Complete beginner questions about Cape York

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 23:09
ThreadID: 96454 Views:4105 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all, New to the forum and am new to the 4wd world too. (just bought a prado a few weeks ago).

In early Nov, we have a family trip planned all up the east coast up to Cooktown. Now that we have the Prado, I'm really tempted to go up the Cape too.
But I'm not sure on several points;

1. If we stick to the PDR, is a novice driver like myself going to be Ok? I'm not looking to go out of my way to perform heroic acts - but is the PDR reasonably safe and doable for a novice?

2. Are there any/many river crossings that way? Any sections which I need to be really mindful of?

3. Since it sounds like most of the good stuff is when you leave the beaten track, I am wondering if we're missing too much ... or if it would still be a great trip.

4. How many days should I reasonably allow to get to the top and down again? Any sections/places you would recommend I deviate to look at?
Unlike planning road trips, I'm not sure how to draft my 'itinerary' for this place - and am not sure how many Km's I should expect to cover in a day.

All hints, tips and advice welcomed!

Thanks,
Chris

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Been-Everywhereman - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 23:34

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 23:34
Gday.

Nov getting pretty warm, bit thundery in the afternoons.
Prob not raining though.
PDR is dirt road which is fine when travelled solo so long as you drive to the conditions.
There wont be much water around to drive through.
If you took the OTL you may not see too many if any other travellers if you get into the poo....
If you follow the PDR you will find fruitbat falls and elliot falls which are both worthwhile stops.
Chilli beach is worth a look.
Optimal time to go is now up till sept/oct.
AnswerID: 489257

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 05:56

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 05:56