Sunday History Photo / Person

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 22, 2012 at 07:02
ThreadID: 95057 Views:3595 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Kevin Charles Hart was born in Broken Hill, NSW, Australia in 1928. His early years were spent on "Larloona" a sheep station, around 130kms from Broken Hill, learning by correspondence school. He was drawing from a young age, illustrating his homework at seven and progressing steadily in his talent.
A self-taught artist, His preoccupation with art and the Australian outback started early and the young miner worked a double life - toiling during the day and turning to his canvases at night.
In 1960, at the age of 32 he married Raylee June Tonkin, 19, and together they had five children. He continued to paint and took art classes to help formalise his technique. In 1962 he was discovered by Kim Bonython, a gallery owner from Adelaide, and also a speedcar owner/driver in 1950's, so it was then his popularity as an outback artist began to climb.
His creative spirit knew no bounds, experimenting with "performance art" years before it became fashionable; dropping paint from hot air balloons, creating ice sculptures and even using a cannon to distribute paint on his chosen medium.
Perhaps his most famous moment came with a series of television carpet commercials. He continued to experiment with art techniques all his life. Mainly working in oils and acrylics, Pro used any tool or method to achieve the desired outcome for his work.

Image Could Not Be Found
Image Could Not Be Found
Thanks to a good friend Claire Brady for the 2 photo's above.

Image Could Not Be Found
Image Could Not Be Found

He drew upon techniques of layering, chiaroscuro, glazing, scumbling, scratching and Alla prima. Pro was also a sculptor working with welded steel, bronze and ceramics.