Nissan Patrol Auto

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 22:43
ThreadID: 9576 Views:1926 Replies:9 FollowUps:1
I'm am considering buying a Nissan patrol ST Auto 3lt diesel. Could anyone advise me how these units go, especially in towing a 17foot caravan and how many kilometers per litres these vehicles do in towing? Also any problems encounted.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 23:12

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 23:12
Search the archives, there are several threads on this.

Few people towing with them have commented, that they seem fine, but test drive one yourself before you make any decisions.. Also look at the 4.2, lots more bullet proof.
AnswerID: 42152

Reply By: ray - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 23:15

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 23:15
Ian, this is just my personal preferences, buy diesel and buy at least a 6 cyl. engine. the 3ltr turbos go like a dog shot in bum, but in steep rough stuff forget the turbo and stay natural asp.
Ray
AnswerID: 42154

Reply By: Nomad - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 23:40

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2004 at 23:40
G'day Ian

I've got one of those 3L turbo auto's. Mate, the best thing since sliced bread.

We only tow a camper trailer (unbraked) but usually gross about 3.5t loaded up.

Did a trip from Brisbane to Melbourne and return through high country to Canberrra and home. Did 5272klm at 12.736/100kl. Some hard work through the high country and high speed highway (110-120). Never put a foot wrong. Around town, turns about 11/100kl.

Just come back from Fraser Island. Took the trailer. 1234kl at 17.5/100kl. Did a lot of hard beach and bush work while there. Inland tracks on Fraser are generally very soft and fluffy and very rough. Run 275/70R16's. Dropped them to 30psi for the beach but down to 25psi for inland. never missed a beat. You will not beat the auto in the sand. The only one of our crowd to get bogged in the fluffy stuff was a manual Hilux.

Value for money I don't think you can beat them. And live axles are a great help. Go and test drive one. Ask if you can test it towing your van. I know the Toyo boys will argue but I just can't see the value for money ($10-20000) in the Toyo. Not knocking the truck, but too dear.

People keep saying that you should buy the 4.2lt for towing. I don't agree. The 3lt has 2kw more power and 6nm less torque. Nothing in it. And the 3lt motor is a new tech motor. The 4.2lt is solid as a brick but old tech. Fuel wise the 3lt is about 3lt/100kl better.

Your choice Ian. Try 'em both. But for mine, I would buy another 3lt anytime.

Nomad
AnswerID: 42157

Reply By: Mark - Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 00:16

Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 00:16
I have the GU 3.0TD manual and tow a ~1.6T offroad trailer. It is absolutely fantatsic compared to my 80 series 4.2 diesel (non-turbo but extractors and 2 1/2" system).

There are a lot of knockers of the 3.0TD, but I am glad I didn't listen to them. Sure, with that much whiz bang technology onboard there must be more chance for a 10 cent electrical component to fail, but I much prefer the extra power and better fuel economy any day.

I drove the Toyota 100 series 4.2 TD and the Nissan 3.0TD back to back and there is not much in it. Sure, the Toyota has a slight advantage, but one would not notice it unless driven back to back!!! Given the $20,000 price difference, that paid for all the "must haves" like 33" tyres, winch, snorkel, roo bar, rear draws, cargo barrier, dual batteries etc...extras plus a hefty slice of $$$ left over.

AnswerID: 42166

Reply By: brad in West Aust - Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 00:17

Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 00:17

I just bought a 2001 3lt td and it is great for towing my camper1000kg. But read the manual and it does not recomend above 2500kg for an auto and the manual is about 3200kg.
AnswerID: 42167

Reply By: jeff-wa - Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 13:37

Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 13:37
I drive a 3.0l auto patrol for work (bosses car) and yes plenty of power, I also have a 3.0l TD Surf myself and owned a 2.8l TD Rocky before, nothing wrong with 4cyl Td's!!! Tow as good as any 6! Drag the 6's of in my surf no worries too! ;-)
However be careful if buying a second hand Nissan, look into an extra warranty as there are problems with EGR valves failing and some computer problems in the 2001-2 models. Also make sure that the manual states you have to put 7/8 L of oil instead of 6/7 L. The first versions of the 3.0 had a smaller sump and were prone to blowing top ends at about 60-70k. (not sure how many of those were sold in australia, they were recalled in UK though). But there is deffinatally no power problems with them, however I find the auto box not as good as my 7 year old toyo box in the surf. But it is still a good bus.
AnswerID: 42220

Reply By: Davoe - Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 18:17

Thursday, Jan 08, 2004 at 18:17
do a search on 3.0l td problems. Of great intrest was the one from a staunch supporter and owner of one who recently admited his also had suffered premature engine failure. apparently they go well until. Ps I have nothing against Nissans and would love one of those 4.2 td intercooled units
AnswerID: 42260

Follow Up By: Nomad - Friday, Jan 09, 2004 at 01:10

Friday, Jan 09, 2004 at 01:10
Trouble with the "updated" 4.2lt Intercooled engines is that the intercooler is off the 2.8lt GU. It is smaller than the intercooler on the 3lt. at the end of the day the 4.2lt intercooled has 2kw of power less, and 6nm od torque more, than the 3lt. Cannot see the value of extra dollars for an old tech motor. Don't get me wrong! The 4.2lt is as tough as you can get, but why not go for the new higher and prooven technology of the 3lt.
FollowupID: 304761

Reply By: volvofh12 - Friday, Jan 09, 2004 at 01:47

Friday, Jan 09, 2004 at 01:47
Only problem u may have is over heating on long trips.. May have only been mine but a problem no the less. Other than that a good towing vehicle which offers stability to the overall tow especially in the dreaded strong winds on freeways. Drivers seat position offers good visibilty to the rear when reversing.

Definetly have electric brakes fitted thou
AnswerID: 42310

Reply By: macka - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 23:55

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 23:55
Hi. We have a 2002 3 ltr Manual. 20 months old. 63,000 on clock. I bent shocker mount the only problem so far. ( fixed under warranty.) And the tyres don't last 10 minutes. We tow a 17-6 caravan. Compass semi offroad 1.8-2 tons. 4 months of the year all over central + east cost Qland up to Broome.Apart from steep hills we don't even know it's on the back. The rig ( over the weighbridge at our dump.) Normally goes just on 5.3 tons with empty water tanks. we average 9.5-10.5 km per ltr. by itself + 6.5-7.5 towing . depending on hills head wind etc. worst we ever did so far with the van was over the tops from Cania Gorge to Bundaberg. Mainly dirt and STEEP in places. We got 6.3 km per ltr...I come from Gq Patrols. and 60 series G pack.( Land Rovers 40 + years ago )
It's the best there is up to about 2.5 tons towing... Over that go to the 4.2 turbo. and yes the Turbo does make a lot of difference to towing.
Regards. Macka..
AnswerID: 43192