Tekonsha Voyager saftey issues

Submitted: Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 12:25
ThreadID: 95517 Views:2881 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Like many others, I have trouble with voyager actuating vehicle brake lights when trailer is not plugged in. I can turn it off by moving manual override slider. I have no knowledge of this fault when towing,as I do not use cruise control when towing. Has anyone had trailer brakes operate independently or in a dangerous manner. I am considering just tolerating the fault, as it is made known by cruise control cutting out, and to date, is easily turned off. I will welcome any advice. Regards, martycon.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Ross M - Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 13:11

Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 13:11
G'day Martin
The only way the cruise would be dropping off is if the controller suddenly was putting a voltage back up the line to the brake wire at the brake light switch .
IF this is happening then a diode in the sensing line to the controller would not allow any return voltage but should still trigger it ON ok, albeit with 0.6v less being delivered to the controller.
It is highly possible the erroneous signal is coming up from the trailer plug as a loose strand of wire from tail light circuit or + trailer wire is suddenly connecting to it sometimes.
Look inside the trailer base fitted to the vehicle and see if there is such a strand of copper doing its little trick on you. Sometime they are hard to see so be thorough.

PS if it is doing this it won't/shouldn't be activating the brakes, just making then ready for braking if the vehicle starts to.

Ross M
AnswerID: 485635

Follow Up By: martin c1 - Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 13:35

Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 13:35