Whats your 100 series Fuel Economy?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 10:32
ThreadID: 96237 Views:7317 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Looking for feedback on the fuel economy you are getting from you 100 series Cruisers! I've got a 4.5 liter 2001 (4 speed 6 cyl) on duel fuel and want to know if my figures are grossly over the odds or average.

On LPG around town I'm getting 32 liters per 100kms, on a trip more like 25-26 liters per 100. Is this terrible (I know it is, but compared to others!).Mine is the old LPG system.

I've only had the vehilce 5 weeks or so, not too sure of the petrol consumption yet. Only mod that might affect it is a 60ml EFS lift kit.

Look forward to hearing your stories, will help me out no end!

Derm

Reply By: Member - Sn00py2 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 12:37

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 12:37
Hi Dermottj,

In my 2000 model 100 series, manual petrol, I was getting around 22~25 liters per 100k around town. On a trip without camper trailer, I was averaging 16 liters per 100k. With the camper trailer (approx 750~850kgs) I was averaging around 18 liters per 100k. These numbers were achieved when running at 100~110 KPH.

Your figures don't look all that impressive so something is wrong somewhere. Are you towing anything and if so, how heavy is it? What speed do you travel at? Do you have your handbreak on?

Last year I switched to a Diesel 200 series and now get 11.5 liters per 100k with the camper on the back. 10 liters per 100k if it is just the 200 on its own, again while travelling at the 100~110kph.

Michael
AnswerID: 488367

Follow Up By: Dermottj - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 14:57

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 14:57
I'm starting to think something is wrong, no handbrake though! No towing either, at the start I was putting it down to the LPG system however I'm beginning to wonder:-)
FollowupID: 763564

Reply By: wizzer73 - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 15:00

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 15:00
Hey Derm,
Here is a link to a landcruiser forum. You may have to join to see posts.

wizzer

lcool forum
AnswerID: 488376

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 15:01

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 15:01
Hi Derm,

the following are the fuel consumption figures I collected in 2007 on a 6500K trip and around town at the time.

LANDCRUISER FUEL CONSUMPTION RECORDS

Landcruiser 97 model Petrol / Gas
80 series GXL 4 speed auto
4.5 litre Petrol / Gas. Running mainly on gas – Petrol as backup in emergencies.

Around Town not towing
Around town = 350 Km to 85 litres = 4.11 Km per litre
At around 65 cents per litre = 15.7857 cents per Km.
Towing
Vehicle laden weight was close to 3 tonne
Van weight = around 2.2 tonne laden.
Year 2007
Consumption on a 6045 Km holiday throughout NSW and SA = 3.33 Km per litre.
(6045 Km / 1815 litres towing 2 tonne van

Total Fuel Cost (included one tank of petrol) = $1289.51
Total Litres = 1815 (petrol included)
Fuel Price averaged was 71 cents per litre (petrol included)

Average cost per Km of trip = 21.321cents which included petrol
Average cost per kM on gas = 19.1 cents per Km

You will notice that the average price paid for fuel at that time was $0.71 which included a tank full or two of petrol.

Your 100 series has the same motor and gearbox and is roughly the same weight as the 80 series but having a slightly different shape would mean different aerodynamics.

But close enough for your requirements.

As you can see I was using 33 litres per hundred Ks towing and laden.
I presume your figures are free running in which case they are excessive, but if towing with around 5 tonne (car and caravan or trailer) then you would be close to the correct consumption.

You may need to take your vehicle to a good gas mechanic (not many around) and get the vehicle tuned or the gas system looked at. Aso look at upgrading to sequential gas, if you have the spare cash, as the modern versions are more economical again.

Hope this helps,
Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 488377

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 17:58

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 17:58
The 100 series kerb weight is about 500 kg heavier than the 80 series, so that might account for some.

If a long range tank is going in the gas tank might have to go.
I've got a mate with an 80 series petrol who took out his gas tank because we do a lot of remote touring and you just can't get gas in a lot of places in the centre.

Another mate with a petrol 80 series tows a camper most times and he just doesn't accepts it will cost him. He loves the petrol motor too much.
He's thinking of putting in a v8. We were looking at fuel figures, on this site, for the Hay River track and the v8 had better figures than the 6 cyl for the same trip.

I hope I haven't confused you.

FollowupID: 763577

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 20:40

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 20:40
Steve, acording to the information I have the weights are as follows

80 series = 2,159 kg (4,760 lb) (1993-97)

100 series = 2,320 kg (5,100 lb)

which equals around 160 kilos heavier.
Which still would not account for the extra consumption.

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 763597

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 22:32

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 22:32
Fair enough.

The fuel figures are high. I assume the Cruiser got a full service after it was bought to make sure it is back to square one, service wise.

Does it go good?

Gas figures are higher than petrol usually aren't they? Uses more but costs less?

FollowupID: 763600

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 12:41

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 12:41
Steve, I now have a V8 2003 cruiser running on straight petrol as I pranged the original 80 series petrol gas unit and replaced it with a 24 valve turbo 80 series.

I sold the turbo 80 after spending heaps of dough on it then bought the current V8 unit.

My choice of vehicles out of the three is the V8.
Sure it costs more at the pump but it is pay as you go whereas the diesel was pay out in big lumps.

There are many reasons why I prefer the V8 over the turbo diesel, overall cost saving is just one of the many.

As for the gas powered 80 series, I found its performance was as good as petrol when tuned properly but, kilometres per dollar, was better than diesel.

Of course there are other considerations like availability of gas the further north you go and what to do with the spare tyre. But overall I was bitterly dissapointed when they wrote it off when I pranged it.

Note that gas, because of its higher octane rating can stand more advance in the timing and therefore will perform better when tuned properly.

If I was Derm I would get a complete medical checkup on the 80 just to see where the engine is at this point in time. A compression test would be a good starting point and follow on from there.

The 80s are a brilliant car and the 1FZ FE is a brilliant motor, perfect for towing which is what they were bred to do.

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 763619

Reply By: CraigB - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 15:02
G'day,

I have a 100 series V8 on duel fuel.
It is burdened with lots of heavy accessories including a roof top tent.
Around town on gas I average around 24-25 ltrs/100km and on the highway around 20-21 ltrs/100km.
Petrol usually averages about 10-15% less.
You don't want to know how thirsty it is when the going is tough in low range!
Just suffice to say that a supplementary long range tank is most advisable.

Craig
AnswerID: 488378

Reply By: dindy - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 18:13

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2012 at 18:13
Mate you need to, if you haven't already done so, is to find a good mechanic who knows gas and get it tuned. The older systems tend to loose their tune quite easily. There may be a problem with the gas converter as they tend to have issues with age. You do not indicate your consumption running on petrol if your figures are the same or similar then you have serious fuelling issue. I have 1994 4.5 five speed 80 series with 455000 on the clock with dual fuel and tow all the time for business weight approx 1500k and get about 24 per 100.

AnswerID: 488398

Reply By: Crammo - Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 08:35

Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 08:35
Hi Derm

My 02 105 4.5 auto gets around 25L/100 on gas around town, 19 or so on a trip and anywhere between 28 and 33 towing our 2.5t caravan. Better on petrol and when LPG is over 90c/L its probably not worth using it except for the extended range it gives.

Its worth checking your throttle position sensor, mine was faulty leading to the auto box flaring as it changed gear sometimes. Once replaced the auto problem was fixed and the fuel consumption improved as well. Apparently they are a known problem on this motor.

AnswerID: 488792