Towing a caravan with an auto

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 19:29
ThreadID: 96270 Views:12313 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
We are getting ready to start travelling towing a 17'6" caravan with a BT50 auto is there any tricks we should know as i have never towed with an auto before,also what is the rule with towing a van and cruise control
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 19:41

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 19:41
I am pretty new to vans and autos too

From my very limited experience there is no great problems or issues especially with modern auto boxes.

I also used cruise control on long highway stretches but found it was not as good on hilly sections as using a foot on the pedals.

Take it carefully, and have fun.
AnswerID: 488468

Reply By: Ron N - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 19:46

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 19:46
Carl - I would strongly recommend the fitting of a transmission oil cooler - and even a transmission temperature gauge - as being of prime importance when towing a van at highway speeds for lengthy periods in high ambient temperatures, with an automatic.

There is also a large capacity aftermarket, alloy oil pan available, which holds an additional 2.8L of oil. This oil pan is designed to improve transmission life via increased oil capacity, and increased cooling effect, via the cast alloy radiating heat.

Once you start towing heavy loads at speeds with automatics, additional heat buildup is a certainty - and keeping that increased heat generation under control, by increased heat dissipation, is the order of the day.

There has been a recent story on here, of a new Ford Ranger auto transmission failure at 6000kms, caused by towing a large van at highway speeds for extended periods.