Calcium batteries

The camper Im looking at comes with Calcium dual batteries. I dont know anything about these batteries. The cost to upgrade to AGM is more than I expected. $400 plus for both. Is it worth the upgrade.

PS I have a 105 AH AGM second battery in the car.

Thanks

Old Smifffy
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 17:12

Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 17:12
Hi Old Smiffy
I'm not an expert on them, but I have had 3 x 100 ah in our caravan, and one in the camper trailer, for the last few years, without any problem.
Just make sure your chargers are suited for calcium batteries, as they charge at a slightly higher voltage than normal, I belive.
Cheers
Neil
AnswerID: 485146

Reply By: Isuzumu - Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 17:29

Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 17:29
I have been using calcium batteries for around 18 years, have ever only had one replaced under warranty. At the moment have 5 batteries (camper and two 4WDs) oldest is 4 years old had it checked and around 75%. 14.8 volts max charge, I have seen 15.4 volts on my charger no problems, just got to keep an eye on it. Used them on our yacht's as well great value.
AnswerID: 485148

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 18:52

Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 18:52
Ian - AGM batteries use Lead-Calcium in their construction, the same as regular Calcium batteries. The only difference is that AGM batteries absorb the liquid electrolyte, so that if the battery is damaged, there is no acid leakage and possible serious resultant damage.
AGM batteries are totally maintenance-free and require no top-ups during their life. Calcium batteries require some topping up, but only a minimal amount, as compared to a standard, plain lead-acid battery.

Cheers - Ron.
AnswerID: 485155

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 20:19

Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 20:19