12 volt from car to deep cycle battery in caravan.

Hello Everyone, Someone with more knowledge of electrics may be able to advise me. I have a deepcycle battery in the van and a solar panel to top it up. My previous x trail was wired to charge the battery in the van whilst travelling. I now have a new 2008 x trail with a 7 point flat plug but am uncertain IF the van battery is being charged by this new vehicle. Is there some simple way of testing it? OR do I have to travel with the van hooked up and then run a voltmeter over the batt terminals to see if its being charged. ( I guess its a fairly simple check for an auto electrician, but thought I might try and save some $$$ thanks everyone johno
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: SNOLLYGHOSSTER - Saturday, Apr 28, 2012 at 19:19

Saturday, Apr 28, 2012 at 19:19
Hi Johno

I am no electrician but the way it was explained to me when I asked a similar question to yours was that in order to charge the van's batteries, I needed an Anderson Plug fitted to the towing vehicle. This then charged the van batteries whislt towing.The Anderson Plug is totally separate to the 7 point flat plug that you have installed. Google "Anderson Plug" and you will find photos, wiring instructions etc.

All the best
Snolly

AnswerID: 484468

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2012 at 19:45

Saturday, Apr 28, 2012 at 19:45
G'day Johno

Basically you need to run fairly thick wiring from the battery to an Anderson plug at the back of your vehicle.

I use wire that has a dia almost as thick as a skinny little finger (if that makes sense).

You also need to put a 50amp in-line fuse close to the battery.
to the car
I have found it easy to run the wire under the vehicle and attach both wires with cable ties.

Probably a good idea to put the anderson plug near the 7 pin plug.