fully enclosed trademan trailer as an off road camper trailer?

Submitted: Monday, May 28, 2012 at 18:30
ThreadID: 95868 Views:11197 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Hi everyone, I'm thinking of fitting out an 8x5 heavyduty dual axle fully enclosed tradesmans trailer for serious outback travel. Put in a false floor to place the bed on,storage underneath, Led lights inside,some insulation,and shelves.rollout side awning,side drawer for a slide out kitchen, a 12volt battery in front storage box,some decent tyres,etc. I'd like to hear your opinions on the pros and the cons please... For me it's about having a hard top and sides, I can sit up and lean back on a solid wall in bed. And no wet canvas to pack up.

Reply By: Peter G16 - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 19:35

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 19:35
Yep, You've stolen my secret project idea. I knew I should have copyrighted it!!!
I won a new tradie trailer in a Trade show and as it is too nice too use for rubble and garden rubbish I've always reckoned it would make a good off-road trailer.
What are the disadvantages? Maybe a bit bigger and slightly heavier but otherwise the perfect camper. My idea was to construct a foldout bedfrom one side with a tent roof linking to the side door which swings up on gas struts and makes a perfect brace. Have not started it as I am just finalizing the renovation of a 1975 caravan that Ive fitted the works to. But I've realised a caravan is not the answer to all situations. Nice to go bush sometimes without worrying about destroyinf the caravan.
Go for it mate, no reason it cant be done.
AnswerID: 487034

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 20:02

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 20:02
G'day Peter G16, Today I went to a couple of trailer manufacturers and got quotes, I want the inside height to be 1800mm,no tie down points,just checkerplate steps. Hey Peter I also have a 1977 Millard that needs some tlc.we've done 2 good trips in it, I have it booked into a caravan repair place for an assesment, it has dry cracked interior corners. but currently dry. What excactly did you do to yours ?
FollowupID: 762268

Reply By: GT Campers - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 21:38

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 21:38
Some good ideas there but I would be thinking about the manoevrability of a dual-axle rig, its suspension (most likely its engineered for carrying weight on-raod rather than soaking up bumps off-road) and what is the weight?
AnswerID: 487049

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 22:18

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 22:18
G'day GT. I was quoted a roller rocker leaf suspension, I've thought about moving it around, when it's on the back of the car, and you pull up to find a suitable place to camp, you can reverse it, turn it around,park it anywhere you like. If it takes a couple of extra turns then so be it.
FollowupID: 762288

Follow Up By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 07:57

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 07:57
Nothing wrong with Roller Rocker set up,rides well easy to back as long as the draw bar is a long one. Harder in sand just takes a little longer to turn it when reversing.

Load carry is great and reduces the draw bar weight because suspension is sharing the load.
FollowupID: 762313

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 22:45

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 22:45
GET ON...so how about reverisng it off a sand dune, unhitching it, turning it around, and rehitching it...by yourself? Is that a likely - or possible - situation for your intended travels?
FollowupID: 762389

Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 08:41

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 08:41
GET ON .... there is a big difference between an off road trailer and a tradesman or even a heavy duty type trailer.

If your doing serious out back travelling an 8x5 tandem may be a bit on the large side... places we go you can get in with camper trailers but in most cases we end up scratching the sides.

The next thing is clearance, our camper has about 700mm clearance and there has been times when we have used every mm of it.

Another thing is suspension over rough ground..... independent doesn't offer that much of an advantage over leaf and shocker until you get into the real hard stuff.

Most new people think they need this and that and carry way too much gear, think wisely on what you need and where it is going to go.

You might be better off going to a single axle trailer.

The art of building a good off road trailer is low weight and high strength, some thing most trailer manufactures don't know about.
AnswerID: 487075

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 20:38

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 20:38
Hi Olcoolone, I think your right about the trailer manuactures, in short the salesman was saying yeah yeah to everything I asked and unfortunatley hasn't conviced me that the above mentioned trailer is a tried and true outback trailer. I don't intend to load it up. I only need to cook eat and sleep in it, and would like to carry extra fuel on the trailer for extended trips. Only for 2 people. Do you have any suggetions ? Thanks.
FollowupID: 762375

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, May 30, 2012 at 00:58

Wednesday, May 30, 2012 at 00:58
I would be concerned that the draw bar does not go full length and is only welded to the front of the trailer, one thing that risks high failure on outback roads.

FollowupID: 762394

Reply By: Peter G16 - Wednesday, May 30, 2012 at 22:58

Wednesday, May 30, 2012 at 22:58

Get On
This is what I did to my old caravan, 1975 Capricorn. Total refit and new skin outside plus all new bracing timber as much had rotted out. Its all good now and almost ready to roll. New axle and electric brakes so its safe to tow and a complete rewire to add battery and charger and all LED lights.
Not quite as mobile as a trailer but thats my next project
AnswerID: 487219

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Thursday, May 31, 2012 at 20:28

Thursday, May 31, 2012 at 20:28
Peter thats gold mate ! I take my hat off to you. My mind is not set on the tradesman trailer yet. I need to do some more research. All the best. Thanks for sharing your project.
FollowupID: 762542

Reply By: laira s - Saturday, Jun 16, 2012 at 17:57

Saturday, Jun 16, 2012 at 17:57
It all about tires and i love that thanks..
Semi Trailers for Sale
AnswerID: 488639

Reply By: laira s - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2012 at 21:17

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2012 at 21:17
The benchmark in Off Road camper trailer and caravan innovation, engineering and construction, Australian Off Road's products are built to the highest standards and fully loaded with all the most desirable options.
Semi Trailers for Sale
AnswerID: 488968