Weight Distribution Hitch

Hi
I'm new to towing caravans. I have a Mazda B2500 (2005) towing a jayco discovery 16.5 outback.
My question is what would be the better weight distribution hitch to use.
1 The hayman reese intermediate (80kg - 135kg)
or
2. The 600lb hayman reese hitch. (135kg-275kg)

Caravan GCM 1800
Ball weight 150kg-180kg

Thanks
Wayne
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:47

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 20:47
AnswerID: 482892

Reply By: Ross M - Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 21:04

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012 at 21:04
G'day waynej
Does your vehicle have suspension which will hold the van ball weight without sagging much?
This is important because I think too much emphasis is placed on WDH units without first considering the suspension.
Because you will have some weight in the vehicle =less suspension up travel at back.
Add a caravan and this is magnified and a WDH is then thought of.

When travelling with a caravan it is importand to have a fair degree of upward travel with the load added and then a WDH may be working to aid the system but not trying to fully compensate for the van.
If WDH action is too severe it may crack the chassis because when bumps/up and downs are encountered the WDH tries to lever the back of the chassis with forces many times the normal experienced by the chassis.
Also, if there is little suspension travel the axle will bottom and the sudden forces have been known to bend not only the chassis but also the rear axle.
The bigger the van the more likely.
So first stop would be a suspension system which will safely hold most of the load and good shockers to help absorb the body movement so little or no sudden bottoming is experienced.
Then find a suitable WDH to work in concert with the vehicle and suspension sytem.
Others who have a similar setup to you will also be able to advise further.