have a problem. Have heard of a few getting figures like that, not sure of the reason though.

AnswerID: 482840

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:31

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:31
Thanks for the reply Muntoo, I look forward to the day I get that sort of economy. Just got to be patient and get the k's on it. Any warranty issues with a chip being fitted?...cheers
FollowupID: 758140

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:46

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:46
Chip can be unplugged very easily. Unless they can prove that it was the chip at fault then they have to cover warranty. It only ups the fuel pressure.

I wouldnt be waiting for it to loosen up mate, mine has had these figures since brand new as has a mate with a 2010 PK Ranger. Mine feels no different to drive then my mates. Both go the same, like a cut snake.

Only thing i noticed in first 10000kms was the oil consumption. But that stopped after first service.

Take it to the dealer and get it checked, they can plug it in and check a million things.

FollowupID: 758144

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 12:34

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 12:34
We have a Ranger at work for all and sundry to drive. Figures show less than 10 ltr per hundred.

AnswerID: 482846

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 15:51

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 15:51
Thats with over 75000 km .

FollowupID: 758114

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:41

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:41
It is becoming abundantly clear that I'm bitchin' a bit early, klms and more klms seems to be the answer. thanks Muzbry, appreciate the input...cheers cobber
FollowupID: 758141

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 16:42

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 16:42
G'day Dave, I would have a bitch about it, why not?. Have the tappets checked...
both new hilux I bought had tight tappets...when properly adjusted things improved
a heap. These days they should be able to use their flash diagnostic gear to see
whats wrong. Gonna be a damn expensive thing to own with those figures....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 482860

Follow Up By: dave w - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 21:02

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 21:02
Thanks for the reply and the advice Oldbaz, I drive past the dealership half a dozen times a day so will be calling in for a chat and see what their response is. Other than that as all above have said, get out and drive it, work it and get some k's on it. Working 6 days a week is going to make it a lengthy exercise...cheers cobber
FollowupID: 758150

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 22:07

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 22:07
I've got a 2010 PK Ranger but manual and am getting 10.5lt/100k when empty and 12lt/100k with my camper on. Its done 35000k in 12 months and has seemed to have stabilized to these figures, but if I sit on 110 on the h/way it goes up by about 3/4lt. I don't know anyone who gets figures like that which are stated on fuel figures by manufactures. I think you will get better economy as you do more kl's. Also do as others have said, stick your right boot in to it from time to time and don't be a VOLVO driver as the engine ECU will learn your driving style and you could loose some of that great power that they have. Good luck with.

Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 482908

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 08:59

Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 08:59
I'm curious as to why you would use a "Fuel Calculator" when the calculation is so easy. I'd re-check my figures.

Fill the tank and zero the trip odometer.
When you refill the tank divide 100 times the litres by the kms travelled to get litres/100 kms.

I can't imagine that driving "to church on a sunday" would return such poor figures, especially with a modern computerised diesel.

AnswerID: 482947

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 22:23

Friday, Apr 13, 2012 at 22:23
yeah, I think he might be reading km per litre instead of litres per 100 kays
FollowupID: 758249

Follow Up By: dave w - Saturday, Apr 14, 2012 at 20:12

Saturday, Apr 14, 2012 at 20:12
0key dokey, first of all I purchase my fuel off the company I work for and get a printed receipt which includes litres and kilometers. I also write down klms travelled and litres of fuel used, they match. I then load these figures into the online calculator, why, because it's easy. the last result showed 14.2 L/100klms not 14.2 klms/L this would result in a theoretical 994 klms per tank (70 litres). I wish. So I double checked my figures using the old pen and paper method for the same result. I have been driving diesels for 42 years mainly heavy vehicles but also several 4x4's, still have a '93 80 series built to go just about anywhere ( luv it to bits). So I guess I'll just have to put more klms on her at a faster rate of knots when I'm on my way to church. I do appreciate all the advice, info and general banter, it's a great site...cheers to all Dave
FollowupID: 758343

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Saturday, Apr 14, 2012 at 16:47

Saturday, Apr 14, 2012 at 16:47
My PK 3.0td is at ~ 23k after 8-1/2 months.

In general, I'm between 10 and 11 urban, same highway at the speed limit (100 / 110), and off road soft sand etc about 18 / 100.

If you sit at 90k hwy, you do use less lts (maybe 1 only though), but at a time / boredom cost, as well as annoying other road users.
Head winds hurt too.

I have towbar, ARB canopy and tub liner, alloy nudge with spots and antenna fitted, so I've kept the weight down as much as possible.

I have the Long Ranger 126lt tank fitted, and upgraded suspension to Rock Crawler leafs and torsions, and Rancho 9000 adjustable shocks.
Also have snorkel.

Was going to go Diesel LPG system, but am too unsure . . . think it'll be performance exhaust and chip, supposed to do the goods, and maybe a larger intercooler.

Les
AnswerID: 483097