OODANADATTA

Iwould like to know how is the part of the trek from william creek to Oodanadatta.
I make this question as i want to know to coober pedy from oodanadatta as this road is reallu fantastich! so, an account of i'm really keen on taking photoes i have some thoughts to make this road.
But is this part of the trak easy like from maree to william creek?
I'll drive on this road in August by an 4x4 car.
Thank's and sorry for my English!

Andrea Tonezzer
ITALY

Reply By: Been-Everywhereman - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 08:20

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 08:20
G'day,

When it is dry it is a standard dirt road, well formed and smoothish.
Sometimes it is well formed with corrugations and washouts.

You could drive a car down it most times it is open. (with care)
AnswerID: 485947

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:07

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:07
Gooday Andrea

I was uppa datta way a few weeks ago anda Iya reckon demma roads are priddy good when deya are dry - budder you bedder be careful ifa da rain comes - canna get very very slippery and anda bitta boggy - bedder notta drive ona da wet roads - gooda idea to stay inna William Creek hotella, hazza gooda food anda nice a colda beer ! A liddle a tippa for you - a lotta tourists fromma overseas hava accidents onna dirty roads because they are looking atta scenery anda notta where dey are going !

Hope dissa helps and Ima sorry for my Italian

Cheers Gazz

Ps drive safely, slowly and enjoy your stay ( and the Aussie sense of humour )

AnswerID: 485949

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:11

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:11
: ) You are a bad man Gaz!

FollowupID: 761183

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:31

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:31
Hey Jeff

Shouldn't you be out the back doing something more constructive than sitting on the computer ?

Cheers Gazz

Ps - I will be up you way again in 2 months - owe you a cold one !
FollowupID: 761185

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:03

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:03
That's a sense of humour??????

FollowupID: 761189

Follow Up By: toffytrailertrash - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:12

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:12
Best read for the week, enjoyed the english/italian translation.

Thanks Gazz

Merv
FollowupID: 761190

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:26

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:26
Thanks Merv

Doesn't look like Alan has a sense of humour !

I occassionally work with some Italians (great blokes) and they have got nearly all the Aussie fellas talking like them all day long - it's hilarious !

If you ask me there is not much to laugh about these days so I do my best to have a laugh and get others to laugh - it's good for you !

Happy Travelling

Gazz
FollowupID: 761192

Follow Up By: breaka - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:42

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:42
That is bloody funny Gazz
FollowupID: 761194

Follow Up By: toffytrailertrash - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:56

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:56
The minute I read it I instantly thought of Nino Cullota's book They're a Wierd Mob.
Jeez that's going back a bit.
FollowupID: 761195

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 11:47

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 11:47
On the contrary Gazz, I thought it was very comical and original.

I'm sure Andrea will enjoy it too.

FollowupID: 761198

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 12:16

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 12:16
No worries Allen

Had you put exclamation marks instead of question marks then I would have thought different ! Interpreting peoples comments / replies on the net / emails etc can be difficult sometimes and I have got myself into strife on numerous occasions on this great site and others for my replies and also for my interpretations of others - people often read into things way different than they were intended ! I have a friend who's entire business runs on emails and replies and he is always complaining about wrong interpretations.

I thought it was funny and as long as Andrea does as well then all is good !

Gazz

FollowupID: 761202

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 15:24

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 15:24
And everything you said was spot on Gazz! I wonder if I need to explain "spot on" to our Italian friend? If so it means he was correct, if you've driven from Marree to William Creek you can easily drive William Creek to Oodnadatta, but always drive to the exisitng conditions, within your own skill level and stay alert and don't speed. If it rains, you won't be driving anywhere. Oh, and yes the scenery is stunning!
Vic
FollowupID: 761221