What truck to buy to travel around Oz with 2 kids in car seats?

Submitted: Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 14:03
ThreadID: 96341 Views:2443 Replies:13 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Everyone,

Genuinely looking for advice regarding what 4x4 truck to buy (used) to travel around Oz with my wife and 2 kids (1 and 3). We will be doing towing a 1700kg Windsor Rapid van for around 6 months and doing plenty of off-road tracks (Kimberleys, etc.).

I was thinking of getting a Prado but the fact that you can't open the rear door up too far when hitched to the van makes that a bit impracticle for the family.

Now thinking a Hilux, Navara, Triton or similar may do the job.

You advice is welcome as I have very little experience with these trucks.

Important considerations include:

Safety;
Reliability;
Towing capability;
Comfort; and
Fuel efficiency;

Thanks for your help.

Mick
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: racinrob - Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 14:40

Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 14:40
Mick, I'm in a similar position and have been looking at a Mazda BT-50, talking to owners towing vans on a recent trip I did they all gave it a thumbs-up but then that's normal.
rr VKE237 6678
AnswerID: 488806

Reply By: GT Campers - Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 15:17

Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 15:17
opening the rear door (what for?) is really a very small consideration - and one that may be 'fiddled' by parking on an angle...?
AnswerID: 488810

Reply By: J&V - Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 15:59

Monday, Jun 18, 2012 at 15:59
I recently drove my 100 series from Perth to Brisbane return to collect a camper trailer purchased in QLD. The trip reinforced my decision to buy the Cruiser some 5 years ago. I am a one eyed Cruiser fan and they are the only way to go if it fits within budget.
AnswerID: 488814

Follow Up By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 18:24

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 18:24