Simple Electrical advice Needed

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 14:12
ThreadID: 9554 Views:1700 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi folks ...
As you will soon see, I am no auto electrician.
I have a 2 pin marine fitting professionally installed to run my Engel car fridge, which works well. It is connected to my second battery in my 80 Series Landcruiser. I would now like to fit a 12v plug next to it. This is a job I can handle, but I have no idea on wiring things in parallel or series (whatever that may mean).
Can I position the 12v plug next to the marine plug and just run my wire "postive to postive and negative to negative" from the marine plug. I will be using it to power my laptop and possibly recharging my battery powered spotlight. It is a convenience thing.
Many thanks ... especially as an auto electrician wanted $90 to do this, and I have the wire and the plug!
Safe travels
JackNo trees were harmed in the making or sending of this message.
However a great number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Big Trev - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 14:30

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 14:30
Jack, when you say as running red to red and black to black, that is commonly called running in parallel. Yes that is OK to do, I am no auto-elec, but have done all the 2nd battery stuff in my 4X4 and have never had any problems. Just be sure that the wire from the battery to the back is fused, and it a good size and quality as you will have power loss over distance.

I have my 2nd battery hooked up in parallel with a manual isolator (as recommended by a very good auto-elec) and everyhing is good.
AnswerID: 42061

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 15:02