Nazi Parks and Wildlife Service

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:03
ThreadID: 95052 Views:4777 Replies:15 FollowUps:39
I am camping in a national park (Meroo) I have been here since 3 days before easter. Today I came back from shop and my neighbour said that i had been evicted. i have only been here for two weeks the limit is 30 days. they also said the NPWS went into my tent and took photos!!! they also left an eviction notice.

1) are they alllowed into my tent?

2) Are they allowed to take photos of the inside of my tent

3)If i have not stayed longet than 30 days why are they hassling me? I have been here for two weeks, prior to that i had two months at a council park (ulladulla healdind) and prior to that i had two weeks at blue mtns, and several days at $150 per night at lance cove Riuver NATIONAL PARK !!!

Not happy jan. invading my privacy what rights do i have, can ranger enter any tent or van??

any assistance welcome. NSW National Parks.

Reply By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:35

Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:35
That's outrageous. There is probably some small print somewhere that by entering a National Park, we sign away our rights to privacy and agree to Ranger services doing whatever they like.
We had a run in with camp hosts at Millsteam last October and have to agree, there seems to be a trend of hiring Nazi's by the Parks People.
AnswerID: 483777

Reply By: caseh - Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:45

Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:45
Have you approached National Parks for a response er explanation?

cheers, Case
AnswerID: 483779

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:47

Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:47
Show us a copy of the eviction notice. Interested in what it says.
Speak with the local Police?
AnswerID: 483780

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 10:40

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 10:40
Eviction notice says>:

It has come to the attention of the NPWS that your camp site has been standing and in use for a period well exceeding the permitted period of stay within Meroo National Park
Please remove your campsite fromt he National Park by Wednesday 25 April 2012. Penalties may apply if this direction is not complied with.

then there is a phone number for queries etc.

I will ring them on Monday.

I want all photos removed from their camera.'

peter
FollowupID: 759083

Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:50

Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:50
Have a look at the website for the Park There are closures for the Park. Barnray
AnswerID: 483784

Reply By: Inflataduck - Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:52

Saturday, Apr 21, 2012 at 19:52
You will find that a compliance officer eg: Fisheries, Marine Park, Nat park can enter your premise's (tent, Van, Home, workshop, etc) without notice & without warrant to check for any illegal game/species or undersized or over amount at any time & often have more legal power to enter than a police officer
AnswerID: 483785

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 05:54

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 05:54
Not sure about other states but here in good 'ol Wait Awhile the officers of DEC have authority exceeding the police within the boundaries of a state forest or national park. They can confiscate on the spot vehicles or just about any other property if you have contravened certain regulations. As far as the OP goes, without seeing the eviction notice, well who knows, but I guess contact the issuing officer and find out what gives.

FollowupID: 759074

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 14:06

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 14:06
There is a fine line between having authority and not..... you will find most authorities have very little right to enter you premise's unless they have strong proof there has been a offence or crime committed.

Most law enforcement agencies have a standing search and seizer warrant whereby they do not need a judge to issue BUT there are strong guild line for the use of it...... a simple "you might of" is in most cases not grounds for the use of it.

You really have to read the ACT that the so called offence relates to to see if they can or can't.

Most authorities will try to bluff their way in and once you have allowed them in then you have consented.

Most people think the authorities have the rights to enter and search but challenge them and most will back away...... if they don't; ask to see the ACT and where it gives them authority........ policies and procedures is a wonderful thing.

RE authorities have more power then the police..... under certain situations relating to the corresponding ACT yes but overall no.

A police officer can pull you over for not wearing a seat belt, a parks and wildlife inspector can't.... BUT they can get the police to..... in other words some agencies need the help from another law enforcement agency to carry out a task or procedure.

Some have cross agency authorisation enabling then to wear more then one hat.

FollowupID: 759101

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 21:54

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 21:54
"under certain situations relating to the corresponding ACT yes but overall no."

"if you have contravened certain regulations"

Hmmm.... sounds similar

Two very good mates worked for CALM as DEC was known.

FollowupID: 759137

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 00:14

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 00:14
olcoolone

bit of topic but ive had the coppers barge in and search my place 6.00am on a sunday morning

i told them they needed a warrant but they reckoned they didnt as they had reasnable suspicion a suspected criminal was in the house

(he wasnt and was long gone)
FollowupID: 759145

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 08:59

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 08:59
who was the criminal-his name wasnt "get awaymore" was it? :-)
FollowupID: 759157

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 13:37

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 13:37
More likely "got awayagain" :)

FollowupID: 759194

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 02:50

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 02:50
this story doesnt make sense

first thing you would do is front up to them and ask them whats going on alot quicker than posting here
AnswerID: 483800

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 02:55

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 02:55
here ya go - do what you should have done in the first place

Meroo National Park
Contact the park office

Ulladulla

Phone: 02 4454 9500

Fax: 02 4455 1850

Street address: Blackburn Industrial Estate, Lot 9 Coller Road, Ullladulla NSW

Postal address: PO Box 72, Ulladulla NSW 2539
FollowupID: 759073

Follow Up By: BarryR1 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 07:52

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 07:52
This makes it easy to establish the truth of what's actually gone on. Thanks G.O. I'm going to give them a call Monday and find out what's really happened. They wouldn't be taking action without good reason I reckon.

All too easy to bag the poor old rangers who do a bloody fantastic job trying to maintain areas for us all to enjoy.

Cheers Baz.
FollowupID: 759077

Reply By: BarryR1 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 07:48

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 07:48
Mate are you telling us the whole truth? From your own admissions you appear to be actually living in the National parks rather than being a casual visitor. This is in fact illegal and the subject or current attention of park authorities in many states.

National park facilities are there for all people of the state to share and when people like you come along and decide to “set up camp” for a while, quite a few things happen. One, it detracts from the amenity of the area both in the actual local environment, and disallows other, casual visitors from enjoying the park. It’s not often you see people staying in a National Park for weeks and weeks on end.

National parks are there for all to enjoy not for people to see as a home site to drift between so you can save a few dollars on caravan park fees. I too would like to see the eviction notice because I can guarantee you would have had verbal requests and warnings to move on from the rangers before you were issued with any such notice. But you’re not mentioning that here are you. I’d reckon you might have been moved on from other parks as well. They will have taken the photos as evidence simply because you have failed to heed their warnings and directions. A simple look at the NP regulations on the internet would have revealed to you the powers on “Authorised Officers” of the National Parls Service so why bang on here.

A call to local park authorities will soon reveal the truth of the matter. Stop your whinging, tell the whole story and just move on!
AnswerID: 483805

Follow Up By: Charlie - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 09:36

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 09:36
It sounds like simple misunderstanding and I don't want to prejudge Stoney however if you've had a warning your rego's in their database even if a fine isn't imposed after that don't expect much slack from them.
FollowupID: 759081

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 10:46

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 10:46
BarryR1,

I stay in national parks (I have a national parks pass and pay to stay where they charge) , state forests, council caravan parks, and private caravan parks as i travel. there is a 30 daqy limit for staying here i have been here since 2 April, don't slag people off without the FACTS
FollowupID: 759084

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 11:51

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 11:51
For some NSW NPs the maximum stay is only 2 weeks during school holidays - 6th to 20th April.

Val

FollowupID: 759089

Follow Up By: BarryR1 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:50

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:50
So you were living in the park. Point taken. Trying to establish "the facts" is all we were trying to do. You slag off the National Parks as "Nazi's" giving ony very pointed, one sided arguments.

I see from your post below, you've managed to sort it with the rangers now. Perhaps you could have done that in the first place before slagging them off on a public forum. An expired park permit was it?
FollowupID: 759096

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 10:08

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 10:08
no barry it was not an expired permit. I DO NOT do that. NPWs must have been watching this forum. Lucky he turned up too as the person camping next to me had two dogs!

btw, several years ago at meroo some yobboes came in with shovels and opened the lake, i was the one who with bare hands filled the channel in to save the fish from dying.

ANy yes i usually have great rapore with NPWS rangers, esp Bournda and Lane Cove River, they are GREAT.
FollowupID: 759164

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 10:58

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 10:58
What's is going on Stoney. Down below you say "Will now renew my annual pass and continue journey to parks up north :)" And to Barry you just said "no barry it was not an expired permit".

So what is the real story mate. My mind is open. You are getting flack from everywhere, me included and if I am wrong then I will apologise. So I think to protect the Stoney123 character it would be best advisable to let us know the facts.

FollowupID: 759171

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:47

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:47
Phil, this park is free, no pass needed, i am just on way up coast for a while and will now renew my pass as parks up there charge, (there is only one park on coast i havent been to yet!!) i would rather stay in nat parks. I let my pass expire as i spent the last 8 months caring for my mother and couldn't travel.

I would prefer THEY charge at meroo (after they put new road in. But they also need to INCREASE the number of campsites and for the fee we would expect them to visit so we can report the rednecks who play loud music to 4.30am.

hooroo

Now happy camper.
FollowupID: 759185

Reply By: Member - Julio C (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 09:31

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 09:31
Stoney, dont be intimadated by rangers, all they are is road kill removers
AnswerID: 483815

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 11:15

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 11:15
Fabulous contribution Julio. Bet you're proud of it too.
FollowupID: 759087

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:00

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:00
Yes a little bit unnecessary and ill-informed.

FollowupID: 759090

Reply By: Bazooka - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:11

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:11
Here is a very basic guide to legal requirements in NSW National Parks (from a guide to protestors which came up on google).

"Protestor Guide

"13.9 Camping

Camping in NSW parks must generally be in designated areas and for up to 21 days only. However, camping in accordance with a plan of management or in remote areas may be allowed if not prohibited by a notice. "

Some National Parks have a max stay of 2 weeks during school holidays.

The action of taking photos inside your tent sounds intrusive if true (and I very much doubt its legality) but we don't know the full story. That said it is up to campers to know the rules, especially if we intend staying for an extended period in a popular area. It's also National Parks' responsibility to make the rules accessible.
AnswerID: 483829

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:15

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:15
Meant to add that there is nothing on the Nat Parks website about camping stay lengths at Meroo.
FollowupID: 759092

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:40

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 12:40
ranger has swung by and it is sorted. Will now renew my annual pass and continue journey to parks up north :)
FollowupID: 759094

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 13:04

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 13:04
So why were you given the notice??
FollowupID: 759098

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 13:23

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 13:23
I think this answers your question
"Will now renew my annual pass"
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 759099

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 00:17

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 00:17
sorry - but that still doesnt add up

theve obviously gone to some lenghts to cross match rego numbers with parks passes and along with the other allegations

I reeeely suspect theres more to this story
FollowupID: 759146

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 10:10

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 10:10
I agree, if he did have a valid pass he would have been given an infringement notice and more than likely asked to move immediately.
FollowupID: 759165

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 15:22

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 15:22
Stoney

So that's it. Is it? Your pass had expired. You were in the wrong. And now we don't even get a public apology to the Parks and Wildlife Service for slinging off at them and calling them Nazis. Which at this time of year is an extra big slur on their name and reputation. You just disappear. I certainly hope you apologised to them on the phone or when you saw them.

Not fair mate.

AnswerID: 483834

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:34

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:34
yes my pass has expired, but you don't need one here. It is the only FREE nat park on the coast. Actually it has only been a Nat park for abour 7 years. Prior to that was crown land and i have been coming here for 30 years.

I would prefer they fix the road in (which they have plans to do) and charge people to come in and also charge to camp like bournda or pretty or arraganu, mimosa etc. If i am going to pay to camp i would prefer money goes to nat park than some burglar who want $30+ a night.

there are a lot of rednecks that come in, esp trail bike riders and people playing loud music to 4.30am.

FollowupID: 759179

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:44

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:44
That does not explain why they evicted you. Why were you evicted?

FollowupID: 759183

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 16:09

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 16:09
One minute people are asking where the National Parks officers are when they need them, the next minute when they are doing their job they get blasted. They cannot win!
Naturally they need the power to look in tents etc. What do you guys keep in there? Why on earth would you be so concerned about photos of your tent, inside or out? They can look in my camper any time, and even take photos.

I just hope they are there when I need them. Kevin
AnswerID: 483837

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 13:01

Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 13:01
no one has the right to enter premises without permission. You may think it is ok but most australians don't.
FollowupID: 759511

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 13:10

Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 13:10
Stoney

When you saw the ranger did you ask him how come he looked in your tent? If you did then you didn't tell us. It would be nice to know what they he said.

Like Kevin I don't care if they look in and even take photos. Everything in my tent is neat, clean and legal. That way I don't feel like a bum. Can easily find something and it is easy to pack up. And most will admit that it is nice to cook, eat and relax in a clean environment once in a while.

It would be advisable to ask the NPWS about this instead of shooting your mouth off again. My old mate Kevin may be right you know. Or are you just going to complain without checking.

FollowupID: 759512

Reply By: Member - Josh- Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 21:34

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 21:34
Stony 123, Seing that you were all guns blazing at the start, you need to explain what the problem was and how it was sorted. If as mentioned above it was an expired pass, be man enough to admit a mistake. Least of all a public appology is needed on here to parks if that was the cause.
This is what I hate about the faceless side of internet. People get on here and slag of about someone else without giving all the facts then disappear. Very poor in my book. Every one makes mistakes, what you do after the mistakes is made determines the quality of man/women.

Josh
AnswerID: 483870

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 23:09

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 23:09
Add Julio C to that apology list.
FollowupID: 759141

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 07:19

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 07:19
And maybe while he is at at, an apology for the offensive title to the post.

Can't help but feel much more to this story, and certainly more than an expired pass. And if his attitude is summed up by the title of the post it probably explains a lot.
FollowupID: 759150

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 09:53

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 09:53
Absolutely Bazooka, I agree
FollowupID: 759162

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:50

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:50
meroo does not need annual pass. see my other responses. Will not apologize for title of this post. I believe anyone who enters you property without your permission is a nazi (ask france and holland). Our privacy is being eroded every day, I will stand up for mine.

The ranger apologised for putting letter in tent. he is a good bloke.
FollowupID: 759186

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 21:57

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 21:57
Still no explanation as to what actually happened. You say the ranger swung by and all sorted. Were you doing something wrong or did they make a mistake. You were quick to condem them but are very slow to tell us what actually happened.
A number of people have asked what was the eviction notice for but you seem reluctant to answer, makes one wonder why mmmmmm.
As I said, "Every one makes mistakes, what you do after the mistakes is made determines the quality of man/women".
I think there is more to this than we are being told.

Josh
FollowupID: 759225

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 06:54

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 06:54
Hi Stoney,

Doesnt sound right, Will be interested in the outcome. I believe there are too many National Parks. They restrict the ability to free camp and pursue outdoor fun. I think they should be state forests so the majority of the population can enjoy them.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 483882

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 11:07

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 11:07
I think there should be more National Parks myself so the majority of the population can enjoy "the bush". State forests offer no protection to the environment or the species which inhabit them and at the stroke of a pen they can be reclassified, sold off, and developed. I take "free camping" comments with a grain of salt. Have never understood how some people will happily spend big $ on their vehicles, caravans, entertainment, dining out etc but make a big deal out of a small fee for camping in a National Park. In my experience you are far less likely to encounter vandals and "anti-social" people in National Parks than in areas without restriction.
FollowupID: 759172

Follow Up By: stoney123 - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:41

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 12:41
hi wilko, agree, this place was crown land for years, nat parks took it over recently. State forests are great places to stay peaceful, many nat parks that were once free you now have to pay. But gov't has cut back nat parks budget.

Bazooka, MOST people who visit nat parks are GOOD people. Rednecks however are now visiting. At meroo they have cut the number of campsites by the hundreds as historically it has been crown land.(a shame).

FollowupID: 759182

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 08:57

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 08:57
The title of this post if offensive, and perhaps says a lot about the attitude of the person involved. I see a similar post was also posted to a Grey Nomad forum...

Seemingly after bagging the NPWS and its employees you feel it is okay to simply say all sorted, I have renewed my pass. If you did not have a current pass you would have been issued with a Compliance Notice, at worst. To be issued with an eviction notice, if that is what you were issued, would tend to point to there being a lot more to the story that you have chosen not to disclose.

Why not come clean mate, and perhaps while you’re at it even ask for the title of this post to be changed – or better still removed...

AnswerID: 483890

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 13:04

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 13:04
What a screwed up thread. All because stoney123 shot off at the mouth instead of waiting to talk to the rangers. Apparently from my reading of his sometimes vague responses it was a mistake by the ranger.

The thing is he still insists that the word Nazi should stay in the title. I hope he isn't attempting to march on Wednesday.

Cheers all and see you at the brekky those who were with RASIGS.

AnswerID: 483916

Follow Up By: Member - Adrian M (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:02

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:02
How about those who still are with RASIGS??

Albeit as a chocco now though.
FollowupID: 759196

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:10

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:10
Got me Adran.

Where are you?

FollowupID: 759197

Follow Up By: Member - Adrian M (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:15

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:15
144 SIG SQN. Keswick Bks, Adelaide.

The other half is in the Solomons Islands this year so I am planning on the dawn service at Tea Tree Gully RSL and then into Adelaide to watch the march with my kids.
Normally we take it in turns, she marches one year and and I watch with the kids and then vice versa the following year.

Adrian
FollowupID: 759198

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:36

Monday, Apr 23, 2012 at 14:36
I know the place well. Visited there to install special comms stuff on several occasions.

I was in 104 and 110 overseas and several special mobs here. 18 years with sigs. Another 20 years with different agencies out of Canberra. Retired in 2005.

Good luck to both of you.

FollowupID: 759200